#11  
Old 02-12-2019, 08:06 AM
CrowLegs's Avatar
CrowLegs CrowLegs is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Columbus, OH-IO
Years Playing: 7.1
Courses Played: 98
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 615
Niced 91 Times in 59 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
Since no one else has bothered to cite the appropriate rule that addresses this, I'll add it for the sake of completeness and education.

811 Misplay
F. Types of misplay:
2. Wrong Target. The player has completed play on a target that is not the correct target for the hole being played. If no subsequent throw has been made, play continues from the resulting lie. If the target is a basket target, then the disc is above the playing surface and play proceeds according to 805.01.C. If the player has teed off on the next hole, two penalty throws are added to the score for the misplayed hole.
So you can get a black ace, then tee off the next hole and card a 3.... might be an interesting strategy if the original hole was a par 5 and there's a tempting basket near the tee. It would require some degree of collusion from the rest of the card, but it's an interesting idea.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-12-2019, 08:32 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 21.2
Courses Played: 144
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,031
Niced 2,505 Times in 1,053 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrowLegs View Post
So you can get a black ace, then tee off the next hole and card a 3.... might be an interesting strategy if the original hole was a par 5 and there's a tempting basket near the tee. It would require some degree of collusion from the rest of the card, but it's an interesting idea.
And it would be grounds for disqualification if caught.

3.03 Player Misconduct
C. The following actions also violate the above standard. Players who commit one or more of these violations will not receive a warning, and will be immediately disqualified by the Tournament Director:

1. Cheating: a willful attempt to circumvent the rules of play.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-12-2019, 09:29 AM
rhatton1's Avatar
rhatton1 rhatton1 is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Years Playing: 12
Courses Played: 21
Posts: 803
Niced 337 Times in 146 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
Since no one else has bothered to cite the appropriate rule that addresses this, I'll add it for the sake of completeness and education.
If you don't end up on the new rules committee JC there is something wrong in the world. (assuming you've applied)

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-16-2019, 10:45 PM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 44.8
Courses Played: 326
Posts: 4,534
Niced 1,255 Times in 640 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
Since no one else has bothered to cite the appropriate rule that addresses this, I'll add it for the sake of completeness and education.

811 Misplay
F. Types of misplay:
2. Wrong Target. The player has completed play on a target that is not the correct target for the hole being played. If no subsequent throw has been made, play continues from the resulting lie. If the target is a basket target, then the disc is above the playing surface and play proceeds according to 805.01.C. If the player has teed off on the next hole, two penalty throws are added to the score for the misplayed hole.
I'm not sure that's the best rule to address the question, though it does tell the player the correct way to proceed.

I did not get the impression that the player thought the hole was complete. So, no need to get beyond:
Quote:
805 Regulated Positions
805.01 Establishing a Position

C. If a disc first comes to rest above or below the playing surface, its position is on the playing surface directly below or above the disc.
Another hole's target is nothing special.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-17-2019, 08:14 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 21.2
Courses Played: 144
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,031
Niced 2,505 Times in 1,053 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
I'm not sure that's the best rule to address the question, though it does tell the player the correct way to proceed.

I did not get the impression that the player thought the hole was complete. So, no need to get beyond:


Another hole's target is nothing special.
How is telling the player the correct way to proceed not the best way to address his question?

I agree that another hole's target is nothing special, but the only reason it's a question is because to the rules uneducated, landing in any target can feel like it is significant. It's not really a matter of whether the player thinks the hole might be complete. It's a matter of the player thinking/expecting there is a penalty involved with landing in the wrong target. Hence the cite of the rule dealing directly with the subject showing that it is not a penalty for landing in the target, it is only a penalty if you fail to continue play.

Niced: (1)

Last edited by JC17393; 02-17-2019 at 08:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-17-2019, 12:15 PM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 44.8
Courses Played: 326
Posts: 4,534
Niced 1,255 Times in 640 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
How is telling the player the correct way to proceed not the best way to address his question?

I agree that another hole's target is nothing special, but the only reason it's a question is because to the rules uneducated, landing in any target can feel like it is significant. It's not really a matter of whether the player thinks the hole might be complete. It's a matter of the player thinking/expecting there is a penalty involved with landing in the wrong target. Hence the cite of the rule dealing directly with the subject showing that it is not a penalty for landing in the target, it is only a penalty if you fail to continue play.
I was just pointing out 805.01 C is the one that deals directly with it.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
 

  #17  
Old 03-02-2019, 02:38 PM
cydisc's Avatar
cydisc cydisc is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ames, IA
Years Playing: 22.9
Courses Played: 222
Posts: 977
Niced 18 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
I was just pointing out 805.01 C is the one that deals directly with it.
Yeah. The other rule cited is for when you hole out on the wrong basket unintentionally, which did not apply to this scenario.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wrong basket played - you be the TD Doofenshmirtz Rules Questions & Discussion 110 01-30-2018 10:15 PM
Disc hit tree and went in wrong basket 93EXCivic Rules Questions & Discussion 15 12-15-2016 10:20 AM
2 tee 2 basket ? duckychucky Course Design 22 07-26-2014 06:54 AM
Length between basket and next tee? greg_b_4 Course Design 29 10-13-2013 11:03 PM
Made an ace in the wrong basket sirflicksalot General Disc Golf Chat 32 01-14-2010 11:45 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.