#1  
Old 10-27-2017, 01:43 PM
GoobyPls's Avatar
GoobyPls GoobyPls is online now
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Years Playing: 2.7
Courses Played: 27
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,273
Niced 591 Times in 298 Posts
Default Tee shot OB past the basket

This came up a week ago at my doubles league. My partner threw his tee shot over the basket, hitting a fence that played OB. The disc was still in, though there wasn't room to stand behind it and putt. Casual relief brought the lie a meter directly toward the basket.

1. Is that allowed? We were well out of contention and putted from there anyway, but weren't sure.
2. Would it have made a difference if it went OB?
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-27-2017, 01:56 PM
peabody's Avatar
peabody peabody is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Western Kentucky
Years Playing: 16
Courses Played: 54
Posts: 1,238
Niced 25 Times in 9 Posts
Default

1. Yea that is allowed.
2. Yes, you would throw from the same spot but with a one stroke penalty.

This is unless the TD has made the out of bounds a re-throw or a drop-zone.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-27-2017, 05:25 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 21.2
Courses Played: 144
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,030
Niced 2,499 Times in 1,052 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoobyPls View Post
This came up a week ago at my doubles league. My partner threw his tee shot over the basket, hitting a fence that played OB. The disc was still in, though there wasn't room to stand behind it and putt. Casual relief brought the lie a meter directly toward the basket.

1. Is that allowed? We were well out of contention and putted from there anyway, but weren't sure.
2. Would it have made a difference if it went OB?
Well, it's not "casual relief" but yes, it is allowed. Any time a disc is within 1 meter of an OB line, you are entitled to take up to a meter of relief from the OB line (not the disc). Even if it takes you closer to the target.
802.03 Marking the Lie
D. If the position of the thrown disc is in-bounds but within one meter of an out-of-bounds line, the lie may be marked by placing a mini marker disc on the playing surface at any point on a one-meter line that extends perpendicularly from the nearest point on the out-of-bounds line and passes through the center of the thrown disc, even if the direction takes the lie closer to the target. For the purpose of marking the lie, the out-of-bounds line represents a vertical plane.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-27-2017, 07:10 PM
Steve West Steve West is online now
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 44.8
Courses Played: 326
Posts: 4,529
Niced 1,255 Times in 640 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
Well, it's not "casual relief" but yes, it is allowed. Any time a disc is within 1 meter of an OB line, you are entitled to take up to a meter of relief from the OB line (not the disc). Even if it takes you closer to the target.
802.03 Marking the Lie
D. If the position of the thrown disc is in-bounds but within one meter of an out-of-bounds line, the lie may be marked by placing a mini marker disc on the playing surface at any point on a one-meter line that extends perpendicularly from the nearest point on the out-of-bounds line and passes through the center of the thrown disc, even if the direction takes the lie closer to the target. For the purpose of marking the lie, the out-of-bounds line represents a vertical plane.
Not Casual Relief, but it is another kind of Relief. In general, Relief is moving the lie without penalty.

For example, from the 2108 rules:
Quote:
The out-of-bounds line extends a vertical plane. When marking within one meter
of the out-of-bounds line, the one-meter relief may be taken from any point up
or down on the vertical plane.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-28-2017, 10:40 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 21.2
Courses Played: 144
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,030
Niced 2,499 Times in 1,052 Posts
Default

I understand it is relief. My point was that it is not "casual relief" in the sense that some refer to any relief as "casual". Sort of the same way some folks will call any warning (such as a warning for a stance violation) a "courtesy warning". It's semantics more than anything, but it is good to be clear.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-31-2017, 08:42 AM
rhatton1's Avatar
rhatton1 rhatton1 is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Years Playing: 12
Courses Played: 21
Posts: 803
Niced 336 Times in 145 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
For example, from the 2108 rules:
Steve's dedication to the sport is unparalleled - he's already put together a draft for the RC for the 90 years in the future edition!

Are step putts still an issue or does Ulli's zimmerframe stop them anyway?

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-31-2017, 11:09 AM
Steve West Steve West is online now
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 44.8
Courses Played: 326
Posts: 4,529
Niced 1,255 Times in 640 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhatton1 View Post
Steve's dedication to the sport is unparalleled - he's already put together a draft for the RC for the 90 years in the future edition!

Are step putts still an issue or does Ulli's zimmerframe stop them anyway?

By then, the target will be so small that you'll need to fold the disc and hammer it in. Putting will be a distant memory.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-12-2017, 09:58 AM
art_vandelay's Avatar
art_vandelay art_vandelay is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: St. Louis, MO
Years Playing: 8.9
Courses Played: 98
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 733
Niced 230 Times in 124 Posts
Default

I think the step putt is an embarrassment to the game. Kind of like the designated hitter in baseball. It's part of the game but I for one really wish it wasn't. Something that looks that much like a foot fault probably is more than half the time.
Reply With Quote
 

  #9  
Old 11-13-2017, 06:27 PM
roggenb3's Avatar
roggenb3 roggenb3 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Madtown
Years Playing: 12.7
Courses Played: 124
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,618
Niced 851 Times in 456 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by art_vandelay View Post
I think the step putt is an embarrassment to the game. Kind of like the designated hitter in baseball. It's part of the game but I for one really wish it wasn't. Something that looks that much like a foot fault probably is more than half the time.
I agree. Jump putts usually at least look like legal throws. Step putts are just dumb.

I'm going to start doing the reverse step putt. Set up so your rear foot is on your lie, then just before you release, you pick up your front foot and step back onto the rear foot.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I hit a miracle shot at the GoPro Mountain Games this past weekend! klay General Disc Golf Chat 19 06-15-2015 10:06 AM
Tee shot out of bounds question. JerryW General Disc Golf Chat 6 09-12-2014 11:18 PM
ace count if its your 2nd shot off the tee? Hydraulic Jump General Disc Golf Chat 27 06-24-2010 01:20 AM
The farthest shot you ever made into the basket StymieDidIt General Disc Golf Chat 95 06-20-2010 02:05 PM
Your longest shot that went in the basket Midnightbiker General Disc Golf Chat 120 05-11-2009 11:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.