#51  
Old 07-18-2011, 03:43 PM
Scirocco Scirocco is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 45
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

He should be required to know the rules (as should the TD).
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 07-18-2011, 03:47 PM
Jbowdown's Avatar
Jbowdown Jbowdown is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Jordan, MN
Years Playing: 11.5
Courses Played: 73
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 429
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doupie620 View Post
For the record...

I really don't go around peeing on stuff. Just making a point. I will NOT pee on you, not even if you ask me to...unless there is a jellyfish and you are in pain, but that's it.
The DGCR question should be this: If asked, will you pee on boobs?
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 07-18-2011, 03:50 PM
zenbot's Avatar
zenbot zenbot is offline
*Super Moderator*
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ventura, California
Years Playing: 11.3
Courses Played: 31
Posts: 10,895
Niced 160 Times in 67 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scirocco View Post
He should be required to know the rules (as should the TD).
This states the the TD can delegate people to spot and make decisions that can overrule the card but they don't have to know anything about the rules. It doesn't mention a TD appeal for spotters. Only for non-certified officials.

Quote:
1.11 Officials


D. Non-playing certified officials may actively make rulings during any tournament play that they witness. If an official competes in a tournament, he or she may not officiate for any ruling within his or her own division. The official's ruling supersedes the ruling of the group, but an appeal may be made to the tournament director. The director may empower non-certified officials to act as spotters for a specific purpose. The ruling of such a spotter supersedes the ruling of the group.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 07-18-2011, 03:56 PM
Scirocco Scirocco is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 45
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Allow me to rephrase: the spotter should know when it's ok to get out of the way, as courtesy dictates, and should have the balls to assert themselves when idiot players tell them to stay put in an effort to obstruct their competition.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 07-18-2011, 03:57 PM
zenbot's Avatar
zenbot zenbot is offline
*Super Moderator*
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ventura, California
Years Playing: 11.3
Courses Played: 31
Posts: 10,895
Niced 160 Times in 67 Posts
Default

It all boils down to the T.D. ensuring he has the right people armed with the right information.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 07-18-2011, 04:00 PM
Scirocco Scirocco is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 45
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

@ OP: Why didn't they just take their shot and then take a provisional?
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 07-18-2011, 04:02 PM
vonDrehle's Avatar
vonDrehle vonDrehle is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hickory, NC
Years Playing: 11.6
Courses Played: 47
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,779
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scirocco View Post
@ OP: Why didn't they just take their shot and then take a provisional?
lol, you don't get to just throw a provisional any ole time and take it.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 07-18-2011, 04:36 PM
Scirocco Scirocco is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 45
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Why couldn't you take a provisional in this situation? Especially since the rulebook states:

Quote:
The use of provisional throws is encouraged in all situations where the thrower questions the group’s or official’s ruling.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 07-18-2011, 04:53 PM
booter's Avatar
booter booter is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: the plastic bins
Years Playing: 20.5
Courses Played: 29
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 5,066
Niced 87 Times in 55 Posts
Default

I believe we mentioned to my buddy that he probably should of taken a provisional but I think he was just not really in the mood for re teeing since he re tee'd after going ob the entire line,then his 2nd shot landed in the rough leaving him only the roller lane to which the spotters chair was occupying. He took a 6 on that I think. Btw we mentioned the provisional after the round at lunch when he told us about it
Reply With Quote
 

  #60  
Old 07-18-2011, 05:51 PM
Kaikias's Avatar
Kaikias Kaikias is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Years Playing: 8.8
Courses Played: 8
Posts: 293
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by booter View Post
Which is why I said,regardless if its a rule or not,he should of moved it out of courtesy. If It was a bench and was apart of park equipment,no need for it to even be questioned. Its just the simple fact that the spotter was looking at the situation as if he couldnt move it even if he wanted to.
Regarless if it was the right call or not, he was told last time that he shouldn't have moved his chair, and that if it came up not to.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.