#51  
Old 06-16-2017, 08:42 AM
roggenb3's Avatar
roggenb3 roggenb3 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Madtown
Years Playing: 11.1
Courses Played: 91
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,704
Niced 156 Times in 106 Posts
Default

Random question - didn't want to make a whole new thread, so I just found one related to bridges.

Lets say you have a tee shot that follows a river for 250' or so, where a good shot is over the water the whole way.

Landing in the water is OB, but if you happen to land on one of the 2 or 3 bridges, you are safe.

My question is, if you go in the water, can you take your lie from the last bridge you crossed? I mean, if the bridges are IB, then that's technically the last place you were in, correct?
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 06-16-2017, 08:51 AM
biscoe biscoe is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: spotsylvania, va
Years Playing: 22.2
Courses Played: 93
Posts: 5,153
Niced 156 Times in 99 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roggenb3 View Post
Random question - didn't want to make a whole new thread, so I just found one related to bridges.

Lets say you have a tee shot that follows a river for 250' or so, where a good shot is over the water the whole way.

Landing in the water is OB, but if you happen to land on one of the 2 or 3 bridges, you are safe.

My question is, if you go in the water, can you take your lie from the last bridge you crossed? I mean, if the bridges are IB, then that's technically the last place you were in, correct?
sure- why wouldn't it be?
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 06-16-2017, 09:06 AM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is online now
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 28.3
Courses Played: 648
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 10,925
Niced 261 Times in 152 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roggenb3 View Post
Random question - didn't want to make a whole new thread, so I just found one related to bridges.

Lets say you have a tee shot that follows a river for 250' or so, where a good shot is over the water the whole way.

Landing in the water is OB, but if you happen to land on one of the 2 or 3 bridges, you are safe.

My question is, if you go in the water, can you take your lie from the last bridge you crossed? I mean, if the bridges are IB, then that's technically the last place you were in, correct?
Yes. A good example is the last hole at Sandy Point where you throw over the lake to the pin on a peninsula while flying over a dock extending into the lake. If you land in the lake past the dock, you can play from the dock or re-throw.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 06-16-2017, 09:14 AM
roggenb3's Avatar
roggenb3 roggenb3 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Madtown
Years Playing: 11.1
Courses Played: 91
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,704
Niced 156 Times in 106 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biscoe View Post
sure- why wouldn't it be?
I don't know, I assumed it would be. But I have definitely seen people not realize this and take a lie on ground way further back than they could have on a bridge.

When you know a creek or river is OB, I think folks tend to think of everything between the shorelines as OB.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 06-16-2017, 10:20 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 19.6
Courses Played: 135
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 5,399
Niced 354 Times in 176 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roggenb3 View Post
I don't know, I assumed it would be. But I have definitely seen people not realize this and take a lie on ground way further back than they could have on a bridge.

When you know a creek or river is OB, I think folks tend to think of everything between the shorelines as OB.
That's because everything between the shorelines, including bridges, can be OB depending on how the OB area is described or delineated.

For example, if OB is described as "in the river/water" then it's easy to say that a bridge over the water would be in-bounds as it was not designated as part of the OB. But if, rather than using the water line, the river is marked with paint or rope and OB is defined as within the marked area, then I'd argue that a bridge within the roped/painted area is a part of the OB area.

There should be no assumption either way, IMO. That's why it's so important for TDs and course designers to be absolutely clear about what is and isn't OB rather than give vague or generalized descriptions. And players, if they have any doubts, should ask for clarification rather than assume something based on a past experience, likely on a different course with different people in charge of making rulings.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 06-16-2017, 10:34 AM
araytx araytx is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: DFW
Years Playing: 11
Courses Played: 172
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,735
Niced 58 Times in 39 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
That's because everything between the shorelines, including bridges, can be OB depending on how the OB area is described or delineated.

For example, if OB is described as "in the river/water" then it's easy to say that a bridge over the water would be in-bounds as it was not designated as part of the OB. But if, rather than using the water line, the river is marked with paint or rope and OB is defined as within the marked area, then I'd argue that a bridge within the roped/painted area is a part of the OB area.

There should be no assumption either way, IMO. That's why it's so important for TDs and course designers to be absolutely clear about what is and isn't OB rather than give vague or generalized descriptions. And players, if they have any doubts, should ask for clarification rather than assume something based on a past experience, likely on a different course with different people in charge of making rulings.
True. Exactly why the expression "water is OB" without further definition/explanation is usually a poor definition of OB line(s). When it's roped or painted, it's much clearer as to what's OB.
Reply With Quote
 

  #57  
Old 06-16-2017, 01:36 PM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 22.1
Courses Played: 124
Posts: 12,560
Niced 416 Times in 236 Posts
Default

At our course we declared all bridges I.B., specifically for this "throwing over the bridge" scenario. There's a water carry hole that isn't too long, but if you throw wrong just right, you can cross a bridge and continue OB for quite a ways. We made the bridge IB so you wouldn't have to re-tee if that happened. (I don't know if I've ever seen anyone actually land on a bridge here).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.