Go Back   Disc Golf Course Review > Equipment > Discs

Old 10-21-2010, 10:13 AM
Double Eagle Member

Courses Played: 74
Niced 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Intentionally Limiting Supply, or just poor quality control?

Let me first say that I work in the manufacturing sector, so when I say "quality control", I don't necessarily mean dimples and flashing. I mean a lack of consistency from one run of plastic/molds to another.

Second, while I'm targeting Innova with this thread, they're by no means the only disc manufacturer that struggles with inconsistency.

I'm sure everyone is familiar with Steve Jobs' (Apple) reputation for limiting production during initial releases of a new product. Thereby increasing demand for a product, and stretching shopping lines around the block whenever a new iPhone/Pad/Pod is brought to market.

Now transpose that phenomenon to disc golf. CFR discs like glow leopards, translucent champion discs, gummy champ, champ rocs, etc. etc. etc. These discs are obviously limited in production to increase demand.

But what about the rest of Innova's lot? How many times have you or a buddy bought 3 or 5 of the same disc, simply because you fear that the next run won't fly the same? And in some cases, never even get around to using those discs.
Do you think that this is done intentionally, or no?
Sponsored Links
Old 10-21-2010, 10:21 AM
* Ace Member *

Years Playing: 10.3
Courses Played: 17
Throwing Style: RHBH
Niced 5 Times in 5 Posts

If its not intentional now, I would say from a business standpoint they might want to consider it.
Old 10-21-2010, 10:58 AM
* Ace Member *

Years Playing: 10.6
Courses Played: 64
Throwing Style: LHFH
Niced 6 Times in 5 Posts
Send a message via AIM to billnchristy

I just cannot believe that plastic that was created for the intention of water bottles, childrens toys and sex toys just doesn't have consistant aerodynamic properties.

There should be some kind of government probe.
Old 10-21-2010, 11:08 AM
Double Eagle Member