#11  
Old 09-11-2017, 11:33 AM
Audible Vibration's Avatar
Audible Vibration Audible Vibration is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Fargo, North Dakota
Courses Played: 7
Posts: 288
Niced 142 Times in 86 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krupicka View Post
A throw over 2m is a practice throw and a one throw penalty. That is not a fake rule.
Thanks for the confirmation.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-11-2017, 12:09 PM
Dingus Dingus is offline
Bogey Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Courses Played: 2
Posts: 98
Niced 74 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
The worst fake rule is: "We don't call [time limit violations] in this [MPO division]."
How did I do?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-11-2017, 12:12 PM
runningDoc's Avatar
runningDoc runningDoc is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Years Playing: 5.6
Courses Played: 3
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 1,474
Niced 162 Times in 89 Posts
Default

"you can't use the same disc that went out of bounds bro"

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-11-2017, 12:58 PM
chevis's Avatar
chevis chevis is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: the dry shttys
Years Playing: 16.5
Courses Played: 101
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 1,616
Niced 324 Times in 158 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Audible Vibration View Post
Thanks for the confirmation.
you can throw your mini tho
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-11-2017, 01:50 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 21.9
Courses Played: 150
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,826
Niced 3,723 Times in 1,544 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidSauls View Post
The problem is that, unless you have the rulebook memorized, or read it cover to cover, there's a nagging feeling that the fake rule being cited is a real rule, located elsewhere in the book. I've certainly encountered situation where the rule I was looking at seemed to say one thing---but was clarified by a different rule.

The solution, of course, is demanding that the person citing the fake rule prove it by finding it in the book. No proof, no rule. Much easier to prove the positive (or fail to) than prove the negative.
You're right. No one has the book memorized, nor should they. But I like to think that the familiarity one might have with it if one actually read it cover to cover once or twice would at least aid in identifying the fake rules as fake without looking. Which should prompt your second point, which is to hand the book to the person citing the rule and have them look it up.

Too many players, I'd argue the majority of players, rely on learning the rules aurally as they go and never once look at the rule book to either learn or confirm them. It may work fine if they're learning from someone who has read the book, but too often, as rules get passed on verbally, it turns into a game of telephone where the original rules get morphed into something that barely resembles what is correct.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-11-2017, 02:25 PM
Pwingles's Avatar
Pwingles Pwingles is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bird Town
Years Playing: 13.9
Courses Played: 72
Posts: 3,612
Niced 27 Times in 20 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roadtripstuff View Post
So I was at an event this weekend and heard a player state that he was the bottom of the card because he went OB and the person he tied with on that hole did not. So basically two player's took the same score on the previous hole and because one went OB he said he moved to the bottom.

I have never heard of OB affecting the teeing order and have played both Majors and NTs as well as tons of other events. I also looked this up in the rulebook and was unable to find any such rule. So, is this a real thing or a fake rule, and what other fake rules have you heard on the course?
man, people do this in my area all the time, ive just given up on it
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-11-2017, 02:27 PM
notroman's Avatar
notroman notroman is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Highland Park, IL
Years Playing: 19.5
Courses Played: 209
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,696
Niced 316 Times in 170 Posts
Default

My favorite fake rule is that if you throw OB you can't throw that disc again on that hole. So many people argue it to be the case that I don't even bother anymore. If you don't want to throw the disc, don't.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-11-2017, 02:35 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is online now
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 30.7
Courses Played: 692
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 12,248
Niced 1,609 Times in 730 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by notroman View Post
My favorite fake rule is that if you throw OB you can't throw that disc again on that hole. So many people argue it to be the case that I don't even bother anymore. If you don't want to throw the disc, don't.
Cooties!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-11-2017, 02:57 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 21.9
Courses Played: 150
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,826
Niced 3,723 Times in 1,544 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by notroman View Post
My favorite fake rule is that if you throw OB you can't throw that disc again on that hole. So many people argue it to be the case that I don't even bother anymore. If you don't want to throw the disc, don't.
If they want to enforce that fake rule (or any others that don't contradict or conflict with the real rules) on themselves, that's their problem. It's the idiots who insist on enforcing fake rules on others that are the real problem.

Sadly, the "you can't throw a disc that's been OB" fake rule comes up in my playing groups at least once a year, sometimes from players that really should know better. It's not amusing anymore.
Reply With Quote
 

  #20  
Old 09-11-2017, 03:13 PM
zenbot's Avatar
zenbot zenbot is offline
*Super Moderator*
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ventura, California
Years Playing: 13.3
Courses Played: 31
Posts: 11,094
Niced 346 Times in 130 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by filobedo View Post
I got a warning at a tournament for dropping my mini walking from a basket to the next teepad but no one seconded it.
I think you would be safe in that case as a drop is not the same as a throw. Different than the other scenario in this thread where a guy threw to the next teepad.

https://www.pdga.com/rules/official-...rules-qa#qa-12

QA 12: Is a Drop a Throw?
Q:
My throwing hand bumped a tree branch during my backswing, knocking the disc to the ground, and the disc rolled forward of my lie. Was that a throw?

A:
No. The throw begins when movement of the disc in the intended direction begins. A disc dropped or knocked out before or during a backswing does not count as a throw. Applicable Rules: 800.02 Definitions ("Throw").
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Worst Fake Terminology? bholy08 Technique & Strategy 105 08-22-2012 08:48 PM
Worst fake rules ever invented MNcyclone General Disc Golf Chat 430 07-16-2012 03:49 AM
Is this legit CE or a fake? jljordan Discs 27 11-07-2010 01:47 PM
Fake Beatings? zenbot Discs 57 10-19-2009 10:26 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.