Old 09-19-2017, 08:01 AM
Eagle Member

Years Playing: 2.2
Throwing Style: RHBH
Niced 143 Times in 78 Posts
Default Future Forehand Disc?

If you've read my other two post you know I'm a 50 year old newbie to disc golf who has been trying to put my first 5 disc into my bag. So far I have a Leopard DX 167g, a Shark DX 173g, and a Aviar P&A 175g. It looks as though I'll be adding a GStar TeeBird 168g and either another Aviar P&A designated for short/accurate drives or maybe a Colt for same reason.

As I lay awake this morning I thought of situation that may be different for me than most other disc golf players....or maybe not.

I haven't watched but a few hours of competition disc golf but it seems like (from what I remember) players throw their backhand and their forehand with same hand.

For me I'll be throwing my backhand right handed and my forehand left handed. I'm sure I could throw my forehand right handed if in a bad spot on the course but since I throw a baseball left handed that will be the way I typically throw my forehand.

Right now I'm not overly concerned with forehand throws, mainly trying to get a consistent backhand, but I'm sure it won't be long until I find myself in a situation where a forehand would be the obvious (or maybe not so obvious for a newbie) shot choice.

So, my questions are these:

1) How will throwing my backhand with one hand and my forehand with my opposite hand affect my disc choices?

2) Once I get to the point of looking to purchase a disc specifically for my forehand, what should I be looking for in a disc? ie: model of Innova disc? what weight? what type of high speed stability score? low stability score?

Thanks again for everyone's help!!!

TripleB
Sponsored Links
Old 09-19-2017, 08:29 AM
Eagle Member

Years Playing: 4.2
Courses Played: 3
Niced 69 Times in 45 Posts