#1  
Old 09-09-2013, 08:42 AM
Thumber's Avatar
Thumber Thumber is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Years Playing: 11.8
Posts: 1,693
Niced 1 Time in 1 Post
Default 2 meter rule application

I played in a tournament this weekend past where the TD rules the 2 meter rule in play

On Hole 8 one of the guys on my card drove and was 50 feet up in a spruce. It was obvious it had stopped (come to rest) because we could see it from the teepad

When we finally got up to where he was his disc had fallen. I said it was still a penalty because the disc had come to rest and the whole card saw it up in the tree. My card ruled against me.

I asked the TD when I ran into him. He ruled against me.

I believe both the TD and my card were wrong. It didn't matter in the standings and I didn't make a big deal of it but I thought I would ask here.

806.01 Two-meter Rule

A. If a disc has come to rest above two meters, as measured from the lowest point of the disc to the playing surface directly below it, the player shall be assessed a one-throw penalty. The player shall then proceed in accordance with 802.02.C.

B. If the lie directly below the disc on the playing surface is out-of-bounds, the disc is played as out-of-bounds regardless of its height above the playing surface.

C. A disc supported by the target is not subject to the two-meter rule.

D. If the thrower moves the disc before a determination has been made, the disc is considered to have come to rest above two meters.

E. The Director may declare the two-meter rule to be in effect for the entire course, for particular holes, and/or for individual objects.

802.02 Establishing Position

A. The thrown disc establishes a position where it first comes to rest.

B. A disc is considered to be at rest once it is no longer moving as a result of the momentum imparted by the throw. A disc in water or foliage is considered to be at rest once it is moving only as a result of movement of the water, the foliage, or the wind.

C. If the disc first comes to rest above or below the playing surface, its position is on the playing surface directly below or above the disc.

D. If the thrown disc breaks into pieces, the largest piece is deemed to be the thrown disc.

E. If the thrown disc has moved after it first came to rest on the in-bounds playing surface, it shall be replaced to its approximate position. If it first came to rest elsewhere, the disc need not be replaced, and any determinations are made relative to where it first came to rest

QA 8: Disc Knocked out of Tree
Q:
My disc was stuck in a tree well above two meters (with the two-meter rule in effect), when another player's throw knocked it to the ground. Where is my lie, and am I subject to a two-meter penalty throw?

A:
The disc is played relative to where it first came to rest. Since that was clearly above two meters, you are subject to a penalty throw just as if the disc had stayed in the tree. As for the player whose throw knocked your disc down, the interference rule does not apply to a competitively thrown disc. Applicable Rules: 804.03 Interference; 802.02 Establishing Position; 806.01 Two-meter Rule.

It was an interesting situation and reinforced my dislike of the 2 meter rule
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-09-2013, 08:49 AM
dx_roc's Avatar
dx_roc dx_roc is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 350
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it should have been a penalty. it's very clear in the rules.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-09-2013, 08:50 AM
bradharris's Avatar
bradharris bradharris is offline
Team Borderland
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Loudoun County
Years Playing: 15.9
Courses Played: 87
Posts: 5,219
Niced 40 Times in 27 Posts
Default

Rules QA 8:

Quote:
Q My disc was stuck in a tree well above two meters (with the two-meter rule in effect), when another player's throw knocked it to the ground. Where is my lie, and am I subject to a two-meter penalty throw?

A The disc is played relative to where it first came to rest. Since that was clearly above two meters, you are subject to a penalty throw just as if the disc had stayed in the tree. As for the player whose throw knocked your disc down, the interference rule does not apply to a competitively thrown disc.
So I think you were correct. The fact that it was clearly over 2 meters when it came to rest, the penalty should have applied.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-09-2013, 10:02 AM
Discette's Avatar
Discette Discette is offline
Independent Operator*
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rancho Cucamonga
Years Playing: 22.6
Courses Played: 485
Posts: 1,662
Niced 544 Times in 190 Posts
Default

The rule for discs above the playing surface changed with the new rule book.

The situation described by the OP was specifically covered by 803.08 D in the last version of the rules.

803.08D. No penalty shall be incurred if the disc falls, unassisted by a player or spectator, to a position less than two meters above the playing surface before the thrower arrives at the disc. The thrower may not delay in order to allow the position of the disc to improve.

New Rule book states:

802.02B A disc is considered to be at rest once it is no longer moving as a result of the momentum imparted by the throw. A disc in....foliage is considered to be at rest once it is moving only as a result of the....foliage or the wind.

802.02C If the disc FIRST comes to rest above...the playing surface, its position is on the playing surface directly below...the disc.

According to the new rules, if the disc was over two meters when it originally came to rest, the player would have to take the 2M penalty stroke and mark the lie on the playing surface directly below the disc.


