#1  
Old 08-12-2019, 08:56 AM
AnttiM AnttiM is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 15
Niced 5 Times in 2 Posts
Default Missing holes due to an emergency

In which of these cases shall a player be allowed to continue the competition and receive a rating for their round, should they miss one or more consecutive holes due to an emergency

a) at the beginning of the round,

b) in the middle of the round,

c) at the end of the round?
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-12-2019, 09:01 AM
lines's Avatar
lines lines is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Asheville NC
Courses Played: 35
Posts: 1,066
Niced 865 Times in 420 Posts
Default

D. None of the above.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-12-2019, 09:19 AM
tonyroberts's Avatar
tonyroberts tonyroberts is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Minnesota
Years Playing: 8.9
Courses Played: 90
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 241
Niced 72 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Depending on the circumstances, the player could continue in any of these cases.

See rule 811 Misplay for applicable situations and penalties for the misplay.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-12-2019, 09:56 AM
_MTL_ _MTL_ is offline
Flippy Flopper
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Years Playing: 28.2
Courses Played: 144
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,283
Niced 1,486 Times in 578 Posts
Default

Never.

There are too many "what ifs" involved and the line has to be drawn.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-12-2019, 10:05 AM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 26.1
Courses Played: 127
Posts: 16,200
Niced 7,082 Times in 2,630 Posts
Default

Continue the competition and receive a rating for the round are two different things.

Generally, you can continue the competition.

Not sure why you'd want the rating, but you'll get it. If you miss many holes, with the penalties it's likely to be so low it'll be dropped from your player rating, anyway.

Whether it's an emergency doesn't come into play. Missed holes are missed holes. With the possible exception of whether they were missed deliberately, to gain an advantage.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-12-2019, 10:42 AM
Future_Primitive's Avatar
Future_Primitive Future_Primitive is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Michigan
Years Playing: 9.2
Courses Played: 147
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,651
Niced 868 Times in 386 Posts
Default

A. Yes. This has been covered and happened before, late arrivals. You get a score of par + 4 for every hole you miss and you can finish the round.

B. Depends. If in a foursome then you might permitted to leave and return, receiving par + 4 for every hole you miss. If you're in a threesome however you won't have a group to come back to. Should you be forced to leave then one person goes to the card in front and the other to the card behind as twosomes are not allowed by rule.

C. No. If you're not there when the others finished then I don't see how you could complete the round. In this case it would be a DQ, either 999 or 888 depending on the circumstances for your departure. You can arrive late but you can't finish early so this would be a disqualification, no rating.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-12-2019, 11:38 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 23.6
Courses Played: 152
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,964
Niced 3,984 Times in 1,642 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Future_Primitive View Post
A. Yes. This has been covered and happened before, late arrivals. You get a score of par + 4 for every hole you miss and you can finish the round.

B. Depends. If in a foursome then you might permitted to leave and return, receiving par + 4 for every hole you miss. If you're in a threesome however you won't have a group to come back to. Should you be forced to leave then one person goes to the card in front and the other to the card behind as twosomes are not allowed by rule.

C. No. If you're not there when the others finished then I don't see how you could complete the round. In this case it would be a DQ, either 999 or 888 depending on the circumstances for your departure. You can arrive late but you can't finish early so this would be a disqualification, no rating.
Point of clarification, but it would not be a DQ. If we're talking about an emergency situation that could not be avoided, the TD has the discretion to give the player par + 4 for each hole missed no matter when they occurred in the round (beginning, middle, or end) and allow the player to continue to compete in the event if they wish. It would not automatically be a 999 or an 888 just because the missed holes occurred at the end of the round.

888 and 999 are code for voluntary withdrawal from the event, not a disqualification (which is, definitionally an involuntary withdrawal). They are different only in that they signify the nature of the withdrawal.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-12-2019, 01:13 PM
biscoe biscoe is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: spotsylvania, va
Years Playing: 26.2
Courses Played: 122
Posts: 7,740
Niced 3,976 Times in 1,540 Posts
Default

Even though any of the three ought to be subject to disqualification the PDGA allows all of them under varying circumstances.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-12-2019, 03:32 PM
AnttiM AnttiM is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 15
Niced 5 Times in 2 Posts
Default

If, for instance, after completing the penultimate hole of the final round while leading the field by five strokes, I happened to get injured so that I couldn't be able to play the last hole, would I still be eligible to win the competition, if my closest rivals failed to birdie the last hole?
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 08-12-2019, 06:56 PM
tonyroberts's Avatar
tonyroberts tonyroberts is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Minnesota
Years Playing: 8.9
Courses Played: 90
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 241
Niced 72 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnttiM View Post
If, for instance, after completing the penultimate hole of the final round while leading the field by five strokes, I happened to get injured so that I couldn't be able to play the last hole, would I still be eligible to win the competition, if my closest rivals failed to birdie the last hole?
You can't win the competition of you are unable to complete the event. See the following from the PDGA ratings FAQ:

Quote:
If you do not complete a round due to sickness, injury or other emergency, you will receive a score of 999 indicating you Did Not Finish (DNF) that round. You will not get a rating for that round but will receive ratings for any other rounds you completed before and sometimes after that round (if TD allows). You or someone in your group must inform the TD that you did not complete the round and why. If you complete the round even though sick or injured, you will receive a rating for the round. So keep that in mind when deciding whether to complete the round.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A couple Great Holes of Disc Golf missing. Please help me fill in the gaps... thediscinmusician The Marketplace 11 01-07-2012 07:20 AM
Emergency Disc Kit in Car Deaf Leopard General Disc Golf Chat 44 04-03-2011 05:08 PM
Windy Day Emergency Putter? Chucktown Discs 32 03-22-2011 02:36 PM
Emergency Disc Stash Ewb46 General Disc Golf Chat 17 01-21-2010 09:33 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.