#1  
Old 11-30-2018, 05:36 PM
DESTROYERONE DESTROYERONE is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 11
Niced 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Is it legal

Played in Ohio doubles and wonder if this is legal. Player A tees off and then runs down the fairway to see if his disc is in good place before partner tees off.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-30-2018, 05:40 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is online now
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 31.2
Courses Played: 704
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 12,519
Niced 1,990 Times in 879 Posts
Default

Only if he can run and check before his partner throws within the roughly 30 seconds available.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-30-2018, 05:44 PM
IHearChains IHearChains is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Years Playing: 16
Courses Played: 173
Posts: 641
Niced 192 Times in 88 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cgkdisc View Post
Only if he can run and check before his partner throws within the roughly 30 seconds available.
distraction, someone's running in the fairway...restart the count
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-30-2018, 05:48 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is online now
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 31.2
Courses Played: 704
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 12,519
Niced 1,990 Times in 879 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IHearChains View Post
distraction, someone's running in the fairway...restart the count
Not when your partner or caddie is the distraction.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-30-2018, 06:01 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 22.4
Courses Played: 152
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,964
Niced 3,975 Times in 1,639 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IHearChains View Post
distraction, someone's running in the fairway...restart the count
No such thing as "restarting" the count.

Now if the first player can get off the tee and down the fairway fast enough that the second player's 30 seconds can't really start because his field is not clear and free of distractions, then you might have something.

Chuck's right though. A doubles team is, for the purposes of the rules, one player. So I don't think one's partner being down the fairway counts as a true "distraction". I think on a truly blind hole, I might allow for one partner to scout out the throw before the other throws, but only if the favor is reciprocated and only if it's limited to that hole/shot. It can't be a habitual thing or the round would take forever.

In fact, in the instance of a blind throw, I'd be more inclined to send one player ahead to spot for everyone (and come back to throw last) rather than have people running up and down the fairway on every throw.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-01-2018, 11:57 AM
Dan Ensor's Avatar
Dan Ensor Dan Ensor is offline
Sophomore
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Paris, MO
Years Playing: 10.3
Courses Played: 62
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,497
Niced 101 Times in 70 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
No such thing as "restarting" the count.
There isn't? If a car comes by while I'm at my lie, I don't get 30 seconds after it's gone? I only get the 30 seconds from the first instance of no distractions?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-01-2018, 12:01 PM
lines's Avatar
lines lines is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Asheville NC
Courses Played: 35
Posts: 972
Niced 754 Times in 375 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Ensor View Post
There isn't? If a car comes by while I'm at my lie, I don't get 30 seconds after it's gone? I only get the 30 seconds from the first instance of no distractions?
I feel if that was the case you could make an argument for anything being a distraction.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-01-2018, 12:08 PM
Jay Dub's Avatar
Jay Dub Jay Dub is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SW Ohio
Years Playing: 40.2
Courses Played: 95
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 5,366
Niced 1,600 Times in 617 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to Jay Dub
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lines View Post
I feel if that was the case you could make an argument for anything being a distraction.
The Jim Akins rule.

Not sure if there's such a thing but if there was this rule would apply.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-01-2018, 12:23 PM
Dan Ensor's Avatar
Dan Ensor Dan Ensor is offline
Sophomore
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Paris, MO
Years Playing: 10.3
Courses Played: 62
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,497
Niced 101 Times in 70 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lines View Post
I feel if that was the case you could make an argument for anything being a distraction.
I'm not seeing any PDGA definition of distraction. Probably up to the card to determine.

For the sake of argument, consider the car isn't a distraction, but driving on a road in the fairway. That one's cut and dry enough that the playing area isn't clear.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 12-01-2018, 12:29 PM
krupicka's Avatar
krupicka krupicka is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Years Playing: 18.9
Courses Played: 72
Posts: 1,316
Niced 304 Times in 167 Posts
Default

Lets' review the rule:
Quote:
A player has taken excessive time if they are present and have not thrown within 30 seconds after:
The previous player has thrown; and,
They have had a reasonable amount of time to arrive at and determine the lie; and,
They are next in the throwing order; and,
The playing area is clear and free of distractions.
The 30 seconds starts AFTER all of the above. So yes, the 30 seconds restarts if the playing area is not clear and free of distractions.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this shoe DG legal? jenb Rules Questions & Discussion 24 08-09-2016 05:15 PM
Legal or not? VINCENT25149 Rules Questions & Discussion 39 04-11-2013 10:51 AM
Is this legal? Kaikias Rules Questions & Discussion 4 03-19-2012 03:43 PM
Is this shot legal? netposer General Disc Golf Chat 72 06-20-2011 07:01 AM
Is my basket legal great white buffalo General Disc Golf Chat 10 10-06-2010 08:20 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.