#1  
Old 05-15-2019, 05:23 AM
rogatiy rogatiy is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 3
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Hazard, Bushes, Relief

On a course there are bushes that are marked as hazard area.
If my disc has stopped inside of bushes, may I make relief instead of getting into these bushes and throwing from there?

If so, is it one more penalty for relief or is it free?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg p_mI9yxASjQ.jpg (144.2 KB, 63 views)
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-15-2019, 06:09 AM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 24.2
Courses Played: 125
Posts: 14,928
Niced 3,038 Times in 1,366 Posts
Default

Probably not designated a "hazard", as least rules-wise. For a hazard area, you play the disc where it is, and add a stroke penalty.

More likely a "relief area", where you play it as if O.B., but without a penalty stroke.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-15-2019, 07:02 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 21.7
Courses Played: 150
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,547
Niced 3,256 Times in 1,365 Posts
Default

As David suggests, there are some semantic issues in the question that make it difficult to answer with any certainty here. Ultimately, it's a course-specific question best answered by the designer or the TD (in the case of a tournament) rather than a message board.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2019, 09:28 AM
kenjiac's Avatar
kenjiac kenjiac is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Colonie NY
Years Playing: 12.1
Courses Played: 106
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,021
Niced 182 Times in 102 Posts
Default

Normally you must stick a supporting point in the bush and take your shot. You may opt for optional relief with a 1 stroke penalty and replay from your previous lie or take relief on the line of play.

- A player may choose to abandon a their most recent throw by declaring their intention to the group. The abandoned throw and one penalty throw are counted in the player's score, and the player plays from the lie from which the abandoned throw was made. Penalty throws incurred by the abandoned throw are disregarded.


- A player may elect at any time to take optional relief by declaring their intention to the group. The lie may then be relocated by marking a new lie which is farther from the target, and is on the line of play. One penalty throw is added to the player's score.

If the TD or course designer has declared casual relief from that marked bush then you can do the latter without the stroke penalty.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-17-2019, 02:21 AM
araytx araytx is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: DFW
Years Playing: 13.1
Courses Played: 210
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,155
Niced 244 Times in 151 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rogatiy View Post
On a course there are bushes that are marked as hazard area.
If my disc has stopped inside of bushes, may I make relief instead of getting into these bushes and throwing from there?

If so, is it one more penalty for relief or is it free?
It sounds as if your tournament director/course designer/rules maker does not know what "hazard" is disc golf means. It's certainly not intended for an area where a player may not be able to throw from.
Reply With Quote
 

  #6  
Old 05-17-2019, 10:06 AM
Jimb's Avatar
Jimb Jimb is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: WV near Cumberland, MD
Years Playing: 12.5
Courses Played: 106
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,694
Niced 317 Times in 146 Posts
Default

Maybe there is a true, physical hazard and it’s not a “disc golf hazard area.”

Maybe hornets, snakes, poison, stickers?

(Probably not constructive but popped into my head. Sorry.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USDGC "Hazard" Rules - Meter Relief Allowed if "Safe"? klay Rules Questions & Discussion 32 09-26-2015 07:22 AM
Ultimate Hazard?? ScottyLove General Disc Golf Chat 21 05-24-2013 12:18 PM
Hobos: course hazard or new friends? evansr10 General Disc Golf Chat 76 02-23-2010 12:38 PM
Frozen water hazard Troy Jan General Disc Golf Chat 36 01-06-2010 04:02 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.