Go Back   Disc Golf Course Review > Equipment > Discs

Old 11-03-2015, 11:11 PM

Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Need help picking a long distance driver

I started playing disc golf in 1990. I played for many years and then stopped. I have come back to disc golf but my disc are very old. I used to throw a viper which I could throw around 300-330ft. I am assuming there are more modern disc that fly much further. I do not know what to pick for maximum distance. Thanks!!!
Sponsored Links
Old 11-03-2015, 11:27 PM
* Ace Member *

Years Playing: 8.8
Courses Played: 180
Throwing Style: LHBH
Niced 68 Times in 54 Posts

Things have come a long way. Maybe try somthing like a beast or a thunderbird. But the distance driver of choice for most is the destroyer.
Old 11-03-2015, 11:48 PM
Salient/Yikun Groupie

Years Playing: 8.2
Courses Played: 74
Throwing Style: RHFH
Niced 1,147 Times in 743 Posts

What discs do you throw and how far can you throw them?

That will help determine what you will be able to throw the farthest.

If you can still throw the old Viper over 350 I'd try out a Wraith or a Tresspass. You will be able get some D.
Old 11-03-2015, 11:51 PM
Double Eagle Member

Years Playing: 9.9
Courses Played: 20
Throwing Style: RHBH
Niced 7 Times in 7 Posts

You haven't thrown a disc in 15+ years and you want distance driver advice?

Too hard to recommend a disc not knowing what your currently capable of. Try a Leopard, Teebird and a Valkyrie and see how they fly for you for a while. When you get warmed up again you'll probably get better advice when you report back and the discs are usable to most power levels so it won't be a waste of money.
Old 11-04-2015, 06:33 AM
* Ace Member *

Years Playing: 50.2
Courses Played: 4
Niced 168 Times in 109 Posts