#1  
Old 09-02-2011, 11:41 PM
araytx araytx is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: DFW
Years Playing: 12.6
Courses Played: 192
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,058
Niced 182 Times in 118 Posts
Default "island" hole

Chuck, or someone,

Please correct me if I am wrong. There is nothing in the rules called an "island" hole. Basically what we commonly refer to as an island hole (including peninsulas, mando across, etc) are holes that the course designer or TD state you must land in this specific are or you're OB -- the "island", if you will (in most cases) designates inbounds and (usually) e everything else is OB. To me it's always been a sort of "mando IN" by the rules.

Now please don't misunderstand...I always totally get what they mean. Hole #X is a mando island. If you don't finish on the island then you go to the drop zone -- I get it. Now what happened to me recently was a long discussion and luckily for me our TD had announced it after someone brought it up. On a "peninsula" hole, I played the safe route off the tee. Then on my second shot, got a little too aggressive on the approach, and my shot hits about 15' past the basket, catches an edge and rolls away -- only to be found in the drink.

As I go to putt from where it went out, marking my 1-meter relief, someone begins to point out that I have to go to the drop zone. I said no, that wasn't my drive, it was my second shot. After only am few minutes I recalled that the TD had said during meeting that on the three such holes, it reverts to regular OB rules after the first shot

My question, though, is what if he hadn't. When a TD announces an "island" hole ... typically everyone knownwhat that mean in terms of OB/IB, but what about how to play it. Assuming the TD only says "Hole-#X is an island hole", how do you play a second shot hitting perfectly on the island, but rolling OB? Or how do you play drive that hits inbounds right under the basket then catches an edge and rolls OB ? Other similR scenarios. What do the rules say is the default? drop zone, regular OB rules, or player's choice?
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-02-2011, 11:49 PM
araytx araytx is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: DFW
Years Playing: 12.6
Courses Played: 192
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,058
Niced 182 Times in 118 Posts
Default Ruling on "island" holes (and similar)

Chuck, or someone,

Please correct me if I am wrong. There is nothing in the rules called an "island" hole. Basically what we commonly refer to as an island hole (including peninsulas, mando across, etc) are holes that the course designer or TD state you must land in this specific are or you're OB -- the "island", if you will (in most cases) designates inbounds and (usually) e everything else is OB. To me it's always been a sort of "mando IN" by the rules.*

Now please don't misunderstand...I always totally get what they mean. Hole #X is a mando island. If you don't finish on the island then you go to the drop zone -- I get it. Now what happened to me recently was a long discussion and luckily for me our TD had announced it after someone brought it up. On a "peninsula" hole, I played the safe route off the tee. Then on my second shot, got a little too aggressive on the approach, and my shot hits about 15' past the basket, catches an edge and rolls away -- only to be found in the drink.

As I go to putt from where it went out, marking my 1-meter relief, someone begins to point out that I have to go to the drop zone. I said no, that wasn't my drive, it was my second shot. After only a few minutes I recalled that the TD had said during meeting that on the three such holes, it reverts to regular OB rules after the first shot

My question, though, is what if he hadn't. When a TD announces an "island" hole ... typically everyone knows what that means in terms of OB/IB, but what about how to play it? Assuming the TD only says "Hole-#X is an island hole", how do you play a second shot hitting perfectly on the island, but rolling OB? Or how do you play drive that hits inbounds right under the basket then catches an edge and rolls OB ? Other similar scenarios? What do the rules say is the default? drop zone, regular OB rules, or player's choice?



Quote:
Originally Posted by araytx View Post
Chuck, or someone,

Please correct me if I am wrong. There is nothing in the rules called an "island" hole. Basically what we commonly refer to as an island hole (including peninsulas, mando across, etc) are holes that the course designer or TD state you must land in this specific are or you're OB -- the "island", if you will (in most cases) designates inbounds and (usually) e everything else is OB. To me it's always been a sort of "mando IN" by the rules.

Now please don't misunderstand...I always totally get what they mean. Hole #X is a mando island. If you don't finish on the island then you go to the drop zone -- I get it. Now what happened to me recently was a long discussion and luckily for me our TD had announced it after someone brought it up. On a "peninsula" hole, I played the safe route off the tee. Then on my second shot, got a little too aggressive on the approach, and my shot hits about 15' past the basket, catches an edge and rolls away -- only to be found in the drink.

