Go Back   Disc Golf Course Review > General Disc Golf Discussions > General Disc Golf Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03-20-2018, 09:12 PM
JTacoma03's Avatar
JTacoma03 JTacoma03 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Baton Rouge, LA and SF, CA
Years Playing: 10.8
Courses Played: 133
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 4,295
Niced 1,387 Times in 420 Posts
Default The Upshot: WACO, Jeremy Koling, RamPAIGE | Ultiworld Disc Golf

Title says it! It's The Upshot!

What do you think about Paige's season so far? Which is the most impressive win to you?

Did anybody else make the mistake I did and count Big Jerm out too soon during that final round?

Did the weather delay favor Jerm? Or is it much ado about nothing?

Holler back!
Sponsored Links

Niced: (1)

Last edited by JTacoma03; 03-20-2018 at 09:13 PM. Reason: put a link bro, smh
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-20-2018, 09:22 PM
jmdaire27's Avatar
jmdaire27 jmdaire27 is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Duluth
Years Playing: 12.8
Courses Played: 51
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 799
Niced 288 Times in 180 Posts
Default

I think Jerm wanted to win the Waco in a one hole playoff again. He does seem to like the dramatics! I think he did right by sticking with it to the end. That course can show some teeth, and he favored well in the woods. Good to see him come away with the W! I enjoy watching Jerm play well.

Paige’s win was too epic. Hokom kinda blew it, but Paige stormed back hard at the end. She is dominant, and seems to play hard, if not consistent.

Regardless, I like seeing different faces atop the MPO, thus far. It’s about time we stray away from the Rick/Paul show.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-20-2018, 09:34 PM
robdeforge robdeforge is online now
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Courses Played: 1
Posts: 388
Niced 176 Times in 92 Posts
Default

I just skimmed through - no talk about Jerm's own rule snafu?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-20-2018, 10:20 PM
eegor's Avatar
eegor eegor is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: DFW...Tejas
Years Playing: 23.5
Courses Played: 131
Posts: 3,630
Niced 183 Times in 95 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robdeforge View Post
I just skimmed through - no talk about Jerm's own rule snafu?
I don't think he interpreted the rule correctly, but I wasn't on the card to call it, so it doesn't matter. No one calls, not an issue.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-20-2018, 10:28 PM
jmdaire27's Avatar
jmdaire27 jmdaire27 is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Duluth
Years Playing: 12.8
Courses Played: 51
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 799
Niced 288 Times in 180 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eegor View Post
I don't think he interpreted the rule correctly, but I wasn't on the card to call it, so it doesn't matter. No one calls, not an issue.
I thought Perkins did have some issue with it. I found it all rather confusing, but it was glanced over in the Jomez coverage. Ultimately, they moved on, and we will never know what could have been!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-20-2018, 11:30 PM
JTacoma03's Avatar
JTacoma03 JTacoma03 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Baton Rouge, LA and SF, CA
Years Playing: 10.8
Courses Played: 133
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 4,295
Niced 1,387 Times in 420 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robdeforge View Post
I just skimmed through - no talk about Jerm's own rule snafu?
I wasn't aware there was one? What's the story?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-20-2018, 11:38 PM
jmdaire27's Avatar
jmdaire27 jmdaire27 is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Duluth
Years Playing: 12.8
Courses Played: 51
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 799
Niced 288 Times in 180 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JTacoma03 View Post
I wasn't aware there was one? What's the story?
Some sort of foot positioning issue with Jerms lie being so close to a Mando (tree). I think his leading foot was a foot or so from his lie, or something like that. I’m not completely sure. It did look funky. I’m sure someone else could be more helpful.

Edit: at the 8:15 mark of round 3 back 9, Jomez hole 12

https://youtu.be/gkgandCRsaU

Last edited by jmdaire27; 03-20-2018 at 11:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-20-2018, 11:44 PM
brutalbrutus's Avatar
brutalbrutus brutalbrutus is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: the nati
Years Playing: 9.4
Courses Played: 52
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 10,124
Niced 4,370 Times in 2,306 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JTacoma03 View Post
I wasn't aware there was one? What's the story?
Read the last 12 pages of the Waco Tourney thread...

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-20-2018, 11:52 PM
brutalbrutus's Avatar
brutalbrutus brutalbrutus is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: the nati
Years Playing: 9.4
Courses Played: 52
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 10,124
Niced 4,370 Times in 2,306 Posts
Default

Here's the cliff notes version...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flick Maniac View Post
Any comments on the "line of play" deal, where Jerm says he is taking the stance in relation to the mando at 3 o clock? Problem is, if the line of play to the basket doesnt miss the mando, you cannot do that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
What hole/round was it? (link to the video would be even better)

If it is as you describe, you are correct. You only use the mando as the "target" to determine line of play if the line from the basket to your marker passes on the incorrect side of the mando.

Was lining up at 3 o'clock advantageous to Jerm or did he simply misunderstand/misapply the rule?
Quote:
Originally Posted by brutalbrutus View Post


1:58:30 mark...
Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
Thanks brutalbrutus for the link. Yeah, that's pretty egregious. I see what Lyle is saying, but he's not even within the "box" as it should have been determined (line of play from the basket).



Based on Jerm's pointing, I drew an "M" roughly where the mando is. The arrow points roughly where the target is. He was 100% wrong to use the mando to determine line of play in this situation. And by doing that, his foot was not on the legal lie when he released.

Obviously, he did it to get clearance from the tree for his throw. I don't think he intentionally cheated to do it. I think he was genuinely applying what he thought was correct but he had the rule wrong. So less a matter of him trying to skirt the rules and more a matter of more pros who doesn't know the rules well enough.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flick Maniac View Post
Any comments on the "line of play" deal, where Jerm says he is taking the stance in relation to the mando at 3 o clock? Problem is, if the line of play to the basket doesnt miss the mando, you cannot do that.



Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
Only if the line from the basket to the marker passes on the incorrect side of the mando. In this case, it does not so the mando is irrelevant from a lie/stance perspective. His stance is wrong because he misunderstands the rule.
Quote:
Originally Posted by brutalbrutus View Post
This is where I think a small diagram should be included in the rule book. People understand pictures easier than legalspeak...
Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
Something like this, only not so crude (I drew it in five minutes).


Last edited by brutalbrutus; 03-20-2018 at 11:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 03-20-2018, 11:59 PM
VLaForce2002 VLaForce2002 is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 178
Niced 101 Times in 58 Posts
Default

Love the diagram, and I’m not a PDGA member or knowledgeable about this rule. So, I’m confused about the Mandatory Line. What are the two points for the Mandatory line? Can they and the subsequent line be added to your diagram?
I assumed at the start of this controversy the Mandatory line was a line perpendicular to the fairway. In other words: if the player has passed the Mandatory in relation to the target then the target, if he hasn’t then the Mandatory becomes the relative point

Last edited by VLaForce2002; 03-21-2018 at 12:03 AM. Reason: Left off a piece
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jeremy Koling - green disc at 2017 Texas States DavidHedvin Discs 10 04-12-2017 11:27 PM
Jeremy Koling's Putting JNichols General Disc Golf Chat 51 07-31-2015 08:27 PM
Jeremy Koling's Sidearm gcanter2376 General Disc Golf Chat 81 08-05-2013 12:34 AM
Interview with Pro Disc Golfer Jeremy Koling-podcast Chainchaser General Disc Golf Chat 1 05-07-2012 01:03 PM
Disc Golf Talk Radio will interview Jeremy Koling Chainchaser General Disc Golf Chat 11 05-03-2012 10:18 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.