#41  
Old 06-02-2020, 01:23 PM
ballgolfconvert ballgolfconvert is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Years Playing: 36.9
Courses Played: 2
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 340
Niced 169 Times in 104 Posts
Default

In ball golf a legitimate ace can only occur during a completed round played strictly by the rules. Since you only played a few holes, and off a temporary tee it wouldn't count officially. Ball golf runs a clearing house where you can register your ace. Ace records are only taken from this registry.

That said i was playing two separate balls in ball golf one day (disqualifies it from being official) and hit one into the hole for an ace. While it wasn't official I still count it as one of my five. I had also snuck onto that private course that day while it was closed, so couldn't very well get it certified (pro needs to sign).

So basically i would count your ace when relating to others, but don't count if you are going for some kind of ace record or such (you obviously aren't).
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 06-02-2020, 01:34 PM
Olorin's Avatar
Olorin Olorin is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Scottsville, VA
Years Playing: 41.4
Courses Played: 515
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,308
Niced 388 Times in 159 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Straw ICT View Post
(But I think Kegel’s was a Legit Ace cuz it’s legit like an adjacent TD approved tee that a TD might designate for messed-up tees)
That's up to ASS to decide! And you don't mess around with those thugs. I'm sure they would counter with, "And what is that TD's full name and contact information?", as they start to reach for their rubber hoses, brass knuckles, and truncheons.

P.S.- My guess is that 0.005% percent of all disc golfers agree with you (but 99.99% don't care one way or the other. I don't have any hard stats, but I put everyone who has posted in this thread among the 0.01% who have an opinion. And on that note I wouldn't be surprised if 0.005% of all disgolfers disagree that the shot in question was a real ace!)

Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 06-02-2020, 02:07 PM
wolfhaley's Avatar
wolfhaley wolfhaley is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: WI
Years Playing: 16.5
Courses Played: 525
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,812
Niced 1,555 Times in 741 Posts
Unhappy

Teeing off next to an icy or snow covered tee is actually encouraged up here. It's pretty dangerous on an icy tee. I'd count it for sure. You get the ace AND you don't eat s***. Win win.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 06-02-2020, 02:11 PM
Kegelexercise Kegelexercise is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Years Playing: 26.4
Courses Played: 54
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 103
Niced 162 Times in 53 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olorin View Post
Kegel,

You can count this as an ace, but if you do are you willing to live with the consequences? You have just publicly confessed to a transgression of not throwing from the standard tee, so at any moment of the day or night the Ace Standards Squad (ASS) now has every right to come without warning, break down your door, wag their finger in your face, and yell at you! Do you really want this happening in the middle of some cold frozen night? Do you realize that they actively monitor every post on all disc golf message boards? If you have a family think how this will traumatize your wife and kids? How will your wife even show her face at the grocery store? You will need to resign your church membership and maybe even move. What if your boss finds out? Forget any government job that needs a security clearance. If you have kids in school think of how they will be They will be mercilessly taunted! Can you live with them being forever marked and scarred from this?

So before you add this to your Ace list I urge you to do some soul searching and seriously ask if you can live with these consequences.

Haha...I can handle the ASS squad coming after me!
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 06-02-2020, 02:12 PM
Kegelexercise Kegelexercise is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Years Playing: 26.4
Courses Played: 54
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 103
Niced 162 Times in 53 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfhaley View Post
Teeing off next to an icy or snow covered tee is actually encouraged up here. It's pretty dangerous on an icy tee. I'd count it for sure. You get the ace AND you don't eat s***. Win win.
I remember that day at Dretzka like it was yesterday. You could tell just by looking at it, that teepad proper was slip and fall city - there was no way in hell I was shooting off of it!
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 06-02-2020, 02:17 PM
wolfhaley's Avatar
wolfhaley wolfhaley is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: WI
Years Playing: 16.5
Courses Played: 525
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,812
Niced 1,555 Times in 741 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kegelexercise View Post
I remember that day at Dretzka like it was yesterday. You could tell just by looking at it, that teepad proper was slip and fall city - there was no way in hell I was shooting off of it!
Dretzka winter? Those are rubber pads too, right? Rubber pads suck in the summer much less April.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 06-02-2020, 02:29 PM
Kegelexercise Kegelexercise is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Years Playing: 26.4
Courses Played: 54
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 103
Niced 162 Times in 53 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfhaley View Post
Dretzka winter? Those are rubber pads too, right? Rubber pads suck in the summer much less April.
It was actually the summer course hole N4, one of the very last days the regular baskets were in last season. We had a ton of early season snowfall, freeze-thaw, and that teepad is one I've seen covered in water enough times to know it was very likely pure ice underneath the snow cover.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 06-02-2020, 06:48 PM
Olorin's Avatar
Olorin Olorin is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Scottsville, VA
Years Playing: 41.4
Courses Played: 515
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,308
Niced 388 Times in 159 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ballgolfconvert View Post
In ball golf a legitimate ace can only occur during a completed round played strictly by the rules... Ball golf runs a clearing house where you can register your ace. Ace records are only taken from this registry.
So Kegel, don't try to register your ace with the ball golf clearing house, because you didn't meet many of their standards. You probably didn't even use golf clubs, reserve a tee time, or pay a greens fee...

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 06-04-2020, 01:45 AM
ILUVSMGS18 ILUVSMGS18 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Keeseville, NY
Years Playing: 7.4
Courses Played: 12
Posts: 1,925
Niced 571 Times in 396 Posts
Default

So I have an ace dilemma. One local course has removed the tray from their baskets and I hit what sounded like a solid shot to the chains but without the tray it's hard to know if it would've satyed in, but it's likely based on where the disc ended up (less than 8' from the pin and on the right side for a RHBH throw with a Wasp at 280'). Does it count?
Reply With Quote
 

  #50  
Old 06-04-2020, 01:59 AM
Jack Straw ICT's Avatar
Jack Straw ICT Jack Straw ICT is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Okinawa
Posts: 42
Niced 14 Times in 10 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ILUVSMGS18 View Post
So I have an ace dilemma. One local course has removed the tray from their baskets and I hit what sounded like a solid shot to the chains but without the tray it's hard to know if it would've satyed in, but it's likely based on where the disc ended up (less than 8' from the pin and on the right side for a RHBH throw with a Wasp at 280'). Does it count?
While ASS will definitely want to decide, sounds perfectly like an Asterisk Ace, first invented several posts above by a non-ASS member
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disc Golf and it's Professional Legitimacy MountainGoat General Disc Golf Chat 93 06-03-2014 04:36 PM
I am the first person to ace with the Ace Race disc this year. yankees23 Discs 24 08-03-2012 12:56 PM
LTC Cleveland 4th annual Ace Race/2nd Ace Revenge jhgonzo Tournaments & Leagues 7 09-12-2011 09:48 PM
Does an ace race ace count as a real ace? cjskier General Disc Golf Chat 72 07-05-2011 04:56 PM
Ace during sudden death hole + ace fund = payout? homebrew General Disc Golf Chat 27 06-06-2011 07:35 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.