#11  
Old 06-15-2017, 05:32 PM
chevis's Avatar
chevis chevis is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: the dry shttys
Years Playing: 14.5
Courses Played: 77
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 897
Niced 81 Times in 43 Posts
Default

I just want to clarify this so it is clear to me: in the stuck in a tree situation, if you cannot retrieve your disc from the tree before your next turn you can just leave it w/o penalty (other than sadness of leaving a disc behind)?
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-15-2017, 06:01 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 20
Courses Played: 142
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 5,777
Niced 716 Times in 333 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chevis View Post
I just want to clarify this so it is clear to me: in the stuck in a tree situation, if you cannot retrieve your disc from the tree before your next turn you can just leave it w/o penalty (other than sadness of leaving a disc behind)?
Correct, there is no penalty for leaving a disc behind like that.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-15-2017, 08:25 PM
philstine philstine is offline
Bogey Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Courses Played: 20
Posts: 72
Niced 39 Times in 17 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
Correct, there is no penalty for leaving a disc behind like that.
Unless it's a one disc event where players are required to use the same disc for the entire round; then it's a DQ.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-22-2017, 11:07 AM
Pwingles's Avatar
Pwingles Pwingles is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bird Town
Years Playing: 12
Courses Played: 72
Posts: 3,611
Niced 23 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smigles View Post
How does a lost disc come into play?

From what I understand you can do anything with your free time as long as you dont disturb the other players and are playing all your shots on time. Nobody is stopping you from climbing that tree or doing pottery while it is not your turn. And I mean doing pottery, it was a fun image that just came in my head.
So what would be the call here? What if its a disc the player really needs, would he be given the same amount of time to retrieve it as you would get for a lost disc, or would they be given however much time until his next throw and then 30 sec?

If you throw a disc in the water, just off the bank, and you are using a stick/retriever etc, how much time are you allowed to spend on that before its a courtesy violation for slow play? I see the two as similar scenarios, lost but not lost sorta
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-22-2017, 01:18 PM
Steve West Steve West is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 43.6
Courses Played: 293
Posts: 3,451
Niced 482 Times in 270 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pwingles View Post
So what would be the call here? What if its a disc the player really needs, would he be given the same amount of time to retrieve it as you would get for a lost disc, or would they be given however much time until his next throw and then 30 sec?

If you throw a disc in the water, just off the bank, and you are using a stick/retriever etc, how much time are you allowed to spend on that before its a courtesy violation for slow play? I see the two as similar scenarios, lost but not lost sorta
If you can't get it in time to be ready to throw when it's your turn, leave it. If it causes you to throw any later than you would have, it is being rude to all the other players on the course. If it delays you by 30 seconds you get an Excessive Time violation. However, even if it delays play by something less than 30 seconds, you still shouldn't be causing that delay.

"3.2 Pace of Play
A. All competitors shall play without undue delay and will make every effort to keep up with the group in front of them. Players are required to quickly move from the completion of one hole to the tee area of the next hole. Also, while advancing down the fairway, the player shall not unduly delay play by his or her actions."
Reply With Quote
 

  #16  
Old 06-22-2017, 03:42 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 20
Courses Played: 142
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 5,777
Niced 716 Times in 333 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pwingles View Post
So what would be the call here? What if its a disc the player really needs, would he be given the same amount of time to retrieve it as you would get for a lost disc, or would they be given however much time until his next throw and then 30 sec?

If you throw a disc in the water, just off the bank, and you are using a stick/retriever etc, how much time are you allowed to spend on that before its a courtesy violation for slow play? I see the two as similar scenarios, lost but not lost sorta
It is not a lost disc, so that one wouldn't apply. The three minute rule for a lost disc is to allow for a search to find the disc in order for the player to have a position/lie to play his next shot from. If that throw has been made, then there's no longer a need, from a rules perspective, to retrieve that disc.

So your time to retrieve a disc from up in a tree or in water would be the time it takes for it to become your turn to throw plus 30 seconds. However, there is also the factor of not creating a distraction for other players via splashing or rustling leaves/branches or even potentially endangering others by throwing things into the tree.

If it can't be retrieved in a timely manner, it doesn't matter how important the disc is to the player, it should be left until after the round. It's the only courteous thing to do for the benefit of everyone else on the course.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.