#1  
Old 06-14-2019, 07:52 AM
curmudgeonDwindle curmudgeonDwindle is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: CLT
Years Playing: 40
Courses Played: 20
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 288
Niced 171 Times in 91 Posts
Default Make the Call

Because of ties, 6 players have qualified into a 9-hole final. One hole requires a 350’ carry over a small pond. One player tees off and his drive hits the pond’s opposite side coming to rest dangerously close to the OB pond line. From the tee, this player’s disc is visible, but no player can definitively make a call about his lie - it is in or out?

While the group walks toward everyone’s lies a well-intentioned spectator emerges from the gallery and retrieves this players disc, placing it safely on top of pond edge, near where the normal lie should be. Everyone in the group sees this spectator’s actions.

The group wishes to decide the ruling themselves but cannot immediately come to a consensus on the ruling - 3 say it’s in and 3 say it’s out. What’s the correct call? Why?
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-14-2019, 09:07 AM
cheesethin cheesethin is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Courses Played: 14
Posts: 235
Niced 120 Times in 62 Posts
Default

810.A says the group must determine where the original lie was.

In my opinion, the group could seek info from the spectator (and others) who moved the disc. But the group would also need to judge the veracity and accuracy of the spectators info.

Based on all the info they have, every card member makes an in/out call. If tied decision, benefit to player.

If any card member thinks there is not enough info to base any kind of call on, I reckon that counts as an abstention.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
 

  #3  
Old 06-14-2019, 11:21 AM
Mocheez Mocheez is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: SE Wisconsin
Years Playing: 8.2
Courses Played: 45
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,098
Niced 563 Times in 285 Posts
Default

I think benefit of the doubt would go to the player in this case. From the Q&A...

"Benefit of the doubt only comes into play as a tiebreaker when the group cannot make a decision, for example if two players see the disc as safe and two see it as OB. If a majority of your group thinks it’s OB, then it’s OB." - QA-APP-4

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
YOU make the call!!! tomjulio General Disc Golf Chat 92 08-16-2010 08:10 PM
You make the call. Round 2 Midnightbiker General Disc Golf Chat 19 07-27-2009 09:55 PM
You make the call! Midnightbiker General Disc Golf Chat 39 07-20-2009 01:34 PM
You make the call. Strange DG rules occurances... innova Technique & Strategy 28 05-21-2009 01:10 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.