#21  
Old 07-21-2018, 12:46 AM
roblee roblee is offline
Bogey Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 78
Niced 17 Times in 13 Posts
Default

I can't see how the "guy" can be penalized or required to re-throw for throwing from a lie that was determined by the card. Everyone agreed to the lie so no reason to consider a provisional. After the throw its clear the card was wrong but oh well.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-21-2018, 12:56 AM
BlazedOrangeHat's Avatar
BlazedOrangeHat BlazedOrangeHat is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NorCal
Years Playing: 10
Courses Played: 125
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 171
Niced 85 Times in 28 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roblee View Post
I can't see how the "guy" can be penalized or required to re-throw for throwing from a lie that was determined by the card. Everyone agreed to the lie so no reason to consider a provisional. After the throw its clear the card was wrong but oh well.

the only reason the card agreed on a lie was because that was the next step AFTER the "guy" wrongly confirmed to the card that his disc was found. the card didn't tell him that was his disc...
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-21-2018, 08:23 AM
DoWork DoWork is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Courses Played: 5
Posts: 219
Niced 127 Times in 74 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtho View Post
The more I think about it the more i am sure he would be throwing 3 from his lie if found or 4 from the tee.

If his disc is found then he gets one from the tee and a misplay penalty so lying 2 throwing 3

if lost it is matter of semantics and if you wanna argue that the "misplay" and the tee shot are one action and the misplay doesnt count because you never changed your lie fine you win that but rule 809.03 says

A practice throw is any throw that is not made as a competitive attempt to change the lie, except for a throw that is made either to set aside an unused disc or to return a disc to a player and that travels less than five meters in the air. A drop is not a practice throw. Practice throws are disregarded.

A player receives one penalty throw for making a practice throw.

Convince me that the throw you made from under the tree was a throw to set aside a disc and was less than 5 meters. NOPE that was a "throw not made as a competitive attempt to change your lie" this was your argument not mine so do you want +1 for a misplay or +1 for a practice throw to go on top of your +1 for losing your disc?

It’s threads like this that make me want to throw my TV across the room every time Trevor blatantly foot faults while being filmed.

Sticklers everywhere but where you need them! Lol.
Reply With Quote
 

  #24  
Old 07-21-2018, 04:28 PM
krupicka's Avatar
krupicka krupicka is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Years Playing: 17.1
Courses Played: 67
Posts: 1,122
Niced 100 Times in 60 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roblee View Post
I can't see how the "guy" can be penalized or required to re-throw for throwing from a lie that was determined by the card. Everyone agreed to the lie so no reason to consider a provisional. After the throw its clear the card was wrong but oh well.
We have had entire cards throw from the wrong tee. Everyone agreed to the lie so no reason to consider a provisional. At the end of the round its clear the card was wrong but oh well.

A misplay is a misplay, people.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.