#11  
Old 10-24-2018, 11:11 PM
elmexdela elmexdela is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Courses Played: 223
Posts: 8,507
Niced 2,175 Times in 1,234 Posts
Default

like 3/4s my aces are from second shots

congrats on the ace!!!
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-25-2018, 11:10 AM
gradus gradus is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Davidson, NC
Courses Played: 44
Posts: 217
Niced 46 Times in 20 Posts
Default

It's worse when you allow 2 off of the first tee. Makes you feel a little dirty accepting the score.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-25-2018, 11:45 AM
BENFTS's Avatar
BENFTS BENFTS is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Years Playing: 25.9
Courses Played: 102
Posts: 1,653
Niced 37 Times in 15 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WIGS View Post
I'm sure this subject has been talked about before. I was playing with 2 of my friends at grignon in Kaukauna, wi. We came up to # 14 and we all threw our 1st discs. All were 5-6ft short. So we threw another disc and wouldn't ya know it, I threw my vroc straight as an arrow and aced the hole. I never really got exited knowing it really didn't count. What a bummer!!!!!!!! Oh well, that's 2 for me on the same hole. I was by myself 10 years ago and aced it. Not a single person in site!!!!!
Years ago I'm playing the California school for the deaf solo. There's a great hole by the parking lot that's about 350' with a slight dogleg right. I threw LHBH, weaved my way through the trees and banged the ace. I shouted " YES" about as loud as I could and looked around to see if anyone saw it. Sure enough one person in the parking lot saw everything and from a hundred yards or so gave me an "air five" and that Jeremiah Johnson style nod of approval. While I though this wold go down as the nice ace I've ever had that nobody saw I was stoked to see someone saw it.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-25-2018, 12:07 PM
Putt for D'oh's Avatar
Putt for D'oh Putt for D'oh is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Years Playing: 4.8
Courses Played: 24
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,182
Niced 526 Times in 300 Posts
Default

My first ever ace was unwitnessed, and my most recent was a cubby.

The first I had a brand new Star Destroyer I was trying to beat up so I was throwing it as my first drive on every hole. A ~320' down hill shot to finish just a bit left. Lofted it up and right on a big lazy Hyzer and CHAINS!! I jumped and whooped and looked around and there was not a soul in site. A couple weeks later I lost the disc... so now it feels like it never happened.

Most recent I had been hitting a hyzer route through some trees, strange steep uphill with kind of a low ceiling. My first shot I didn't get around a tree on the left and we had been playing at a good pace and not throwing extra shots but I said "I need to throw another and prove to myself I can hit this line" Really it is throwing for birdie... hit the line perfectly hyzers around looks like its going to skid right under the basket but skips instead and CHAINS!! My buddy yells ACE!!!! and throws up his hands... and I just stood there like M*ther F***** why couldn't I have done that on my first throw?
He then signed it "not a real ace"
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-25-2018, 12:16 PM
ThrowBot's Avatar
ThrowBot ThrowBot is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Billings, MT
Years Playing: 13.7
Courses Played: 129
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 1,507
Niced 944 Times in 417 Posts
Default

Cubby "ace" is not really an ace. You could score it as a 3 if you wanted to use your re-tee after a 1 throw penalty, so really it's just the best par you'll get all day.

Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-25-2018, 12:22 PM
MarkDSM's Avatar
MarkDSM MarkDSM is online now
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Years Playing: 48.1
Courses Played: 60
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,336
Niced 385 Times in 212 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fab Man View Post
If it's a hole I think is ace able, I'll never throw a second disc.
One casual league I play with has a best shot 2 drives rule on a not so tricky shorty hole mid round for added fun. ... same group does best shot 2 drives on hole 1 as well.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-25-2018, 03:53 PM
discNDav discNDav is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: near Philadelphia,PA
Years Playing: 33.7
Courses Played: 361
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,140
Niced 116 Times in 59 Posts
Default

Years ago our doubles league finished in what we thought was a tie at -7, a playoff ensued prematurely. My partner skip aces the 3rd playoff hole only find out another team came in later with a -8. Ooops.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-25-2018, 07:19 PM
DiscGolfMaster's Avatar
DiscGolfMaster DiscGolfMaster is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Walhalla SC
Years Playing: 17
Courses Played: 56
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 219
Niced 50 Times in 29 Posts
Default

You have to have a witness for the ace to count? I play a lot of solo golf and never thought twice about bragging to friends and family about banging an ace (first shot only of course).
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-25-2018, 07:31 PM
Jay Dub's Avatar
Jay Dub Jay Dub is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SW Ohio
Years Playing: 39.9
Courses Played: 95
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 5,116
Niced 1,197 Times in 467 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to Jay Dub
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiscGolfMaster View Post
You have to have a witness for the ace to count? I play a lot of solo golf and never thought twice about bragging to friends and family about banging an ace (first shot only of course).
No, just be honest about it.
Reply With Quote
 

  #20  
Old 10-26-2018, 12:37 AM
JNichols's Avatar
JNichols JNichols is offline
Smelling the Shame
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Years Playing: 9
Courses Played: 53
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 576
Niced 83 Times in 47 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Dewgarita View Post
If you don't know Cubby. Look him up. RIP.
WTH??? Cubby Died???
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does an ace race ace count as a real ace? cjskier General Disc Golf Chat 72 07-05-2011 05:56 PM
When does an ace count? mcnal1sp General Disc Golf Chat 4 08-23-2010 10:09 AM
ACE!!! But it doesn't count! Woodpecker General Disc Golf Chat 24 10-06-2009 06:38 PM
Does this count as an ace? ShopTom.com General Disc Golf Chat 17 09-15-2009 04:58 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.