#81  
Old 09-13-2017, 09:04 PM
sidewinder22's Avatar
sidewinder22 sidewinder22 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Creeping Creek DGC
Years Playing: 11.8
Courses Played: 197
Posts: 12,515
Niced 1,096 Times in 744 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SonicGuy View Post
I believe you are incorrect.
Depends on the language...
Quote:
Originally Posted by 136 S.Ct 1969
When a statute distinguishes between "may" and "shall," it is generally clear that "shall" imposes a mandatory duty.
The PDGA rule book is inconsistent with the language and uses "shall" where "may" can also be applied.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 09-13-2017, 09:41 PM
SonicGuy's Avatar
SonicGuy SonicGuy is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1,468
Niced 204 Times in 116 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidewinder22 View Post
Depends on the language...

The PDGA rule book is inconsistent with the language and uses "shall" where "may" can also be applied.
My post was related to our legal system. The PDGA is free to act foolishly when it wants.
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 09-14-2017, 02:41 AM
JoakimBL JoakimBL is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denmark
Years Playing: 7.2
Courses Played: 21
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 577
Niced 26 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidewinder22 View Post
Depends on the language...

The PDGA rule book is inconsistent with the language and uses "shall" where "may" can also be applied.
Examples please
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 09-14-2017, 09:54 AM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 44
Courses Played: 306
Posts: 3,925
Niced 814 Times in 435 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidewinder22 View Post
Depends on the language...

The PDGA rule book is inconsistent with the language and uses "shall" where "may" can also be applied.
No. In the rules, "shall" is always imperative. Any other interpretation is wrong.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 09-14-2017, 10:56 AM
PMantle's Avatar
PMantle PMantle is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Alexandria, La.
Years Playing: 5.8
Courses Played: 47
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,312
Niced 426 Times in 306 Posts
Default

Worst one I ever heard of was the claim that a disc, having been thrown OB, must be taken out of play and not used the rest of the tournament.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 09-14-2017, 01:16 PM
CreemCheese's Avatar
CreemCheese CreemCheese is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Findlay, OH
Years Playing: 18.7
Courses Played: 37
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 929
Niced 145 Times in 95 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PMantle View Post
Worst one I ever heard of was the claim that a disc, having been thrown OB, must be taken out of play and not used the rest of the tournament.
I've heard that one a few times. Even heard it taken a step farther and say that you're not allowed to even carry it in the bag and you have to leave it where it lies.
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 09-14-2017, 05:15 PM
cydisc's Avatar
cydisc cydisc is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ames, IA
Years Playing: 22.1
Courses Played: 212
Posts: 964
Niced 13 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BogeyNoMore View Post
Maybe we should just go with "Thou shalt."

That pretty much commands you to do it. If it's good enough for the almighty, it's good enough for me.
How's that worked so far?

Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 09-14-2017, 05:20 PM
Dingus Dingus is offline
Bogey Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 65
Niced 32 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CreemCheese View Post
I've heard that one a few times. Even heard it taken a step farther and say that you're not allowed to even carry it in the bag and you have to leave it where it lies.
What??? Like, just leave it on the ground OB and get it after the round? I can't even...
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 09-14-2017, 06:25 PM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 44
Courses Played: 306
Posts: 3,925
Niced 814 Times in 435 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dingus View Post
What??? Like, just leave it on the ground OB and get it after the round? I can't even...
Sort of pretending all OB is a lake, I guess. Maybe it's supposed to make the OB seem more Natural?
Reply With Quote
 

  #90  
Old 09-14-2017, 07:09 PM
kerplunk's Avatar
kerplunk kerplunk is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Red Rock, TX, USA
Years Playing: 10.2
Courses Played: 42
Posts: 1,449
Niced 59 Times in 42 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _MTL_ View Post
Most fake rules are born from a local club or local TD doing things not in PDGA play.
Quote:
Originally Posted by PMantle View Post
Worst one I ever heard of was the claim that a disc, having been thrown OB, must be taken out of play and not used the rest of the tournament.
That sounds like something that would be really fun to do one day in a league.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.