#1  
Old 04-19-2018, 03:55 PM
DESTROYERONE DESTROYERONE is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How far back

I would like to know the ruling on the following. The tee pad is unsafe to use because of water, there are no flags to tee off from the side so the only place would I was wondering how far back I am allow to stand, because there is a long pad 50 feet back and the distance makes no difference to me. Could I stand on that pad?
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2018, 04:05 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 20.9
Courses Played: 143
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 6,717
Niced 2,020 Times in 862 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DESTROYERONE View Post
I would like to know the ruling on the following. The tee pad is unsafe to use because of water, there are no flags to tee off from the side so the only place would I was wondering how far back I am allow to stand, because there is a long pad 50 feet back and the distance makes no difference to me. Could I stand on that pad?
To take casual relief from the tee (due to the water), you'd have to take the first available lie on the line of play behind it. So no, you couldn't go back to the long tee unless the entire 50 feet between it and the short pad are flooded as well.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-20-2018, 10:39 AM
biscoe biscoe is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: spotsylvania, va
Years Playing: 23.5
Courses Played: 94
Posts: 5,844
Niced 886 Times in 417 Posts
Default

Even if the entire 50 feet is flooded you don't get relief from it without penalty unless the TD has declared it so.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-20-2018, 10:51 AM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 44.5
Courses Played: 322
Posts: 4,309
Niced 1,073 Times in 561 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biscoe View Post
Even if the entire 50 feet is flooded you don't get relief from it without penalty unless the TD has declared it so.
Really? Why not?

https://www.pdga.com/rules/official-...isc-golf/80603

Quote:
806.03 Casual Area
Last updated: Sunday, December 31, 2017 - 18:17

A. A casual area is casual water, or any area specifically designated as a casual area by the Director before the round. Casual water is any body of water that is in-bounds, and has not been explicitly declared by the Director to be in play.
B. To obtain relief from a casual area, the player's lie may be relocated to the nearest lie which is farther from the target and is on the line of play, at the nearest point that provides relief (unless greater casual relief is announced by the Director).

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-20-2018, 11:00 AM
biscoe biscoe is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: spotsylvania, va
Years Playing: 23.5
Courses Played: 94
Posts: 5,844
Niced 886 Times in 417 Posts
Default

Quote:
803.02 Relief from Obstacles- A player may obtain relief from the following obstacles that are on or behind the lie: motor vehicles, harmful insects or animals, people, or any item or area as designated by the Director.
Soooo... one more spot where the language in one place seemingly contradicts the language in another... le sigh.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-20-2018, 11:02 AM
d11rok d11rok is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Lebanon, NH
Years Playing: 2.4
Courses Played: 63
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 130
Niced 49 Times in 32 Posts
Default

The onus is on the TD to say that the water is not casual and in fact in play, otherwise it is assumed casual.

Biscoe, I see your point. However, I would not consider casual water as an obstacle (unless of course directed by the TD), since it has its own mention elsewhere in the rules as pasted above. In addition, casual water doesn't provide an obstacle per se to taking a legal stance, whereas obstacles seem to be objects that are either artificially creating an obstacle and not part of the course itself ( vehicles, people, etc), or are potentially harmful (beehives, etc) .

Last edited by d11rok; 04-20-2018 at 11:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-20-2018, 11:20 AM
biscoe biscoe is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: spotsylvania, va
Years Playing: 23.5
Courses Played: 94
Posts: 5,844
Niced 886 Times in 417 Posts
Default

I would not consider it an obstacle either- however i would consider it an "area as designated by the Director". I agree that you guys are correct on the casual water. I would suggest however that for clarity 803.02 should mention it as well.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-20-2018, 11:32 AM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 44.5
Courses Played: 322
Posts: 4,309
Niced 1,073 Times in 561 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biscoe View Post
I would not consider it an obstacle either- however i would consider it an "area as designated by the Director". I agree that you guys are correct on the casual water. I would suggest however that for clarity 803.02 should mention it as well.
Casual water does not need to be designated by the Director for the player to get relief. How could the director possibly know where every little puddle is?

I do think the rules would be more clear if "area" was taken out of the obstacles rule and moved into the Casual Area rule.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-20-2018, 12:18 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 20.9
Courses Played: 143
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 6,717
Niced 2,020 Times in 862 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
Casual water does not need to be designated by the Director for the player to get relief. How could the director possibly know where every little puddle is?

I do think the rules would be more clear if "area" was taken out of the obstacles rule and moved into the Casual Area rule.
The bolded, for sure. Just another example of the Rules Committee re-writing the book in an attempt at clarity and doing just the opposite.

Like I'm sure biscoe did, I looked up the rule when I made the first response to the OP. Initially I was thrown because water was no longer mentioned in the rule pertaining to relief from casual obstacles (803.02)...was water no longer casual by default? Then, oh yeah, new section of the rule book to cover casual "areas" as something different than casual "obstacles" and standing water is now considered an area rather than an obstacle. Confusion could be avoided by completely separating the two by not including the word "area" in the rule regarding casual obstacles.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 04-20-2018, 01:13 PM
JeremyKShort's Avatar
JeremyKShort JeremyKShort is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Cleburne, TX
Years Playing: 6.9
Courses Played: 76
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,038
Niced 24 Times in 14 Posts
Default

If it's a casual round, do what you want. If it's a tournament, the TD should be addressing something like this.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turn Back, Not Reach Back Pymm Technique & Strategy 13 09-15-2016 04:21 PM
Back on the Road Again - Tour Stop #10 (Back in the States) timg Back on the Road Again w/ Dave Feldberg 3 08-21-2015 10:15 PM
Back to Back DD B-tiers. Aug. 27th & 28th DD-Smitty Tournaments & Leagues 0 08-16-2011 07:19 PM
Back-to-Back Aces in Local league dobbins66 General Disc Golf Chat 7 07-29-2010 02:22 PM
1st AND 2nd ace back to back! mmyersdisc General Disc Golf Chat 30 04-02-2009 08:37 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.