Old 01-14-2011, 01:09 AM
* Ace Member *

Years Playing: 11.9
Courses Played: 1173
Throwing Style: RHBH
Niced 78 Times in 35 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to harr0140
Default Poison Ivy

I am curious about everyones opinion of poison ivy on the course.

I had poison ivy when I was a kid once while playing GOLF. SInce I started playing disc golf (2 years ago) I have had cases of poison ivy, oak or sumac, no less than 4 or 5 times. It has progessively gotten worse each time. The last time was almost unbearable and it lasted literally 2 months.

I am wondering what you guys have for experiences in dealing with the parks department about its maintenance or should I say eradication?

I think the parks departments are responsible to take care of the problem, but am wondering about the best way to approach them. If it helps I can certainly justify myself by saying I am a professional landscaper and horticulturist. I could take care of it myself but want to know how I go about getting our local parks departments to take care of the problem. I do not expect them to take care of it on the entire property but think they should be able to take care of it within reasonable distance of the fairways and green areas.

Any input here will be helpful!

Mike
Sponsored Links
Old 01-14-2011, 01:10 AM
Banned

Years Playing: 23.5
Courses Played: 66
Niced 2 Times in 2 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to Apothecary

two words: agent orange.
Old 01-14-2011, 01:16 AM
Double Eagle Member

Years Playing: 10.6
Courses Played: 40
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts

never affected me for some reason..and I know I get in it all the time. My cousin gets it just from being AROUND it...
Old 01-14-2011, 01:22 AM
Eagle Member

Years Playing: 10.8
Courses Played: 20
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts

I got poison sumac whenever I first started playing disc golf... Not a fun experience. It lasted for about a month. But, I havent gotten it since
Old 01-14-2011, 01:32 AM
Double Eagle Member

Years Playing: 11.5