#1  
Old 01-21-2019, 06:29 PM
geoloseth's Avatar
geoloseth geoloseth is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North DFW
Courses Played: 45
Posts: 356
Niced 6 Times in 4 Posts
Default Self caught disc

Had this come up today during a practice round and as a TD I want to make sure I get the correct ruling if it happens during an event.

Player makes an intentional throw. Hits a small tree branch, flies another 200’ forward and up into a huge headwind. While in the air the disc gets blown all the back to land 5’ in front of the tee box. In this case it was simply a hilarious disc golf fail.

But in an event, if the player steps forward and catches the disc, is it treated like intentional interference, a non-throw ( like tossing it up and catching it - we all do it while waiting for a fairway to clear) or something else? Pretty sure I know the ruling,but again I want to get second opinions should it ever happen.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2019, 06:57 PM
Casey 1988 Casey 1988 is online now
Shun the frumious Bandersnatch!
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Years Playing: 15.7
Courses Played: 25
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,126
Niced 544 Times in 463 Posts
Default

It is treated as the ruling as if one were playing catch with another player before a throw except just a single player gets the penalty for that shot. At least that is how I would treat the throw.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2019, 07:09 PM
zenbot's Avatar
zenbot zenbot is offline
*Super Moderator*
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ventura, California
Years Playing: 12.7
Courses Played: 31
Posts: 11,036
Niced 258 Times in 101 Posts
Default

810 Interference

E) A player who intentionally interferes with a disc in any of the following ways receives two penalty throws:
Altering the course of a thrown disc (other than to prevent injury); or,
Moving or obscuring a thrown disc or marker disc (other than in the process of identification, retrieval, marking, or as allowed by 810.H).

F) If a player or their equipment interferes with their own throw, the player is assessed one penalty throw. The disc is played where it first comes to rest. See 810.E for intentional interference.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-21-2019, 07:39 PM
cheesethin cheesethin is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Courses Played: 14
Posts: 169
Niced 81 Times in 40 Posts
Default

As zenbot said 810 interference, not a practice throw as from what you said it was a competitive attempt to change the lie. And since the hypothetical player stepped off the tee and caught it, I'd say intentional interference. So 810.E.1 player gets 2 penalty throws.

From 810.D, the disc is given a position at the point of contact. And if I read it right, the player then gets to choose whether to play from that position (and count the throw) or to "abandon the throw without penalty"

I'm not sure whether "abandon the throw without penalty" means that the player gets to not count the actual throw AND not get a penalty throw (for abandonment, interference penalty still stands of course). Or whether the player counts the throw that is abandoned but not the abandonment penalty.

Quote:
D. A thrown disc whose course was intentionally altered is given a position at the point of contact, as agreed on by the group. The thrower may choose to play from the resulting lie, or to abandon the throw without penalty.


Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-21-2019, 07:41 PM
zenbot's Avatar
zenbot zenbot is offline
*Super Moderator*
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ventura, California
Years Playing: 12.7
Courses Played: 31
Posts: 11,036
Niced 258 Times in 101 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheesethin View Post
As zenbot said 810 interference, not a practice throw as from what you said it was a competitive attempt to change the lie. And since the hypothetical player stepped off the tee and caught it, I'd say intentional interference. So 810.E.1 player gets 2 penalty throws.

From 810.D, the disc is given a position at the point of contact. And if I read it right, the player then gets to choose whether to play from that position (and count the throw) or to "abandon the throw without penalty"

I'm not sure whether "abandon the throw without penalty" means that the player gets to not count the actual throw AND not get a penalty throw (for abandonment, interference penalty still stands of course). Or whether the player counts the throw that is abandoned but not the abandonment penalty.





Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
The non-penalty in D is meant for a player who has had their disc flight altered by another player.

Last edited by zenbot; 01-21-2019 at 07:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-21-2019, 07:50 PM
cheesethin cheesethin is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Courses Played: 14
Posts: 169
Niced 81 Times in 40 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zenbot View Post
The non-penalty in D is meant for a player who has had their disc flight altered by another player.
I'm not sure if it is.

And I think 810.F is for non-intentional interference with one's own disc, as it references 810.E at the end, as if to say "for intentional self-interference use 810.E"



Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-21-2019, 07:58 PM
zenbot's Avatar
zenbot zenbot is offline
*Super Moderator*
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ventura, California
Years Playing: 12.7
Courses Played: 31
Posts: 11,036
Niced 258 Times in 101 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheesethin View Post
I'm not sure if it is.
For clarity I meant that a player who intentionally interferes doesn't get off scott free.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheesethin View Post
And I think 810.F is for non-intentional interference with one's own disc, as it references 810.E at the end, as if to say "for intentional self-interference use 810.E"



Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
That is my understanding as well. I just happened to copypasta both passages.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-21-2019, 09:17 PM
geoloseth's Avatar
geoloseth geoloseth is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North DFW
Courses Played: 45
Posts: 356
Niced 6 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Intentional interference is the same call that I would have made. Just wanted the sounding board. Thanks guys.


And for what it’s worth I laughed so hard I started crying when this happened...because it wasn’t happening to me.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-22-2019, 05:11 AM
cheesethin cheesethin is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Courses Played: 14
Posts: 169
Niced 81 Times in 40 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geoloseth View Post
And for what it’s worth I laughed so hard I started crying when this happened...because it wasn’t happening to me.
Being blown directly back 200', that's pretty awesome. Can the thrower technically claim a 400' throw, you know there and back?

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 01-22-2019, 05:24 AM
Top Ramen Arm Top Ramen Arm is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 19
Niced 8 Times in 5 Posts
Default

If my disc blows back 200’ I’d never want to touch that disc again
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Caught the fever (Charlotte, NC) OhTeeBee Newbie Intros and Q&A 13 04-29-2014 09:32 AM
Caught between a destroyer and a wraith LucasP Discs 21 01-23-2014 12:53 PM
I think I caught the Marketplace bug arodsteezy Discs 23 12-02-2013 02:50 PM
Disc Beeper Caught on Film! jenb Discs 59 06-11-2013 01:34 PM
Ever caught someone with your disc? Midnightbiker General Disc Golf Chat 132 05-18-2009 12:24 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.