As I go to putt from where it went out, marking my 1-meter relief, someone begins to point out that I have to go to the drop zone. I said no, that wasn't my drive, it was my second shot. After only am few minutes I recalled that the TD had said during meeting that on the three such holes, it reverts to regular OB rules after the first shot

My question, though, is what if he hadn't. When a TD announces an "island" hole ... typically everyone knownwhat that mean in terms of OB/IB, but what about how to play it. Assuming the TD only says "Hole-#X is an island hole", how do you play a second shot hitting perfectly on the island, but rolling OB? Or how do you play drive that hits inbounds right under the basket then catches an edge and rolls OB ? Other similR scenarios. What do the rules say is the default? drop zone, regular OB rules, or player's choice?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-02-2011, 11:50 PM
atl scott's Avatar
atl scott atl scott is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: under a homemade fort of condors
Years Playing: 13.8
Courses Played: 189
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,425
Niced 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I think these are generally a course-specific style of rule. It should be stated clearly if you "have to" use a drop zone and on which shots you have to. Otherwise the drop zone should be considered an option and you still have the typical OB options to play from as well.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-03-2011, 12:07 AM
olemiss5931's Avatar
olemiss5931 olemiss5931 is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The Sip
Courses Played: 46
Posts: 751
Niced 21 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Same thing happened in a tournament in Memphis last weekend. The TD stated before the tournament even started that he knew that this would happen and he wanted to be clear. Your teeshot has to land in the island. If not you throw from the drop zone until you do land in the island. Any shot that goes OB after you land in the island is played one meter in as a normal OB.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-03-2011, 12:15 AM
atl scott's Avatar
atl scott atl scott is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: under a homemade fort of condors
Years Playing: 13.8
Courses Played: 189
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,425
Niced 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olemiss5931 View Post
Your ...shot has to land in the island. If not you throw from the drop zone until you do land in the island. Any shot that goes OB after you land (safely) in the island is played one meter in as a normal OB.
I think this is commonly how island holes are played, FWIW.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-03-2011, 12:20 AM
Garret H's Avatar
Garret H Garret H is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 250
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

My club just put one in at our local course during a redesign. The pin is located inside a circle that is marked off with wood ties and groundcover. There is one tee, the disc must land inside the circle. If you miss, you must take your next shot (throwing 3) from the designated drop-in marker. If your drop shot does not land in bounds, but you do cross the circle, you take your next shot (throwing 5 ) from the point where it went out.

Garret
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-03-2011, 01:14 AM
DocHaole's Avatar
DocHaole DocHaole is offline
Bogey Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Laguna Hills, CA
Years Playing: 11.6
Courses Played: 79
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 67
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I play 2 island holes in local tourneys. And the rules can be tricky.

La Mirada Back #6 - it's a legitimate par 4, I think +600' with a lot of OB. The rules play that there is a drop zone if you are OB on your first throw. From there you mark from where you went OB. So if you shoot for the island and land short then you mark back on the other side, but if you fly over the back then you can mark from where it went off the back of the island (unless of course that was your first shot).

The reasoning here is that the island is ridiculously small. It is a 50' long strip but only 8' wide.

The other hole is Whittier Narrows #10 which is a relatively short par 3 that plays to a small square of grass in the middle of a parking lot. They play that if you pass over the island in the air and go out you can mark from island. Again this island is tiny. Although it is symmetrical it is still smaller than the 10m circle.

So both of these holes you don't even have to scrape a blade of grass on the way OB to get the mark on the island.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-03-2011, 01:44 AM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 30
Courses Played: 669
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 11,873
Niced 1,145 Times in 545 Posts
Default

You always have the default options for your next lie after going OB except when the options are restricted by the TD. If the TD simply says a hole is an island hole, that doesn't have any restrictive meanings on what to do if you go OB UNLESS the TD actually specifies the common restriction that you must retee or sometimes there's a drop zone.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-03-2011, 05:31 AM
bergdawg bergdawg is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Greenville
Years Playing: 13.1
Courses Played: 30
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,191
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cgkdisc View Post
You always have the default options for your next lie after going OB except when the options are restricted by the TD. If the TD simply says a hole is an island hole, that doesn't have any restrictive meanings on what to do if you go OB UNLESS the TD actually specifies the common restriction that you must retee or sometimes there's a drop zone.
What about Re-teeing? Can you just play it as a lost disc and shoot for three from the tee? It'd be silly to do so, since there's a drop zone. I'm sure the question gets brought up a lot since most drop-zones are better than the tee.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 09-03-2011, 09:33 AM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 30
Courses Played: 669
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 11,873
Niced 1,145 Times in 545 Posts
Default

You can always use the Optional Rethrow rule 803.06 at any time to play from your previous lie with a one-throw penalty if you don't like the drop zone.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you feel about "Island Holes"? cjrogus General Disc Golf Chat 123 01-23-2014 12:17 AM
PURPLE URPLE "ROC3" PROTO STAR 180g "rainbow stamp" beautiful disc , check IT Emoney The Marketplace 6 01-04-2013 08:31 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.