#1  
Old 07-08-2012, 03:01 PM
bsu12345 bsu12345 is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Courses Played: 71
Posts: 120
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default crown point IN tournament...no jump putt?

it was announced at the players meeting that outside of 10 meters you could not cross the plan of the disc and if you did it would be a penalty. I was wondering what you all thought of this. the td read some rule about not crossing the plan of the disc but when I looked in the rule book it says as long as you have a supporting foot down behind the disc before you release the disc.

I am just curious since the worlds were there in 2010 and are going to be there in 2013...it seems like most of the top pros putt like this outside 10 meter(jump and walk type putting)
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-08-2012, 03:09 PM
jcrab66's Avatar
jcrab66 jcrab66 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: McKinney, TX
Years Playing: 24
Courses Played: 97
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 1,657
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i think these are the same guys who run tournaments and allow shots from over a road but on a road is ob so anything they do i would take with a grain of salt...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-08-2012, 06:14 PM
ArcheType's Avatar
ArcheType ArcheType is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Joliet, IL
Years Playing: 10.2
Courses Played: 33
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,971
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Its Brian, he's dumb. Hate to break it to ya.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-08-2012, 10:26 PM
Triton Triton is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Muncie, Indiana
Posts: 11
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeah, I was at that tourney and got into an argument with a player about that rule. Some people just don't interpret rules very well,, I guess we'll run into that more at the am levels. Mostly am2 and lower. I'm guessing advanced and especially pro level players should have a pretty good understanding of this rule. I need to just hurry up and get better so I don't have to deal with this much ignorance lol. I would be so ticked if I was on a card where 2 guys tried to stroke me for a legal jump putt. Putt jump is a better wording in my opinion. And when the TD is on their side, that is just sad to see a TD who doesn't understand a rule about putting outside the circle which is pretty clear in my opinion.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-09-2012, 06:53 PM
Omega SuperSloth Omega SuperSloth is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Houston,TX
Years Playing: 19.1
Courses Played: 12
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,081
Niced 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

im all for getting rid of those feldburg putts, but you have to follow the rules as written and the rules state feldburg putts are legal, for now.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-09-2012, 07:29 PM
Virtual PBandJ Virtual PBandJ is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Greenville, NC
Years Playing: 32.1
Courses Played: 90
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 18
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Please just stop calling them putts. The rule book defines a putt as a shot within 10m. Outside of 10m it's a drive, you may use a putter or a putting motion but by the rules it's a drive. Jump putts are illegal, following through with a putting disc from outside of 10m is not because it's a drive.

: ) :
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-09-2012, 07:35 PM
gregwil2 gregwil2 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: O'Fallon, IL
Years Playing: 9.2
Courses Played: 60
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 38
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If there are no jump puts outside of 10m then you could also call someone for following through off the tee. I dont' know about most people, but there is no way I could stop myself from stepping off the front of the tee (after release) when trying to drive 200'+.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-09-2012, 09:34 PM
jcrab66's Avatar
jcrab66 jcrab66 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: McKinney, TX
Years Playing: 24
Courses Played: 97
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 1,657
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Triton View Post
Yeah, I was at that tourney and got into an argument with a player about that rule. Some people just don't interpret rules very well,, I guess we'll run into that more at the am levels. Mostly am2 and lower. I'm guessing advanced and especially pro level players should have a pretty good understanding of this rule. I need to just hurry up and get better so I don't have to deal with this much ignorance lol. I would be so ticked if I was on a card where 2 guys tried to stroke me for a legal jump putt. Putt jump is a better wording in my opinion. And when the TD is on their side, that is just sad to see a TD who doesn't understand a rule about putting outside the circle which is pretty clear in my opinion.

just one of the reasons i wont go back to a tourney there, last year the td allowed a guy in my group to play from ON a road when it was clear in the players meeting that roads were ob, i guess it helps the guy was one of the sponsors kids
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-09-2012, 09:43 PM
Dave242's Avatar
Dave242 Dave242 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lake Forest, IL
Years Playing: 26.1
Courses Played: 386
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 4,510
Niced 25 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregwil2 View Post
there is no way I could stop myself from stepping off the front of the tee (after release) when trying to drive 200'+.
yeah there is - you would find a way to stop yourself if there was a drop-off of more than 1-2' in front of the tee.

At Lemon Lake, I showed up to a doubles tournament late and they were kind enough to let me play "lone wolf". But they would only give me one extra throw per hole even on the par-5's on Gold. I had a lot of fun, but it was not to much fun to see everyone else getting many more do-overs than I got.

On topic:
Was this a PDGA sanctioned tournament? If not, the TD can make up whatever rules he/she wants (and hope players follow/enforce them). If it is sanctioned, there would need to be a waiver from the PDGA to incorporate ground rules that are in variance to the rulebook and competition manual.

Last edited by Dave242; 07-09-2012 at 09:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 07-09-2012, 11:18 PM
numbernine's Avatar
numbernine numbernine is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: indiana
Years Playing: 11
Courses Played: 103
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 474
Niced 132 Times in 55 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave242 View Post
On topic:
Was this a PDGA sanctioned tournament? If not, the TD can make up whatever rules he/she wants (and hope players follow/enforce them). If it is sanctioned, there would need to be a waiver from the PDGA to incorporate ground rules that are in variance to the rulebook and competition manual.
Yup. B - Tier.
Indiana State Championships.


Here's what it comes down to -
The kid leading the series does a putt jump from outside of the 10 meter circle. Dudes from a certain town don't like the putt jump and complained to the TD. The TD then came out at the player's meeting and said that no one could break the plane of their lie unless they had already released the disc. Ridiculous.

The rule is easy to understand. And in spite of several of us arguing the rule, with rule book in hand, on the course, the complainers were not hearing it. They even went so far as to say that "good players don't use it." When I brought up Feldberg and Climo, they said that I couldn't use them as examples. Heh.

Anyway, it's all sour grapes from one or two players. And somehow, the TD just didn't know the rule. here is the rule for anyone that needs clarity:

803.04 Stance, Subsequent to Teeing
A. When the disc is released, a player must: (1) Have at least one supporting point that is in contact with the playing surfaceon the line of play and within 30 centimters directly behind the marker disc (except as specified in 803.04 E); and, (2) have no supporting point contact with the marker disc or any object closer to the hole than the rear edge of the marker disc; and, (3) have all of his or her supporting points inbounds.
B. Stepping past the marker disc is permitted after the disc is released, except when putting within 10 meters.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lemon Lake, Crown Point, IN jjtwinnova Disc Golf Courses 57 09-26-2019 02:51 AM
O’hare to Crown Point, IN courses filobedo Disc Golf Courses 35 04-27-2018 03:12 PM
Crown Point/Valpo, IN - End of July InnocentCrook Vacations & Road Trips 9 06-30-2017 01:56 PM
Lemon lake crown point indiana Indiana574 Disc Golf Courses 2 05-24-2015 09:54 PM
HOD 10/5/14 Crown Point, IN GripEnemy Hole of the Day 30 10-22-2014 11:00 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.