#121  
Old 05-21-2018, 06:03 PM
ToddL ToddL is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Greenville, SC
Years Playing: 22.5
Courses Played: 118
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 858
Niced 224 Times in 106 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazerface View Post
I may be in a very tiny minority but I just Dont like Dela. Such a lucky course with weird lines, but not in a good way.
On any other course the roots and stumps and hardpan and thick brambles inside the circle would be viewed as negatives. At Dela it's "awwwww you just got DeLa'd, bro!!" and everyone claps about it.
Sponsored Links

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old 05-21-2018, 06:16 PM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 44.6
Courses Played: 322
Posts: 4,357
Niced 1,109 Times in 576 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
..I think this just illustrates the one flaw in the stance violation rules...that you keep the result from the illegal stance. Should still be a re-throw + penalty IMO.
Throwing two or three?
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old 05-21-2018, 06:40 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 21
Courses Played: 144
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 6,736
Niced 2,047 Times in 874 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
Throwing two or three?
I believe in discarding the result of the illegal stance no matter what, so if you foot fault on the tee, you'd re-tee throwing two.

Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old 05-21-2018, 06:55 PM
Major Tomahawk Major Tomahawk is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Manteca, CA
Posts: 591
Niced 229 Times in 90 Posts
Default

My interpretation of the new rules has me believing that there are no more re-tees. It's a one-throw penalty from wherever your disc lands. So Ricky had two separate penalties on one throw.
A miss-tee is the same as a foot-fault. Beueller???
Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old 05-21-2018, 07:00 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 21
Courses Played: 144
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 6,736
Niced 2,047 Times in 874 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Major Tomahawk View Post
My interpretation of the new rules has me believing that there are no more re-tees. It's a one-throw penalty from wherever your disc lands. So Ricky had two separate penalties on one throw.
A miss-tee is the same as a foot-fault. Beueller???
Yes, the new rules are that there are no more re-throws. It is a one-throw penalty and you play the disc as is. I was only expressing my opinion that I don't like that particular aspect of the rule change.

So Ricky foot faulted and the throw landed in a hazard (one where you play it as it lies with a penalty). He took two separate penalties for it, but by rule he should have only taken one.
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old 05-21-2018, 07:24 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 29.7
Courses Played: 668
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 11,752
Niced 941 Times in 476 Posts
Default

As a cross check, you can see Ricky indicated two penalties on hole 15 in the UDisc stats.
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 05-21-2018, 07:28 PM
krupicka's Avatar
krupicka krupicka is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Years Playing: 17.5
Courses Played: 67
Posts: 1,180
Niced 161 Times in 92 Posts
Default

QA-OB-6: A player in my group foot-faulted and was called on it (and seconded). His throw went OB. Does he get a warning, a penalty, or two penalties?
A player’s first stance violation results in a penalty throw. In this case, there were multiple violations. Normally, the first violation to occur is the one that counts. In this case, that’s the foot fault (though it doesn’t really matter as it’s one penalty throw either way). There’s no re-throw, so the disc is played as OB. Since a player cannot receive penalty throws for multiple violations on a single throw, there’s just one penalty throw.
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 05-21-2018, 07:29 PM
Royalhghnss's Avatar
Royalhghnss Royalhghnss is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Courses Played: 51
Posts: 1,138
Niced 1,043 Times in 227 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
Yes, the new rules are that there are no more re-throws. It is a one-throw penalty and you play the disc as is. I was only expressing my opinion that I don't like that particular aspect of the rule change.

So Ricky foot faulted and the throw landed in a hazard (one where you play it as it lies with a penalty). He took two separate penalties for it, but by rule he should have only taken one.
I realize this is 100% ridiculous. But couldn't you start your runup behind your disc, and just keep running until you're next to the basket, drop it in, and then be assessed a one stroke penalty, but your make counts?

I'm clearly overlooking something. Help me out here internet.

Niced: (4)
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 05-21-2018, 07:31 PM
Royalhghnss's Avatar
Royalhghnss Royalhghnss is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Courses Played: 51
Posts: 1,138
Niced 1,043 Times in 227 Posts
Default

In non-rules news. Round 2 part 2 will be out when youtube gets its **** together. Round 3 later this evening (Zoe stepped in for Kona who had to travel early).


Last edited by Royalhghnss; 05-21-2018 at 07:31 PM. Reason: grammar
Reply With Quote
 

  #130  
Old 05-21-2018, 07:37 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 29.7
Courses Played: 668
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 11,752
Niced 941 Times in 476 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Royalhghnss View Post
I realize this is 100% ridiculous. But couldn't you start your runup behind your disc, and just keep running until you're next to the basket, drop it in, and then be assessed a one stroke penalty, but your make counts?

I'm clearly overlooking something. Help me out here internet.
I think Misplay 811-B applies here. You would technically be playing from the wrong lie since you didn't really take the stance prior to releasing the disc until right at the basket even though you started your run-up on your lie. If your group corrected you before continuing to next hole, you could come back and make a correct throw from your lie and get a one shot penalty. If your group thought that was a legit move and an official later discovered you did this misplay then you get the 2-shot penalty.

Niced: (2)

Last edited by Cgkdisc; 05-21-2018 at 07:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SPOILER(?) - foot fault & hazard penalty, Santa Cruz Masters Cup cheesethin Rules Questions & Discussion 36 06-22-2018 03:49 PM
Santa Cruz to Santa Rosa fishmich Vacations & Road Trips 4 02-22-2015 04:27 PM
Santa Cruz Masters Cup discs 1984-2004 ATrainWecker The Marketplace 1 08-29-2012 12:25 AM
2012 masters cup in santa cruz freakinwizzz Tournaments & Leagues 21 05-02-2012 08:23 PM
Portland to Santa Cruz TimMcD Vacations & Road Trips 17 03-31-2010 02:47 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.