#1  
Old 12-09-2011, 11:34 AM
joesouthfla joesouthfla is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Years Playing: 7.8
Courses Played: 9
Posts: 340
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default 3 rules questions

1. my tee shot landed in the water close to the bank. When I got up to it I discovered the disc had landed on a little muddy outcropping from the bank. So looking along the bank everything is under water except this little spot I hit. In bounds or still ob?

2. On another hole my disc landed in a parking space but right up in the corner. The spot where my disc came to rest was covered with dirt and grass. If you dug under my disc two or three inches you would find asphalt. That one parking spot was not being maintained and the grass was encroaching on it. In bounds or ob?

3.Last one.
When the hole in question has the basket in the short position there is asphalt ob behind it and to one side. When the basket is in the long position it is on a small rectangular island a little past the short position completely surrounded by asphalt. When you shoot for the long basket you have to lay up before the asphalt or go over the asphalt and try to land on the small rectangle. My question is would the disc be considered ob if I park the disc on the small rectangular island (long position) when the basket is in the short position?
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-09-2011, 12:00 PM
JReynolds JReynolds is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tri-Cities, WA
Courses Played: 23
Posts: 502
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

1-Not ob
2- OB
3-Not OB (but a horrible shot nonetheless)

Disclaimer- I'm no rules expert, but this is what I would call my own shots if I was out playing a fun round with some buddies
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-09-2011, 12:02 PM
bholy08's Avatar
bholy08 bholy08 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Gulfport, MS
Years Playing: 8.2
Courses Played: 47
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,061
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Personally, I would call all 3 in...but I feel like 2 would prob be OB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-09-2011, 12:09 PM
GLong's Avatar
GLong GLong is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Baltimore, MD
Years Playing: 10.8
Courses Played: 71
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,445
Niced 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

1 - not OB
2 - OB
3 - not sure... the area is only in play when the basket is in that position. you would essentially be rewarded/spared penalty stroke while someone who just barely went OB past the basket would be penalized.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-09-2011, 12:21 PM
jenb's Avatar
jenb jenb is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: DFW TX USA
Years Playing: 13.7
Courses Played: 84
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,417
Niced 16 Times in 12 Posts
Default

1 = not OB.
2 = take a photograph and a provisional and ask the TD after the round.
3 = take a provisional and ask the TD after the round.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-09-2011, 01:43 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is online now
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 30
Courses Played: 669
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 11,893
Niced 1,176 Times in 553 Posts
Default

1 - Somewhat of a trick question because water is not OB unless specified. So "not OB." Even if water is OB in this case, disc would not be OB unless the bank itself was defined as the OB line. Might be tricky taking your 1m relief and stance with neither foot OB to play your next throw depending on how high/steep the bank is. If you can't take a proper stance then you might have to call an "optional rethrow" resulting in a penalty and throwing your shot again.

2- OB. The ashpalt boundary defines the OB area.

3 - Play it as inbounds unless posted course rules or TD specifies the island is OB when pin is short.

BTW, video, audio or photographic evidence will not be allowed to help with, verify or make rules calls per the new Q&A on this that will be official starting January 1.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-09-2011, 01:46 PM
mashnut's Avatar
mashnut mashnut is offline
*Super Moderator*
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Escondido, CA
Years Playing: 17.1
Courses Played: 828
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 14,396
Niced 25 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cgkdisc View Post

BTW, video, audio or photographic evidence will not be allowed to help with, verify or make rules calls per the new Q&A on this that will be official starting January 1.
Any reasoning behind this? Seems like a questionable ob call where the thrower took a provisional pending TD's call would be cleared up a lot easier with a picture of the lie.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-09-2011, 02:36 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is online now
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 30
Courses Played: 669
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 11,893
Niced 1,176 Times in 553 Posts
Default

I argued that all evidence should be allowed, but so far, the PDGA Board disagrees. There will be more on this issue coming up in 2012 so stay tuned.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-09-2011, 04:33 PM
GT Chris's Avatar
GT Chris GT Chris is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Years Playing: 13.7
Courses Played: 101
Posts: 399
Niced 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cgkdisc View Post
I argued that all evidence should be allowed, but so far, the PDGA Board disagrees. There will be more on this issue coming up in 2012 so stay tuned.
It sounds like the Board is borrowing a page from FIFA on this, and I'd guess the argument is the same.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 12-09-2011, 04:40 PM
GT Chris's Avatar
GT Chris GT Chris is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Years Playing: 13.7
Courses Played: 101
Posts: 399
Niced 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joesouthfla View Post
2. On another hole my disc landed in a parking space but right up in the corner. The spot where my disc came to rest was covered with dirt and grass. If you dug under my disc two or three inches you would find asphalt. That one parking spot was not being maintained and the grass was encroaching on it. In bounds or ob?
One more thing. It seems that his disc was resting on dirt and grass, and whether or not asphalt was underneath wasn't immediately apparent. In order to verify that his disc was in fact above asphalt, someone would have to disturb the course (dig a small hole/tear up the grass) in violation of 803.05 F. Chuck, how would you resolve this apparent conflict?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rules Questions Matt W Newbie Intros and Q&A 9 09-05-2015 11:16 AM
Following Rules Johnny Walker Red Rules Questions & Discussion 51 12-20-2011 02:03 PM
OB RULES Johnny Conservative Rules Questions & Discussion 31 03-02-2011 10:03 PM
OB rules? Roc1Time Rules Questions & Discussion 19 07-04-2009 10:34 PM
Rules STSgoalie Rules Questions & Discussion 21 04-27-2009 12:56 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.