Go Back   Disc Golf Course Review > General Disc Golf Discussions > Tournaments & Leagues > TD's Corner

View Poll Results: Should aces count for a CTP prize?
Yes 59 95.16%
No 3 4.84%
Voters: 62. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #11  
Old 02-04-2019, 04:08 PM
JuanA's Avatar
JuanA JuanA is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Years Playing: 18.7
Courses Played: 23
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 168
Niced 127 Times in 72 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Armus Patheticus View Post
...is it best in terms of result or execution?
I read "closest" as result.

But after reading some of your past posts, I know I'm in for an argument, so let me have it.
Sponsored Links

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-04-2019, 04:21 PM
Future_Primitive's Avatar
Future_Primitive Future_Primitive is online now
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Michigan
Years Playing: 6.8
Courses Played: 117
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,386
Niced 433 Times in 188 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Dub View Post
I've never heard of this debate before. Ace wins it, can't get any closer than that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidSauls View Post
I'm with Jay Dub. Never heard of an ace being denied the CTP.
Thirded.

Aces most definitely count towards CTPs around these parts, seen quite a few people double up on ace $$$ and CTP prize/$$$. I guess I better read on here so I can get out in front of the silly arguments about how a missed shot is closer than a made one in case some yahoo decides to bring it up at leagues.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-04-2019, 05:00 PM
Armus Patheticus Armus Patheticus is offline
Bogey Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Courses Played: 16
Posts: 75
Niced 28 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JuanA View Post
I read "closest" as result.

But after reading some of your past posts, I know I'm in for an argument, so let me have it.
I don't argue to hear my own noise. I can't see any reasonable and definitive way to deny that an ace is ctp.

Another possible view might have to do with allowing other players to be involved in competition. Winning two prizes and two distinct contests with one throw might seem unsportsmanlike to some, especially considering that an ace run during the round is often a poor choice or at least demands a different approach than getting ctp does.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-04-2019, 05:10 PM
biscoe biscoe is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: spotsylvania, va
Years Playing: 23.8
Courses Played: 94
Posts: 6,065
Niced 1,098 Times in 522 Posts
Default

Californians like the (silly) 2 meter rule and (apparently some) New Englanders don't believe a hole in one is CTP (even more silly)... noted.

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-04-2019, 09:58 PM
MarkDSM's Avatar
MarkDSM MarkDSM is online now
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Years Playing: 47.2
Courses Played: 59
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,238
Niced 292 Times in 167 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
... In yesterday's event, neither player who aced marked the CTP. When I tried to give them the prizes anyway, they refused and insisted the player on the marker get the prize instead. ....While it was a nice generous gesture on both their parts, their argument wasn't that they were being generous but that aces shouldn't count toward a CTP. ...
i feel you. my rationale that they should have marked the ace as ctp:

rude not accept a prescribed prize graciously. feel free to then gift it away later, but not as your own grandstanding in an awards ceremony. in agreeing to terms of the completion you agree to terms of the cuts, awards and the social norms.

i would feel a competive slight if i one a ctp after the the true ctp was purposely not claimed or recorded. would happily take the the prize of course.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-04-2019, 10:45 PM
riltim riltim is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Years Playing: 8.2
Courses Played: 32
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 733
Niced 156 Times in 92 Posts
Default

Please send the people too dumb too realize that an ace is close to the pin than a leaner to our weekly league.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-04-2019, 10:56 PM
Casey 1988 Casey 1988 is offline
Shun the frumious Bandersnatch!
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Years Playing: 15.7
Courses Played: 25
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,098
Niced 543 Times in 462 Posts
Default

Well they should have a separate Ace and Closest to the pin, that way the CTP does not end up being won by an Ace.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-05-2019, 03:31 AM
swhite swhite is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: central Mass
Posts: 780
Niced 664 Times in 312 Posts
Default

When people use the word "pin", I interpret that to mean the upright center pole to which the basket and chain assembly are attached.

If a person aces a hole, where the disc comes to rest in the basket or in the chains, but is not touching the center pole, then it is possible for another disc to come to rest closer to the center pole than the ace did.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-05-2019, 04:52 AM
Meillo's Avatar
Meillo Meillo is online now
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ulm, Germany
Years Playing: 2.3
Posts: 350
Niced 132 Times in 94 Posts
Default

What about a fast shot that hits the pole and is only thus stopped right at the pin instead of going way past? If the ace would not count because it would have gone way past, then this pole hit would be the same case.

And what about a tree that hits the disc towards the basket?

So, what about using the basket to stop the disc? ... it's just another way of getting the disc rested close to the pin.


The more interesting question is, if a disc on top of the basket is equally CTP than an ace.
Reply With Quote
 

  #20  
Old 02-05-2019, 04:54 AM
Meillo's Avatar
Meillo Meillo is online now
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ulm, Germany
Years Playing: 2.3
Posts: 350
Niced 132 Times in 94 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by swhite View Post
When people use the word "pin", I interpret that to mean the upright center pole to which the basket and chain assembly are attached.

If a person aces a hole, where the disc comes to rest in the basket or in the chains, but is not touching the center pole, then it is possible for another disc to come to rest closer to the center pole than the ace did.
Or, if you interpret pin as the whole thing, then the ace is ``inside'' the pin.

It's a question of definition, it seems.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"DGB" CANBY OREGON ECHO PARK SUNDAY DOUBLES CASH PAYOUT CTP ACE POT Natedawg315 Tournaments & Leagues 0 12-19-2012 12:04 PM
CTP's rickybobby General Disc Golf Chat 25 10-20-2012 01:47 AM
11 Year Old Girl Hits Tourney Ace On CTP Hole! sidewinding General Disc Golf Chat 72 04-21-2012 08:59 PM
What are CTP's? Strauss General Disc Golf Chat 19 05-06-2010 09:54 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.