#151  
Old 09-16-2019, 12:20 AM
DoWork DoWork is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Courses Played: 8
Posts: 717
Niced 528 Times in 253 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ru4por View Post
Mean? Innuendo, supposition and conjecture for the purpose of white knighting....that was my objection. I was giving you the benefit of the doubt, assuming you had some insight beyond the above.

Insight you say? Oh, I’ve got LOADS of that. Have a seat, lay back and just relax. You’re in a safe space now ru4por!

See, it takes a special brand of insecurity to get offended when encouraged to feel empathy for a girl who is clearly going through some internal struggles.

I am here for you though! I’d be happy to break it down for you if you feel you want help working through those socially crippling egocentric insecurities and the defense mechanisms they clearly trigger for you. That’s a sad way to go through life and I feel bad for you, just out there flapping in the breeze, all emotionally tender and angry. Poor thing! Lmk, insight for days my man!
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #152  
Old 09-16-2019, 01:09 AM
Spectacledbear Spectacledbear is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Norway
Posts: 173
Niced 68 Times in 38 Posts
Default

Humans, projecting gods.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #153  
Old 09-16-2019, 01:41 AM
Jolt Jolt is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,238
Niced 1,283 Times in 750 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToddL View Post
https://www.pdga.com/rules/official-...isc-golf/80302
D. A player may elect at any time to take optional relief by declaring their intention to the group. The lie may then be relocated by marking a new lie which is farther from the target, and is on the line of play. One penalty throw is added to the player's score.
E. No penalty throw is added if optional relief is being taken following a penalty taken for a disc out-of-bounds or above two meters.

At any point you can choose to take optional relief straight back on the line of play. Maybe there's a big bush in your face. Maybe your runup is rocky and uneven. Maybe you don't like your angle to the green. Whatever the reason is, you can go back on the LOP as far as you want at the cost of one penalty stroke. However, the rules committee doesn't want to double penalize you for being stuck under a big bush while coming off an OB stroke at the same time; they give you the relief for free since you already got a penalty stroke for being OB.
I need to read up on this rule. . i feel most time you go OB your lie is of.

So at worlds when Paige did go OB into a big bush and had to stretch out max to even get a desent angle. . she could just have walked back in the line of play and played from there?

Eveliina and Henan had the sam bad lie on the same hole
Reply With Quote
  #154  
Old 09-16-2019, 01:55 AM
Jolt Jolt is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,238
Niced 1,283 Times in 750 Posts
Default

the "line of play", how decides that? can i just place my shot center fairway?

So i feel everytime you go OB it´s better to go a meter back and center fairway . . than to just take a meter from the OB line

Hole 7 the long par 5 yesterday as an example. . many went OB right, and played a meter from the wood line and had a bad angle . . so they could just have gone out to center fairway instead?
Reply With Quote
  #155  
Old 09-16-2019, 02:17 AM
brutalbrutus's Avatar
brutalbrutus brutalbrutus is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: the nati
Years Playing: 9.2
Courses Played: 52
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 9,905
Niced 4,153 Times in 2,207 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jolt View Post
the "line of play", how decides that? can i just place my shot center fairway?

So i feel everytime you go OB it´s better to go a meter back and center fairway . . than to just take a meter from the OB line

Hole 7 the long par 5 yesterday as an example. . many went OB right, and played a meter from the wood line and had a bad angle . . so they could just have gone out to center fairway instead?
The line of play goes from the basket straight thru your disc. There aren't really a lot of places where this rule would actually apply since most of the time you cant go backwards thru the line because you would be OB.

The rule was originally written so if your lie after going OB happens to be in a bush or up against a tree, you could move away from that obstacle. The idea being that one bad throw doesn't cause two penalties.

Like I said above though, this doesn't really apply to a lot of holes because most OB parallels the fairway and there is no safe zone back that way to be able to mark a lie in. This really comes into play where you have a long carry over water, but you have James Conrad's follow thru. Instead of marking 1m from the water's edge, you could bring it back another 3m and have plenty of room.

Last edited by brutalbrutus; 09-16-2019 at 02:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #156  
Old 09-16-2019, 02:28 AM
Jolt Jolt is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,238
Niced 1,283 Times in 750 Posts
Default

Ok, that makes more sense. . i first thought "line of play" was center fairway

But in the Paige case at Worlds ( can´t remember the hole ) she would have got a much better angle if she moved back a few meters in the line of play
Reply With Quote
  #157  
Old 09-16-2019, 03:00 AM
brutalbrutus's Avatar
brutalbrutus brutalbrutus is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: the nati
Years Playing: 9.2
Courses Played: 52
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 9,905
Niced 4,153 Times in 2,207 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jolt View Post
Ok, that makes more sense. . i first thought "line of play" was center fairway

But in the Paige case at Worlds ( can´t remember the hole ) she would have got a much better angle if she moved back a few meters in the line of play
I dont remember the hole you're referring to but the rule was only enacted last year I think, so a lot of players just aren't used to using it yet. Especially since the opportunity to use it really doesn't come up all that often.
Reply With Quote
  #158  
Old 09-16-2019, 03:17 AM
Jolt Jolt is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,238
Niced 1,283 Times in 750 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brutalbrutus View Post
I dont remember the hole you're referring to but the rule was only enacted last year I think, so a lot of players just aren't used to using it yet. Especially since the opportunity to use it really doesn't come up all that often.
I think it was this hole, she went OB and took her shot from the "X" . .she could have moved back to my "O" and got a better angle ?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ob.JPG (52.3 KB, 242 views)

Reply With Quote
  #159  
Old 09-16-2019, 03:27 AM
brutalbrutus's Avatar
brutalbrutus brutalbrutus is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: the nati
Years Playing: 9.2
Courses Played: 52
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 9,905
Niced 4,153 Times in 2,207 Posts
Default

Yup, she definitely could have used that rule there.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
 

  #160  
Old 09-16-2019, 04:00 AM
Jolt Jolt is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,238
Niced 1,283 Times in 750 Posts
Default

Lots of rules. . at one point someone on the card reminded Hailey King that she could re-putt from her lie instead of going down the hill to where her putt rolled OB
A rule often forgotten

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2017 Green Mountain Championship brutalbrutus Tournaments & Leagues 160 09-25-2017 09:43 PM
Green mountain championship Menacewarf Tournaments & Leagues 9 09-25-2014 07:28 AM
The Green Mountain Championship @ Smugglers' Notch - A Tier Magicweed Tournaments & Leagues 7 09-16-2014 05:39 PM
Green Mountain Championship - $8,000 Added - 9/19-9/21 - PDGA Pro A-Tier, AM B-Tier jspring Tournaments & Leagues 8 07-19-2014 12:35 AM
Green Mountain Championship ElizabethB23 Tournaments & Leagues 1 08-10-2013 01:52 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.