#91  
Old 10-17-2017, 08:22 PM
kerplunk's Avatar
kerplunk kerplunk is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Red Rock, TX, USA
Years Playing: 10.6
Courses Played: 42
Posts: 1,449
Niced 59 Times in 42 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by giles View Post
So am I reading the change correctly. "Missing a hole is par +4" It doesn't stipulate that it is in regards to the start of the round.
I get a gnarly cut, I can go back to my truck to doctor it up, then resume the round at my leisure?
I get sick and don't finish my round, can I come back the next day if I'm feeling better?
If this is the case I like the idea. I would be bummed if I traveled to a tournament and for some reason had to miss a few holes I'm still eligible to play the remainder of the event.
Can we dub this the Pee Break rule? Y'all know what I'm talking about.
Sponsored Links

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 10-17-2017, 09:57 PM
AzteC's Avatar
AzteC AzteC is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 547
Niced 34 Times in 24 Posts
Default

yeah I don't know how the unlimited relief isn't under MAJOR change.
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 10-17-2017, 10:32 PM
Horsman's Avatar
Horsman Horsman is offline
Pandamonium Discs
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Years Playing: 12.3
Courses Played: 156
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,835
Niced 185 Times in 92 Posts
Default

Best rule ever is 811-F-9

"Wrong Starting Hole or Group. The player has begun play on a hole or in a group other than the one to which they were assigned. The player continues play, and two throws are added to the player’s score for the first hole played."

You can play with whatever group you want for a 2 stroke penalty

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 10-17-2017, 11:20 PM
teemkey's Avatar
teemkey teemkey is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Courses Played: 39
Posts: 2,238
Niced 219 Times in 112 Posts
Default

The 2018 rule book and competition manual are posted as downloadable pdfs.

The rule book index is worse than I'd imagined. It references by rule number, not page number.

Quote:
All Square..................................A.04.A
Away Player ..............................802.02.C
Basket Target, or Basket..........807.A
Casual Area...............................806.03.A
Casual Obstacle.......................803.01.B.1
Casual Water.............................806.03.A
Completion of a Round...........808.F
Director .....................................801.02.G
Double Mandatory ..................804.01.A
Down .........................................A.04.A
Drop Zone.................................802.05.C
Extra Throw...............................A.03.C
Group ........................................801.02.A
Halved .......................................A.04.A
Hazard .......................................806.05.A
Height-Restricted
Double Mandatory..............804.01.A
Hole ...........................................800
In-bounds..................................806.02.A
Lie ..............................................802. 05.A
Line of Play................................802.05.D
Mandatory Line ........................804.02.A.1
Mandatory Object....................804.01.A
Mandatory Route .....................804.01.A
Marker.......................................802.0 5.D
Marker Disc...............................802.05.D
Match Play.................................A.01.A
Medal Play ................................A.01.A
Mini Marker Disc, or Mini ........802.06.B
Misplay ......................................811.B
Object Target............................807.A
Official .......................................801.02.F
Out-of-bounds .........................806.02.A
Par..............................................8 11.F.5
Penalty Throw ...........................801.02.E
Players’ Meeting.......................811.A
Playing Surface.........................802.05.A
Position......................................805. 01.A
Practice Throw..........................809.03.A
Provisional Throw,
or Provisional .......................809.02.A
Putt.............................................8 06.01.A
Relief Area.................................806.04.A
Re-throw....................................802.02.D
Single Mandatory.....................804.01.A
Supporting Point......................802.04.B
Target.........................................807 .A
Tee Line.....................................802.04.A
Teeing Area, or Tee..................802.04.A
Throw.........................................802. 01.A
Tournament Official .................801.02.F
Two-meter Rule ........................805.02.A
Up ..............................................A.04 .A
Warning.....................................801.02 .D
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 10-17-2017, 11:25 PM
ToddL ToddL is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Greenville, SC
Years Playing: 22.3
Courses Played: 117
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 845
Niced 198 Times in 97 Posts
Default

806.01.B. After having released a putt, the player must demonstrate full control of balance behind the marker disc before advancing toward the target. A player who fails to do so has committed a stance violation and receives one penalty throw.

No rethrow for a falling putt either. Take the result and add a stroke.
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 10-17-2017, 11:27 PM
ToddL ToddL is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Greenville, SC
Years Playing: 22.3
Courses Played: 117
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 845
Niced 198 Times in 97 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teemkey View Post
The 2018 rule book and competition manual are posted as downloadable pdfs.

The rule book index is worse than I'd imagined. It references by rule number, not page number.
The book is 15 pages long, and the rule numbers are listed next to the page numbers at the bottom of every page. It’s not gonna be that hard to find what you’re looking for.
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 10-17-2017, 11:40 PM
teemkey's Avatar
teemkey teemkey is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Courses Played: 39
Posts: 2,238
Niced 219 Times in 112 Posts
Default

Oh, and notice that the Index shows a reference for Par: 811.F.5.

Searching, searching, got it.

Page 13.

And section 811 is entitled "Misplay."

Hmmmmm ... Par ... 13 ... Misplay ... Interesting. Coincidence? Irony?
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 10-18-2017, 12:47 AM
DonCasper DonCasper is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Years Playing: 11.4
Courses Played: 82
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 113
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think the simplified rules for holing out are pretty awesome. I think it takes some of the randomness out of holing out. Per the FAQ, a disc resting on on the rim of the basket across two nubs will count next year, whereas currently it would not count:

Quote:
QA-COM-3
I putted and my disc wound up in a
horizontal position on top of the tray’s rim,
spanning two nubs. Does it count?
Yes, as long as the disc entered the target
correctly (above the tray and below the
top chain support).
I hated the fact that discs hanging on the nubs didn't count. It's a rare shot, but I never saw the benefit to penalizing the player. It seemed unnecessarily punitive.
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 10-18-2017, 01:09 AM
AzteC's Avatar
AzteC AzteC is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 547
Niced 34 Times in 24 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonCasper View Post
I think the simplified rules for holing out are pretty awesome. I think it takes some of the randomness out of holing out. Per the FAQ, a disc resting on on the rim of the basket across two nubs will count next year, whereas currently it would not count:



I hated the fact that discs hanging on the nubs didn't count. It's a rare shot, but I never saw the benefit to penalizing the player. It seemed unnecessarily punitive.
It says horizontally hanging.. What if its on the outside of the basket, on the nubs, hanging vertically.. Like AJ Risley's putt on hole 6 at USDGC.
Reply With Quote
 

  #100  
Old 10-18-2017, 02:19 AM
roadtripstuff's Avatar
roadtripstuff roadtripstuff is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Years Playing: 15.6
Courses Played: 225
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,494
Niced 114 Times in 62 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to roadtripstuff
Default

What about this? It pretty much eliminates the FPO division for smallet events. Here, where we only have a couple of FPO players a lot of the AM women will play FPO just to make a division. Now they won't. Horrible decision and will probably lead to lower FPO players leaving the game.

A. Any player accepting cash in a Pro division at a PDGA-sanctioned event (except
leagues) must be a current Pro-class PDGA member. If they are not a current
Pro-class PDGA member, and wish to accept cash, the membership fee for
either their new Pro membership, upgraded membership (if a current Amateur),
or renewed Pro membership is taken out of their winnings by the Tournament
Director and forwarded to the PDGA.
B. An Amateur playing in a Pro division may NOT accept merchandise in lieu of cash;
they may only accept a trophy (if one is available). All cash payouts at or below
that place would move down one place causing an additional place to be paid.

Niced: (3)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.