#1  
Old 06-05-2011, 10:12 PM
homebrew's Avatar
homebrew homebrew is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lafayette, IN
Years Playing: 10.6
Courses Played: 14
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 359
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Ace during sudden death hole + ace fund = payout?

Random doubles. We tie for first with another team. We throw a couple playoff holes to determine the winners and second place. I ace the third playoff hole, do I get the ace pool payout?
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-05-2011, 10:16 PM
sidewinder22's Avatar
sidewinder22 sidewinder22 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Creeping Creek DGC
Years Playing: 13.2
Courses Played: 219
Posts: 15,003
Niced 2,767 Times in 1,709 Posts
Default

I'm guessing no, since you got extra throws to get the ace.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-05-2011, 10:16 PM
thrembo's Avatar
thrembo thrembo is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Floriduh
Years Playing: 44.4
Courses Played: 189
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,579
Niced 508 Times in 251 Posts
Default

I wouldn't think so, as it wasn't part of the original round. If there was no ace I would either roll the money over till next time or do a throw off so that everybody who was in the ace pool has a chance to win the cash.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-05-2011, 10:17 PM
gregorvn gregorvn is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Years Playing: 10.6
Courses Played: 42
Posts: 177
Niced 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

At our local leagues, I was told we do not count aces during playoffs for the ace pot. I think the reasoning is that because of the playoff, you are getting extra opportunities at hitting an ace that the other people in the ace pot did not get.

That doesn't make it right, it's just what we do around here.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-05-2011, 10:20 PM
vonDrehle's Avatar
vonDrehle vonDrehle is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hickory, NC
Years Playing: 13.5
Courses Played: 47
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,779
Niced 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I would say no ace money. Because you tied you are given an extra throw on what obviously is an ace hole.

If for some reason everyone that was playing got to play it again then I would say it definitely counts.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-05-2011, 10:23 PM
sgamerp's Avatar
sgamerp sgamerp is offline
Thanks, Dad
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Years Playing: 11.6
Courses Played: 93
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,439
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vonDrehle View Post
I would say no ace money. Because you tied you are given an extra throw on what obviously is an ace hole.

If for some reason everyone that was playing got to play it again then I would say it definitely counts.
agreed
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-05-2011, 10:35 PM
thrembo's Avatar
thrembo thrembo is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Floriduh
Years Playing: 44.4
Courses Played: 189
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,579
Niced 508 Times in 251 Posts
Default

Is this a hypothetical question? Or did this recently happen and cause some contraversy?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-05-2011, 11:00 PM
Mattallica's Avatar
Mattallica Mattallica is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC
Years Playing: 11.1
Courses Played: 110
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,042
Niced 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

nice shot
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-05-2011, 11:03 PM
Ace D's Avatar
Ace D Ace D is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Wiscompton
Years Playing: 19.4
Courses Played: 33
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 699
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i agree with what everyone is saying. you're getting extra chances to tee off at the basket so it's probably not fair to reward you with the ace pot.

the proper thing is to do is b*tch really loud about it until you at least get some sort of consolation prize. because c'mon, you aced a hole.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 06-06-2011, 12:39 PM
homebrew's Avatar
homebrew homebrew is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lafayette, IN
Years Playing: 10.6
Courses Played: 14
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 359
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

But then, is it really an ace?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sudden Death Options Cgkdisc Tournaments & Leagues 131 06-29-2016 02:27 AM
Which feels better, a short hole ace or long hole fairway ace? Jmorri67 General Disc Golf Chat 66 09-05-2013 08:42 PM
Ace pot payout. Weather cancelation? Lachendr0 General Disc Golf Chat 56 07-11-2013 10:13 AM
How many aceable holes for Ace Fund? Hector Chain General Disc Golf Chat 13 04-18-2012 03:20 PM
How does your club manage its ace fund? Lewis General Disc Golf Chat 16 04-20-2010 12:18 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.