Old 12-29-2019, 05:05 AM
Birdie Member

Years Playing: 15.8
Courses Played: 413
Throwing Style: RHBH
Niced 308 Times in 161 Posts
Default Learning forehand after 30

I've been playing for over 15 years now. I play quite a bit but have never really "clicked" throwing forehand. I dabble with it from time to time and can throw upshots decent enough, for me at least. My question is whether I should even try to improve this next year. I'll be 36, so I'm not that old, but I've been throwing backhand the whole time. When I first started I used to throw thumbers all the time. Now I throw them ONLY when I have to. I feel like I've seen a lot threads on here about sidearm/forehand soreness from members who've been playing a long time. Is this something that I'd be advised not even getting into at this point. I throw annys pretty good but having a forehand has it's benefits as well. Looking for thoughts from the 35 and over crowd?
Sponsored Links

Niced: (1)
Old 12-29-2019, 06:18 AM
Double Eagle Member

Years Playing: 6.6
Courses Played: 22
Niced 1,716 Times in 750 Posts

Go for it, but learn how to do it properly.

Never mind all that "you need a firebird" crap. Lead with your elbow, stop all those unnecessary big wild arm swing reach-backs and learn to feel the snap in your wrist/fingers. Start slow and learn to flick understable stuff and not roll your wrist. Watch Big Jerm and Gregg Barsby, they have no massive shoulder torquing wind ups.

I teach quite a few neewbies and I always start with an Aviar P&A just to get them to slow down and feel the snap. We'll play catch and I'm always amazed at how easy they pick it up and how far we spread apart when we're done.

Sidewinder22 had a video out, maybe he'll pop on and give a link.

I started throwing sidearms 2 years ago (I'm 58). It has changed my game and I'm noticing no added pains. I can throw a Hyzer-flip forehand 300ft with a Roadrunner.

Best of luck.

Old 12-29-2019, 07:28 AM
Eagle Member

Courses Played: 8