However......was everyone absolutely positive the disc they could see off the tee 50 feet up in the tree was actually this player's disc? Could it have been another disc of the same color that everyone just happened to see after the throw? I may have to give the benefit of the doubt to the player because in my experience Spruce trees don't generally give up discs without a good fight.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-09-2013, 10:05 AM
Thumber's Avatar
Thumber Thumber is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Years Playing: 11.8
Posts: 1,693
Niced 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Discette View Post


However......was everyone absolutely positive the disc they could see off the tee 50 feet up in the tree was actually this player's disc? Could it have been another disc of the same color that everyone just happened to see after the throw? I may have to give the benefit of the doubt to the player because in my experience Spruce trees don't generally give up discs without a good fight.
We watched the flight all the way from his hand to it stopping 50 feet off the ground. Zero doubt.

I had just changed bags for this tourny and hadn't moved my rule book over from my Mahal to the Prodiscus bag. That was my mistake
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-09-2013, 10:35 AM
DG_player DG_player is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 524
Niced 137 Times in 93 Posts
Default

Trying to determine when a disc is at rest from a distance, is ripe for argument. Who's to say that the disc in the tree was still not moving imperceptibly and then finally broke loose?

This is another case where disc golf should look at the ball golf rules. They've dealt with these types of issues for years and tweaked the rules to eliminate as many judgement calls as possible. In ball golf, a ball is not at rest until you address it, or in the case of the green, mark it. I don't see a good reason why disc golf wouldn't use the same fundamental method, once you get to your disc and mark it, it's at rest.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-09-2013, 10:43 AM
Thumber's Avatar
Thumber Thumber is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Years Playing: 11.8
Posts: 1,693
Niced 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I agree that any tweaks that help remove judgment calls improves the application of the rules. But the rules do cover at rest. It stopped in the tree. At that point only wind and gravity are imparting motion.

But imagine if you threw on to a sloped roof that is declared OB. The discs slides up the roof and hits a flashing. Then slides back down the roof. Technically, all momentum imparted by the throw ceased when it hit the flashing. Would someone be called OB in this case? According to the rules they are most definitely OB.

But what about if the disc hits the flashing at an angle? Some of the momentum is lost but not all.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-09-2013, 10:46 AM
bradharris's Avatar
bradharris bradharris is offline
Team Borderland
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Loudoun County
Years Playing: 15.9
Courses Played: 87
Posts: 5,219
Niced 40 Times in 27 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DG_player View Post
Trying to determine when a disc is at rest from a distance, is ripe for argument. Who's to say that the disc in the tree was still not moving imperceptibly and then finally broke loose?
802.02 B

Quote:
A disc is considered to be at rest once it is no longer moving as a result of the momentum imparted by the throw.
Once it is "caught" by the tree, it's momentum is stopped and it is at rest. There's not much room for argument here.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-09-2013, 10:48 AM
bradharris's Avatar
bradharris bradharris is offline
Team Borderland
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Loudoun County
Years Playing: 15.9
Courses Played: 87
Posts: 5,219
Niced 40 Times in 27 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thumber View Post
I agree that any tweaks that help remove judgment calls improves the application of the rules. But the rules do cover at rest. It stopped in the tree. At that point only wind and gravity are imparting motion.

But imagine if you threw on to a sloped roof that is declared OB. The discs slides up the roof and hits a flashing. Then slides back down the roof. Technically, all momentum imparted by the throw ceased when it hit the flashing. Would someone be called OB in this case? According to the rules they are most definitely OB.

But what about if the disc hits the flashing at an angle? Some of the momentum is lost but not all.
It doesn't have to be forward momentum. A ricochet is still momentum from the throw. Otherwise, you could argue "forward progress" if you hit a tree and kick backwards.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 09-09-2013, 11:52 AM
DG_player DG_player is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 524
Niced 137 Times in 93 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradharris View Post
802.02 B



Once it is "caught" by the tree, it's momentum is stopped and it is at rest. There's not much room for argument here.
The fact that the disc moved, after being caught by the tree, quite clearly casts some serious doubt on whether or not it was ever "at rest". I've seen this happen on a number of occasions in ball golf, where a ball rolls long after it appears to be at rest. Was it at rest and did a light breeze move it, or was it still settling into the grass and finally broke loose to roll? Does it really even matter?

In ball golf it doesn't, because the USGA is smart enough to know that anytime you have a judgement call that affects the outcome of a match, there's a good chance the parties are not going to agree. (Not that it's even feasible for either of them to know the true cause of the movement in many cases).

Why wouldn't the PDGA follow suit and just say when you get to your disc and mark it, it's at rest. That leaves zero room for argument.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 meter rule ... ranting on FB Aim For The Chains Rules Questions & Discussion 120 03-09-2016 03:20 PM
2 meter rule Shapers Newbie Intros and Q&A 6 03-30-2014 11:08 AM
Is the 10 Meter Rule Too Close? Teebird Elvis General Disc Golf Chat 132 06-07-2013 06:54 PM
taking away the 2 meter rule MurderMike41370 General Disc Golf Chat 651 10-29-2012 10:08 AM
Does your course play the 3-meter rule? zenbot General Disc Golf Chat 41 08-19-2009 10:33 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.