#1  
Old 04-03-2019, 06:51 PM
araytx araytx is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: DFW
Years Playing: 13.1
Courses Played: 210
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,153
Niced 244 Times in 151 Posts
Default Competition ruling...

Here's the scenario:

First Round of an event. They have two courses on the same property back-to-back. I am second on our hole when I look at the Scorepoint, and our scorecard and rules sheet is there. It is a full tourney with 5 players on each hole - shotgun start.

SO I head out to my starting hole (on the back course #15 -- way out there), so I can get a few warm-up tosses and putts. Several players warming up as there are a couple holes close to one another. When the two minute warning horn is sounded, only 4 of us head to the tee pad of #15. I tell the group, that I know I was second on the card, and each of the others also remembers where they were -- "fourth," "bottom," and "I know I wasn't first so I must have been third" was what else was said. Still only four when the start horn is blown, and I ask again. Everyone is sure of their position on the card, I suggest we keep score on the app and message HQ to let them know what's going on. Everyone agrees. Then we quickly discuss how to proceed from there.

We say to count out the 30 seconds, as the player who is top of card isn't here, and after 30 seconds, he's missed his turn and I will throw. Somebody counts it out, 30 seconds elapses and he's out. I line up, go through my routine and throw. As does #3, and #4. At which time we see another player coming down the fairway motioning us -- "hey, I went to the wrong course by mistake -- I have the card."

What would you DO? [NOTE: this is not hypothetical.]
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-03-2019, 07:06 PM
Sethamphetamine Sethamphetamine is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: MPLS
Posts: 154
Niced 72 Times in 50 Posts
Default

Let it go, let the guy take BOB

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-03-2019, 07:51 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 21.7
Courses Played: 150
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,540
Niced 3,251 Times in 1,365 Posts
Default

Par + 4 for the late player. 811.F.5 is pretty clear about it. Sucks but his time expired and his turn on the tee was lost.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-03-2019, 08:39 PM
teemkey's Avatar
teemkey teemkey is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Courses Played: 39
Posts: 2,489
Niced 467 Times in 211 Posts
Default

In the big picture, a player's position on the first round card is arbitrary; hence I'd give the guy a break.

Specifically, did you know the player? Were you certain he was present and familiar with the course? If, for some reason, the first listed player was not present, then wouldn't the responsibility for picking up the card fall to the 2nd player?

Back to the big picture, it's really unfair that the other players can take off before the cards are distributed and get in more practice throws/putts than the player listed first -- particularly those on the most distant holes.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-03-2019, 08:46 PM
krupicka's Avatar
krupicka krupicka is online now
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Years Playing: 18.2
Courses Played: 67
Posts: 1,249
Niced 236 Times in 128 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teemkey View Post
If, for some reason, the first listed player was not present, then wouldn't the responsibility for picking up the card fall to the 2nd player?
No. Players look at the scoreboard, note they are not first and then walk out to the hole. They are not responsible to stick around tournament central waiting to see if player #1 gets the card.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-04-2019, 12:07 AM
teemkey's Avatar
teemkey teemkey is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Courses Played: 39
Posts: 2,489
Niced 467 Times in 211 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krupicka View Post
No. Players look at the scoreboard, note they are not first and then walk out to the hole. They are not responsible to stick around tournament central waiting to see if player #1 gets the card.
I've played in several tournaments where players in my group didn't show for the 1st hole. Just random what position a name is on the card -- isn't it?

You'd think day of registration would take care of the problem (maybe not you), and it's unclear why they were on the card and not present. Might be night before registration, an emergency phone call, twisting an ankle on the way out ...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-04-2019, 03:34 AM
JoakimBL JoakimBL is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denmark
Years Playing: 8.5
Courses Played: 21
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 618
Niced 50 Times in 32 Posts
Default

Correct according to rule book is par +4 for the first hole, and then he plays from next hole.
However, you asked what I would do, not what the rules say, so s long as the group hasn't left the tee, I would probably let him play and let it be up to the TD to decide in the end. And I f I was the TD, I would rule with the rulebook, if it was just this one player not paying attention.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-04-2019, 07:04 AM
biscoe biscoe is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: spotsylvania, va
Years Playing: 24.2
Courses Played: 94
Posts: 6,393
Niced 1,617 Times in 717 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
Par + 4 for the late player. 811.F.5 is pretty clear about it. Sucks but his time expired and his turn on the tee was lost.
yep... cut and dried.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-04-2019, 07:27 AM
Karl Karl is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 862
Niced 129 Times in 80 Posts
Default

If it's a PDGA sanctioned event (OP didn't specify), what JC said. If not, but the TD said (during the player's meeting) 'we are playing by PDGA rules' or some such, ditto. If neither the above, then probably what Joakim said.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 04-04-2019, 08:03 AM
Horsman's Avatar
Horsman Horsman is offline
Pandamonium Discs
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Years Playing: 13.2
Courses Played: 171
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,239
Niced 645 Times in 298 Posts
Default

It sucks for the player but you have to follow the rules, if you dont then where do you draw the line of what rules you do and dont want to follow.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ruling? Chiefstang Rules Questions & Discussion 19 06-23-2016 07:56 PM
I need a ruling here... BennettUA Rules Questions & Discussion 23 03-06-2015 10:11 AM
Need a ruling AdamE General Disc Golf Chat 34 06-22-2010 12:07 PM
I need a Ruling 1854online General Disc Golf Chat 124 04-23-2010 04:09 PM
Need a ruling... in or not? colodiscgolfer General Disc Golf Chat 25 08-16-2009 12:43 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.