Old 09-12-2010, 02:02 AM

Years Playing: 12.4
Courses Played: 37
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Building a new course!

Hey everyone, I've been reading posts here for a while but am new to posting. I decided to finally get on here to promote a new course and get some advice. I recently moved to Cottonwood, AZ and realized it's a dead zone for DG 50 miles in every direction. Hardly anyone here has even heard of it! I decided to take matters into my own hands and within a month of living here, I brought a proposal to the city council telling the benefits of having a nice course in town. They loved the Idea and gave me money for 9 baskets to start along with about 50 acres of gorgeous riparian land along the Verde River! The intention is to expand to a 27 hole championship course within a couple years!
The DG community here in AZ has been extremely helpful but I was wondering if any of you have advice on trying to drum up interest in a brand new area? I'm fairly new to the sport but completely dedicated, and somehow I hit the Jackpot with my situation here. How many intermediate players out there ever get the chance to design a potentially A tier level course completely funded by the city!
Also I'm going to be running clinics for kids and interested people in town and there aren't alot of discs around. If any of you have some old beginner friendly discs you'd like to donate to the cause let me know! Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Old 09-12-2010, 03:45 AM
Double Eagle Member

Years Playing: 25.7
Courses Played: 73
Throwing Style: RHBH
Niced 3 Times in 3 Posts

Having just finished creating my first course this summer, my advice is as follows:

Measure twice and cut once. Especially if you are "adding holes" later. If you are planning 27 holes, have them all planned out before you cut one tree, sink one basket, or clear one tee.