|
Register | Members List | Social Groups |
- View All Groups | ||
- Your Group Messages | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
![]() |
|
Thread Tools |
#101
|
||||
|
||||
![]()
Really haven't been following this thread, so I apologize if it's been brought up already, but this seems like it could be relevant in terms of dealing with mandos.
Quote:
Sponsored Links
Last edited by BogeyNoMore; 01-29-2022 at 12:56 AM. |
#102
|
|||
|
|||
![]()
Saw this in the rules thread. I agree this is relevant as well. Took me a second to see it.
|
#103
|
|||
|
|||
![]() Quote:
|
#104
|
|||
|
|||
![]() Quote:
But that still leaves a disc that ends up on the mando line may have two different routes to follow depending on how it got there.
|
#105
|
|||
|
|||
![]() Quote:
|
#106
|
|||
|
|||
![]() Quote:
A throw is comprised of two parts....the propulsion of the disc AND the release of the disc. A practice swing doesn't count since you aren't changing its position...by the rule. |
#107
|
||||
|
||||
![]()
I still say the disc is not in play until it's released.
|
#108
|
|||
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Quote:
|
#109
|
|||
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Your stance is close to the line of the mando. Your backswing enters the restricted space from one direction (not a violation). Now your disc is on the other side of the plane of the restricted space. Then your arm and disc start to go FORWARD and again "breaks" the plane of the restricted area. At that point it is a violation. Per the rules, the direction that the disc enters the restricted area does not matter. So going backwards (backswing) doesn't violate the mando because it is a backswing, however, the subsequent forward motion DOES violate the mando as the disc was on one side of the restricted area and entirely entered the other side, crossing the line. There's no exception for if the the disc was in a "good spot" and the crossing of the mando line was just due to the swing. The only things that matter are: 1) the restricted space and 2) position of the disc during the throw. That is the issue I have with the rule and am hoping for clarification or a change. But until it is "changed", if your backswing takes the disc fully into the restricted space and then the throw (forward motion and release) enters the restricted area...it is a penalty.
|
|
#110
|
|||
|
|||
![]()
You can say that, but the rule defines a throw to include the propulsion of the disc (which includes the forward motion while the disc is still in the hand). I would like to see the rule changed to be the release of the disc....I think it would be easier and would resolve the mando issue as you could reach back through the plane and make your forward movement as long as the disc is released after it re-crosses the line.
Making the "throw" be the release of the disc, would also make it match up to other rules...where your supporting point is depends on when the disc is released not during the propulsion of the disc.
|
![]() |
Thread Tools | |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
is this a missed mando ? | araytx | Rules Questions & Discussion | 108 | 08-15-2016 09:24 AM |
![]() |
tu-f-o | Discs | 56 | 06-11-2014 11:28 PM |
Mando or no mando | JoakimBL | Rules Questions & Discussion | 16 | 05-12-2014 09:45 AM |
Drive hits the mando object.. second throw mando? | jeverett | General Disc Golf Chat | 19 | 02-08-2011 04:17 AM |
Quadruple Mando? | Cgkdisc | Disc Golf Courses | 44 | 07-16-2010 09:05 PM |