Old 06-29-2015, 03:33 PM

Years Playing: 4.5
Courses Played: 8
Throwing Style: RHBH
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default When am I ready to go to a higher speed distance driver?

I've been playing 3-5 times a week for a month now and started with a fairway driver champion TL(7,5,0,1). I then moved to a distance driver champion Krait(11,5,-1,2) , and for the last 2 weeks have been using a distance driver champion road runner (9,5,-4,1). I realized I was reading the numbers wrong and that I should choose a smaller number for the turn to help keep my discs straighter while I'm still learning and the road runner has been pretty good for that.

So I've been noticing for the most part I'm starting to get a little more distance the more I throw with the road runner (I throw RHBH). But I'm talking about 250-275 on a good throw. How much longer do I use the road runner before upgrading to a new disc. From what I've read and I'm still pretty new to things, you don't wanna go up to a 13 speed when your first starting out because its teaches bad habits so I don't wanna go to high on speed but feel like the major part of my game that's lacking is the distance piece.

Also if I do go up in speed should I be looking to keep my turn and fade numbers close to the road runner or should I try and go closer to 0. If these sounds like silly questions it's because I'm still new to the sport. I'm wanting to progress my game to the next level but wanna make sure I'm doing it the right way or best practice so to speak.

Any input from seasoned players is appreciated!

Thanks,
- Steve
Sponsored Links
Old 06-29-2015, 03:43 PM
Double Eagle Member

Courses Played: 12
Niced 101 Times in 67 Posts

Honestly, I'd stick with fairways for now. TL is a great disc to start with. Many will suggest the Leopard or cheetah as well. Once your consistently hitting near 300
Old 06-29-2015, 03:57 PM
**SuIciDe AnKles**

Years Playing: 8.2
Courses Played: 528
Niced 743 Times in 319 Posts