Go Back   Disc Golf Course Review > Equipment > Discs

Old 10-12-2018, 10:15 PM
* Ace Member *

Niced 659 Times in 520 Posts
Default Prodigy experts: What's the difference between the X and D series of drivers?

Just what the title says. Looking at these discs I can't really tell why Prodigy has two separate designations for drivers. Reading the flight ratings on them there seems to be quite a bit of overlap.

Anyone know why Prodigy does this? I'm not really a Prodigy thrower, but I find their lineup confusing.
Sponsored Links
Old 10-12-2018, 10:24 PM
Par Member

Courses Played: 34
Niced 96 Times in 59 Posts

Trying to figure this out myself

Niced: (1)
Old 10-12-2018, 11:28 PM
Double Eagle Member

Years Playing: 9.3
Courses Played: 74
Niced 131 Times in 98 Posts

They realized after the D1 wasn't overstable enough and they couldn't make a D0- X1. Then they figured they could make different drivers under a different name- other X series.

TLDR: Prodigy realized their naming scheme really limited the amount of discs they can produce.
Old 10-13-2018, 12:22 AM
* Ace Member *

Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerc View Post
They realized after the D1 wasn't overstable enough and they couldn't make a D0- X1. Then they figured they could make different drivers under a different name- other X series.

TLDR: Prodigy realized their naming scheme really limited the amount of discs they can produce.
Interesting. Prodigy's discs really are pretty mysterious. You have to go online to see what each disc does. No info on the disc itself.

IMO their naming scheme is awful. Almost impossible to remember which disc does what. Names are super boring and unmemorable. I've also thrown enough of their drivers to know that they have a lot of overlap going on amongst their models.
Old 10-13-2018, 06:41 AM
Double Eagle Member

Years Playing: 5.3
Courses Played: 7
Throwing Style: RHBH
Niced 304 Times in 178 Posts