#11  
Old 03-19-2018, 11:16 PM
sisyphus's Avatar
sisyphus sisyphus is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Porkopolis
Years Playing: 7.1
Courses Played: 312
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,471
Niced 304 Times in 145 Posts
Default

I'm pretty sure I've seen this discussion before, and if I got the consensus and Q&A right...

In the case where a disc comes to rest under a bridge or other stacked playing surface, where a legal stance cannot be made (broken ankle, neck, or physical impossibility), the rules for Establishing a position and Relief from obstacles come into play. Personally, the situation I was in was the disc was 7+ feet above the nearest place you could stand, wedged under the middle of a bridge, where the bridge contacted the ground at the top of the near-vertical ravine wall.

This would be akin to one where (if I heard the story correctly) a disc once flew several meters into a small, corrugated drain pipe that could not be entered. There was a legal playing surface directly above the disc, so those rules moved the lie to the playing surface above the disc.
Sponsored Links

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-19-2018, 11:20 PM
brutalbrutus's Avatar
brutalbrutus brutalbrutus is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: the nati
Years Playing: 8.2
Courses Played: 52
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 7,608
Niced 2,107 Times in 1,193 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sisyphus View Post
.

This would be akin to one where (if I heard the story correctly) a disc once flew several meters into a small, corrugated drain pipe that could not be entered. There was a legal playing surface directly above the disc, so those rules moved the lie to the playing surface above the disc.
Basil Griffin hole 2? It happened in my group at BG Ams the first year I went down there. Great FH off the tee and it did a slid rather than skip and went in that pipe. When we got down there and looked, it was literally right under the basket...

Last edited by brutalbrutus; 03-19-2018 at 11:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-20-2018, 07:54 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 20.8
Courses Played: 142
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 6,644
Niced 1,894 Times in 810 Posts
Default

There are lots of stories of drain pipes and discs entering them so far that a stance at the location of the disc was impossible. It happened at the USDGC on a couple occasions (the 888 hole, IIRC), necessitating a special note in the caddy book about it because at the time, the rule book didn't address it. In fact, I'm fairly sure that was the biggest impetus behind adding the "below the playing surface" language to the rule book. (not all USDGC inspired rule changes are about hazards and penalties )

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-25-2018, 07:59 PM
araytx araytx is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: DFW
Years Playing: 12.2
Courses Played: 192
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,016
Niced 165 Times in 106 Posts
Default

prerube, please.

You're bringing the horse back to life...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-20-2018, 10:28 PM
GripEnemy's Avatar
GripEnemy GripEnemy is offline
Thread_Killer :::crickets:::
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Years Playing: 16.6
Courses Played: 39
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,584
Niced 354 Times in 203 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by araytx View Post
prerube, please.

You're bringing the horse back to life...
You rang?

Unplayable lie or below ground?
Over/under a bridge lie rule lawyering / hacking
Lie Underneath Bridge
Disc On or Under Bridge?
Disc lands on culvert (Probably not this one)
How to play this lie?
Overlapping playing surfaces
Surrounded by water

Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-23-2018, 02:11 AM
Casey 1988 Casey 1988 is offline
Shun the frumious Bandersnatch!
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Years Playing: 15.3
Courses Played: 25
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,378
Niced 435 Times in 370 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davetherocketguy View Post
If its casual play then call it however the heck you want. A tournament or league though (at least I would think) this sort of thing ought to be address by the TD/LD especially if the water level varies. Personally, I'd be tempted to make the entire canal OB outlined with white paint. Of course I am saying all this site unseen. I do not recall seeing anything in the rules having to do with the width of the stream.

https://www.pdga.com/rules/official-...isc-golf/80603

https://www.pdga.com/rules/official-...isc-golf/80602

In essence, the way I treat it is, if it isn't defined as being OB then it isn't. Most folks just assume that permanent standing water such as lakes, ponds, rivers or creeks but if there isn't a TD, LD or sign to indicate what is and isn't OB then it's all inbounds. Am I right in this line of thought?

In any case, sometimes to eliminate bad feelings in casual rounds I like to always address the OB on each hole before anyone tees off. "You play that roadway as OB?" "Yep" kind of thing goes a long way to fostering a more pleasant round.

-Dave
Where I live Pierre South Dakota there is a inlet of water that is sometimes dry during tournaments some times not at the State Park course. We make for tournaments a spray paint line on the edge of the small inlet thing. It is not fair for some players as a Dam 1/2-3/4 mile nearby could release water and we get one group of players that went in but no water was there and other group water so we mark an ob line for tournaments and then use water as ob when the water has come past the ob spray paint line.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-23-2018, 02:30 PM
GoobyPls's Avatar
GoobyPls GoobyPls is online now
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Years Playing: 2.3
Courses Played: 26
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 968
Niced 321 Times in 183 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sisyphus View Post
This would be akin to one where (if I heard the story correctly) a disc once flew several meters into a small, corrugated drain pipe that could not be entered. There was a legal playing surface directly above the disc, so those rules moved the lie to the playing surface above the disc.
I believe you're referring to me shanking a Teebird into a drain pipe at Arthur O. Fisher last year. I posted pictures and related the story here. In that case it was a best-shot doubles event, so we just played my partner's shot. Entrance to the pipe was in-bounds, but where my shot came to rest was underneath an OB road, so consensus was I would have needed to play 1m in from the edge of the road.
Reply With Quote
 

  #18  
Old 04-23-2018, 02:33 PM
etdefender19's Avatar
etdefender19 etdefender19 is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Years Playing: 2.9
Courses Played: 29
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 433
Niced 141 Times in 78 Posts
Default

You have to answer the troll's riddle correctly first

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.