#11  
Old 03-30-2016, 10:40 PM
Timeetyo's Avatar
Timeetyo Timeetyo is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Albion, NY
Years Playing: 5.6
Courses Played: 41
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,359
Niced 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vasco da neumi View Post
we added some new holes to our private course recently. one of them has a double mando where you have to pass through 2 trees with a 25 ft gap. we wanted to establish the rule that if you have thrown too far and missed the double mando left or right you continue to play from your original lie, throw back and then (hopefully) pass the mando instead of a one-stroke-penalty and going to a dropzone. is there any official rule that supports this idea? all i could find is 804.02 stating penalty and dropzone if there is no dz: penalty and throw from your previous lie.
our course will never ever be anything like official and is strictly private but nevertheless we want to follow pdga-rules of course. we already played some minor tournaments and two of them had a double mando with rules like continue from your lie and make it through the mando.
so do you know of any legitimate rule supporting our idea? are there any yt-videos showing "our" ruling? or do you think this is completely bs and we should install a dropzone?
Just curious, but why do you want to play it this way?

A few questions on the hole:
- how far off the tee is this mando?
- how far from the pin is the mando?

My main concern here is twofold:
- if this course is to be used for pdga events you won't be able to use this ruling.
- depending on the answers to the above, it could be overly punitive. If the mando is close to the tee and I throw 200' past it I have to throw 200' back to the AND place the shot in a way that allows me to navigate the mando.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
 

  #12  
Old 03-31-2016, 07:09 AM
biscoe biscoe is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: spotsylvania, va
Years Playing: 24.4
Courses Played: 94
Posts: 6,566
Niced 1,944 Times in 814 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greg_b_4 View Post
But most everyone on the card (mostly newbies) thought the disc was in. So in order to not have problems I went with the majority and allowed the disc to be in bounds, giving the meter, and giving up a birdie putt. My question is which is the correct ruling for when this happens again? I still think it's OB explaining that just like if a disc is in a tree you have to mark the lay directly under, I explained if you make a mark under the twigs then its obviously OB, nobody else saw this.
If you don't make them play by the rules who is going to?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is this a missed mando ? araytx Rules Questions & Discussion 108 08-15-2016 09:24 AM
Made / Missed Mando RobA Rules Questions & Discussion 27 09-23-2015 03:37 PM
Missed mando then rolls ob BenBVDiscGolf Rules Questions & Discussion 6 03-18-2015 08:07 PM
Mando...missed or not? CoachQ Disc Golf Courses 15 01-09-2010 07:15 AM
Missed Mando swellerdiscgolf General Disc Golf Chat 21 04-13-2009 09:58 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.