#1  
Old 07-14-2017, 12:34 PM
robdeforge robdeforge is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: VT
Courses Played: 1
Posts: 182
Niced 74 Times in 39 Posts
Default Two questions about throwing

In the Q&A section, the PDGA says that a kick can be a throw. I've been wondering: can I drop kick the disc? i.e., release the disc (not throw it downwards) and kick it? Do I have to place the disc on my foot, and then do a kicking motion? Do I have to/can I have someone hold it football kick off style?

ALSO - what happens if you throw two discs at once? Like literally two discs stacked on top of each other.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-14-2017, 12:48 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is online now
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 29.6
Courses Played: 662
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 11,700
Niced 842 Times in 452 Posts
Default

I would say "No" to the drop kick and also to another person holding it. Placing the disc on your foot and kicking it would be okay if your other foot/stance was legal. I recall seeing a player (freestyler) loft their disc into the basket off their foot when close enough for a drop-in. I've also seen a freestyler throw a regular Frisbee well with the disc rim pinched between his toes.

I think the proper call others should make when a player throws two discs is to call both practice throws and require player to re-throw one disc as their third throw, assuming the 2-disc throw was made from the tee.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-14-2017, 01:25 PM
philstine philstine is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Courses Played: 20
Posts: 214
Niced 179 Times in 74 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robdeforge View Post
In the Q&A section, the PDGA says that a kick can be a throw. I've been wondering: can I drop kick the disc? i.e., release the disc (not throw it downwards) and kick it? Do I have to place the disc on my foot, and then do a kicking motion? Do I have to/can I have someone hold it football kick off style?
The answer is in the first sentence of QA 29:

Quote:
There are no restrictions on how you throw the disc.
"No restrictions" means "no restrictions." If nothing in the mechanics of a dropkick or footbal kickoff style violates another rule, dropkicking and football kickoff throws are legal.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-14-2017, 01:58 PM
Pwingles's Avatar
Pwingles Pwingles is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bird Town
Years Playing: 12.8
Courses Played: 72
Posts: 3,611
Niced 25 Times in 18 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by philstine View Post
The answer is in the first sentence of QA 29:



"No restrictions" means "no restrictions." If nothing in the mechanics of a dropkick or footbal kickoff style violates another rule, dropkicking and football kickoff throws are legal.
is this being interpreted correctly tho? (serious question)
because you are essentially influencing its flight 2 times, which would be illegal otherwise right?

like, you couldnt toss a disc upward, and then punch it forward I wouldnt think
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-14-2017, 02:28 PM
roggenb3's Avatar
roggenb3 roggenb3 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Madtown
Years Playing: 12.3
Courses Played: 109
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,478
Niced 703 Times in 386 Posts
Default

I've wondered these things as well bc in casual rounds I will often slide my foot under my disc and flick it into the basket. Seems legal as long as I carefully set it on my foot instead (tho that defeats the purpose of the kick which is to avoid bending over).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-14-2017, 02:37 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is online now
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 29.6
Courses Played: 662
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 11,700
Niced 842 Times in 452 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roggenb3 View Post
I've wondered these things as well bc in casual rounds I will often slide my foot under my disc and flick it into the basket. Seems legal as long as I carefully set it on my foot instead (tho that defeats the purpose of the kick which is to avoid bending over).
It wouldn't be legal even if you put a marker in front of it. The only way to do that properly would be to mark your lie and place the disc off to the side farther from the basket than your mark so you could place one foot behind your mark and then use your other foot to loft the disc from the ground or place it on that foot to loft it into the basket.

Last edited by Cgkdisc; 07-14-2017 at 02:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-14-2017, 02:47 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 20.8
Courses Played: 142
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 6,652
Niced 1,908 Times in 814 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roggenb3 View Post
I've wondered these things as well bc in casual rounds I will often slide my foot under my disc and flick it into the basket. Seems legal as long as I carefully set it on my foot instead (tho that defeats the purpose of the kick which is to avoid bending over).
I don't think the action of putting your foot under the disc and kicking/flicking it is illegal as a means of "throwing" the disc. But doing so without a legal mark would be a violation. Until you mark the lie with a mini, the disc on the ground is the marker. So "throwing" the disc without a mini would be a marking violation. First one is just a warning so technically you can get away with it once per round.

Also, even if you have marked it properly, you are probably still committing a stance violation as the foot doing the kicking is probably off the ground before the disc breaks contact with it, meaning there's no supporting point in contact with the lie. Either you'd have to squeeze your other foot in right behind to get it on the lie, or you'd have to shift the disc off the lie before placing your foot under it and kicking it.

All of which, as you said, defeats the purpose of kicking it in the first place, which is to avoid bending over.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-14-2017, 04:15 PM
roggenb3's Avatar
roggenb3 roggenb3 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Madtown
Years Playing: 12.3
Courses Played: 109
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,478
Niced 703 Times in 386 Posts
Default

^ Well, yeah, obviously I would have to mark it. I assumed I didn't need to explicitly say that part.

As for no points of contact on the lie - just kick with your other foot. Mark it, take a straddle putt stance and place the disc on the foot that's not behind your mini. Legal kick-putt now, right?

I've also always joked about other stupid ways to putt that would technically be legal but would look stupid.

For instance, you have a gimme (already marked), and as you walk up to it you do some jukes and dekes then get to the spot and pull up for a fade-away jumper.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-14-2017, 04:53 PM
robdeforge robdeforge is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: VT
Courses Played: 1
Posts: 182
Niced 74 Times in 39 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roggenb3 View Post
^ Well, yeah, obviously I would have to mark it. I assumed I didn't need to explicitly say that part.

As for no points of contact on the lie - just kick with your other foot. Mark it, take a straddle putt stance and place the disc on the foot that's not behind your mini. Legal kick-putt now, right?

I've also always joked about other stupid ways to putt that would technically be legal but would look stupid.

For instance, you have a gimme (already marked), and as you walk up to it you do some jukes and dekes then get to the spot and pull up for a fade-away jumper.
I think you can get some good ideas from this video (never been able to embed YT videos here)
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 07-14-2017, 06:11 PM
kerplunk's Avatar
kerplunk kerplunk is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Red Rock, TX, USA
Years Playing: 10.7
Courses Played: 42
Posts: 1,449
Niced 59 Times in 42 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cgkdisc View Post
I would say "No" to the drop kick and also to another person holding it. Placing the disc on your foot and kicking it would be okay if your other foot/stance was legal. I recall seeing a player (freestyler) loft their disc into the basket off their foot when close enough for a drop-in. I've also seen a freestyler throw a regular Frisbee well with the disc rim pinched between his toes.

I think the proper call others should make when a player throws two discs is to call both practice throws and require player to re-throw one disc as their third throw, assuming the 2-disc throw was made from the tee.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pwingles View Post
is this being interpreted correctly tho? (serious question)
because you are essentially influencing its flight 2 times, which would be illegal otherwise right?

like, you couldnt toss a disc upward, and then punch it forward I wouldnt think
Let's look at it another way. If you are standing behind your lie and drop your disc on the ground, would this be considered a stroke? In most cases I would say no, especially if the disc was dropped behind the lie with no forward momentum, and didn't roll off. So if your kicking foot is behind your lie, and you drop the disc down to your kicking foot, why should that be considered an additional stroke? Assuming your other foot is in the correct position behind your marker.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.