Old 04-10-2013, 09:18 AM

Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Substantial weight loss and Disc Golf...

So....I've been playing for 6 years off and on with job/family responsibilities. Aim an AM player but I've known for some time that if I were to lose weight I could reallyimprove my game. I currently weigh 275 at 6'0. I have broad shoulders and a fairly large fra,e so I don't look quite as overweight as I am. I'll be joining the Y this week and will begin making some major changes in life in general. I love practicing in the field and, even w my weight difficulties, have good form and I feel like my technique is getting solid ...
...my question is this: who has lost a substantial amount of weight (60+) and, in detail, how did it improve your game...for example, putting percentages, general back/knee strength, core balance, stamina, driving distance, etc. no info is too much and I look forward to your testimonial
Sponsored Links
Old 04-10-2013, 09:26 AM

Courses Played: 55
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts

Kudos to you in taking the first step to healthier living.

I too am trying to lose weight to improve my game. I weighed 250 october of last year and now weigh 230. Busted it out at the YMCA like you. Still working on lossing the 60+

Really worked my core for better balance, used very light weights on muscles i know i would use in my game, and have done alot of cardio to improve endurance.

All this together has improve my disc golf game. I feel more crisp, drives are longer with less effort, and even my focus ( especially on my putts) have greatly improved.

Keep improving your Mind and body!!!!! Your disc golf game will thank you!!!!

-Joji
Old 04-10-2013, 09:28 AM
Bogey Member

Years Playing: 1.8
Courses Played: 28
Niced 1 Time in 1 Post

I've recently lost 30 lbs and my game has improved a lot! More stamina, faster arm speed, a whole bunch of positives. Work hard! I don't know you, but I've got your back in the fight against yourself!
Old 04-10-2013, 09:39 AM