Old 09-20-2021, 09:47 PM

Niced 8 Times in 5 Posts
Default Mentally broken after first tourney

I just started playing probably around 3 months ago. 1st round is a short wooded course which does not have permanent baskets but i managed to do a few practice rounds before the tourney. 2nd round is a course that has permanent baskets and I play in that course probably 4-5 times a week.

During the 1st round tourney i had my PB and did pretty well. However during my 2nd round tourney i had so many OBs and missed putts. I usually average around +8/+9 but i had +14 where i ended up on the last place in the tourney. After the 1st OB i just brushed it off and thought it was just bad luck and continued playing. After the 2nd and 3rd OB i just gave up and wanted to end the round ASAP. Missed 3 putts in circle 1 where my discs just kept hitting the base of the basket. I was mentally broken after that round.

After a couple of days I just kept thinking about the holes and the OB scenarios kept playing in my head. Was pretty depressed at myself after spending so much time practicing.

How can i strengthen my mental game during my future tourneys? How can i overcome what i am feeling right now? Maybe tourneys arent for me and i should just stick to recreational play.
Sponsored Links

Niced: (1)
Old 09-20-2021, 09:51 PM
Garrulous Windbag

Courses Played: 16
Niced 288 Times in 137 Posts

Pretty funny stuff

Niced: (4)
Old 09-20-2021, 10:49 PM
* Ace Member *

Years Playing: 9.4
Courses Played: 13
Throwing Style: RHBH
Niced 192 Times in 89 Posts

I recommend Armus Patheticus's favorite book:

Golf is Not a Game of Perfect by Dr. Bob Rotella

Old 09-20-2021, 11:09 PM
* Ace Member *

Years Playing: 31.5
Courses Played: 67
Throwing Style: LHBH
Niced 4,444 Times in 1,364 Posts

In this journey through life, it's best to pack lite. Keep the emotional baggage to a minimum. Don't carry problems that you don't need. Have the memory of a goldfish.

Old 09-20-2021, 11:41 PM
Double Eagle Member