#11  
Old 07-18-2016, 05:13 PM
JeremyKShort's Avatar
JeremyKShort JeremyKShort is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Cleburne, TX
Years Playing: 7.2
Courses Played: 78
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,040
Niced 31 Times in 17 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by araytx View Post
Absolutely legal.

I know I am being persnickety, (please don't call me "that guy"), but the expression "behind your lie" is not accurate. I guess it's like "irregardless" and "I could care less" to me. (that's called intentionally inviting comments that use these expressions.)

When making a throw from a legal stance when must be in contact with the lie, or more precisely, ON the lie -- which is behind the marker disc (or thrown disc when used as a marker.) I think I know what you all mean, it's just one of those things to me. See attachments.

Already apologizing.
One supporting point has to be in contact with the lie, or within a foot or so of the lie. The others can be anywhere you want, as long as not closer to the basket than the lie. So those points are behind the lie, albeit often to the sides and behind.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-18-2016, 05:17 PM
araytx araytx is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: DFW
Years Playing: 12.7
Courses Played: 192
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,065
Niced 187 Times in 120 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeremyKShort View Post
One supporting point has to be in contact with the lie, or within a foot or so of the lie. The others can be anywhere you want, as long as not closer to the basket than the lie. So those points are behind the lie, albeit often to the sides and behind.
Yes, in that context true. All OTHER supporting points must be no closer than the rear edge of the marker as well, whether or not those are on the lie. So yes, technically they are behind as well. I meant to have the pic attach to illustrate.
Sorry. My pic didn't attach before. Try this:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Lie- Marker Illustration BOTH disc and mini.jpg (44.9 KB, 31 views)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-19-2016, 09:22 AM
ToddL ToddL is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Greenville, SC
Years Playing: 22.8
Courses Played: 119
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 878
Niced 245 Times in 115 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeremyKShort View Post
One supporting point has to be in contact with the lie, or within a foot or so of the lie. The others can be anywhere you want, as long as not closer to the basket than the lie. So those points are behind the lie, albeit often to the sides and behind.
The pedantic/persnickity point is that the bold portion is not correct. Per PDGA rule 800.02, the Lie "is a line 30 centimeters in length extending back along the line of play from the rear edge of the marker disc."

When you're talking about taking a stance, you can either say:
1) One supporting point has to be within about a foot behind your marker
or 2) One supporting point has to be on your lie
but you should never say one supporting point has to be within a foot of your lie.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-19-2016, 09:26 AM
Aim For The Chains's Avatar
Aim For The Chains Aim For The Chains is offline
FROLF OFF!
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: MINNESOTA
Years Playing: 10.8
Courses Played: 134
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 17,053
Niced 1,072 Times in 721 Posts
Default

With no on calling even obvious foot faults i doubt anyone will notice the .5 cm when saying a "foot" lol. I mean yeah I get it but the point ia pretty clear.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-19-2016, 09:29 AM
ToddL ToddL is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Greenville, SC
Years Playing: 22.8
Courses Played: 119
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 878
Niced 245 Times in 115 Posts
Default

I hardly care about the difference between 30cm and 12 inches. That wasn't the point I was trying to make. "About a foot" is fine by me, but "behind the lie" is not a legal statement. You must be ON the lie.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-19-2016, 09:51 AM
araytx araytx is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: DFW
Years Playing: 12.7
Courses Played: 192
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,065
Niced 187 Times in 120 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToddL View Post
I hardly care about the difference between 30cm and 12 inches. That wasn't the point I was trying to make. "About a foot" is fine by me, but "behind the lie" is not a legal statement. You must be ON the lie.
Exactly
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-19-2016, 10:49 AM
sidewinder22's Avatar
sidewinder22 sidewinder22 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Creeping Creek DGC
Years Playing: 12.7
Courses Played: 219
Posts: 14,073
Niced 2,186 Times in 1,368 Posts
Default

You can't be on the lie, that is your disc/marker and would be a foot fault. You must have one support behind the lie within 30cm and inline to the target.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-19-2016, 11:10 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 21.2
Courses Played: 144
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,047
Niced 2,543 Times in 1,065 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidewinder22 View Post
You can't be on the lie, that is your disc/marker and would be a foot fault. You must have one support behind the lie within 30cm and inline to the target.
Reading 101: Todd posted the PDGA rule book definition of lie. The lie "is a line 30 centimeters in length extending back along the line of play from the rear edge of the marker disc." The lie is behind the marker, not the marker itself.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-19-2016, 11:24 AM
sidewinder22's Avatar
sidewinder22 sidewinder22 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Creeping Creek DGC
Years Playing: 12.7
Courses Played: 219
Posts: 14,073
Niced 2,186 Times in 1,368 Posts
Default

Eh funky definitions that must be looked up. My initial reply was more accurate description:
Quote:
Originally Posted by sidewinder22 View Post
One of those supporting points must be directly inline behind your marker to the target within 30cm
Reply With Quote
 

  #20  
Old 07-19-2016, 01:23 PM
Dan Ensor's Avatar
Dan Ensor Dan Ensor is offline
Sophomore
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Paris, MO
Years Playing: 9.1
Courses Played: 62
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,456
Niced 82 Times in 59 Posts
Default

How solid does something have to be to support you? Tree can but grass can't, right? What about limbs? Or bushes?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The "rip point" FDG4Ever Technique & Strategy 13 12-26-2013 01:21 PM
PURPLE URPLE "ROC3" PROTO STAR 180g "rainbow stamp" beautiful disc , check IT Emoney The Marketplace 6 01-04-2013 08:31 PM
What's the point of "an athletic run-up?" Apoth Technique & Strategy 30 02-16-2010 11:47 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.