#41  
Old 12-07-2018, 02:53 PM
KniceZ's Avatar
KniceZ KniceZ is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: VA Northern Neck
Years Playing: 8
Courses Played: 99
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,276
Niced 40 Times in 30 Posts
Default

One round you get a casual group and leaves blowing is considered distracting. Next round winning the tournament is at stake and everyone is looking to play head games.

When things get competitive the rules need to be clear and not left to interpretation.
Sponsored Links

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 12-07-2018, 09:19 PM
Dan Ensor's Avatar
Dan Ensor Dan Ensor is offline
Sophomore
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Paris, MO
Years Playing: 8.9
Courses Played: 62
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,456
Niced 82 Times in 59 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KniceZ View Post
One round you get a casual group and leaves blowing is considered distracting. Next round winning the tournament is at stake and everyone is looking to play head games.

When things get competitive the rules need to be clear and not left to interpretation.
That's pretty similar to MMA where the ref allows champ matches far more time without action.

I think, in general, a rule as strict as 30 seconds should have a basis in real events. I don't know of any cases of any part of this rule being gamed badly enough to justify them.

Also, there's a rule that you must attempt to maintain pace with the card in front of you, so gaming this rule would put your entire card at risk of penalty.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 12-09-2018, 09:08 AM
JoakimBL JoakimBL is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denmark
Years Playing: 7.9
Courses Played: 21
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 593
Niced 35 Times in 24 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Ensor View Post
I've always considered choosing a shot/disc as part of arriving at your lie.
Depending on what you mean, maybe. If you mean that your 30 seconds do not start until you have decided, you are wrong, but if you mean that you use the time it takes to arrive at your lie to decide that, obviously that is your prerogative unless that you take longer than reasonable to get to your lie because of it. But obviously, sometimes you cannot do these things before you see your exact lie, and then you in theory only have your 30 seconds to decide what to do and do it. In reality, I think you get a little leeway from your card mates, if you are in a tough spot. Especially if you are not taking excessive time on all other shots. But with a strict interpretation of the rules, you have 30 seconds to tap in from under the basket, to tee off or to throw from deep in a bush with no line out.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 12-10-2018, 03:47 PM
Dan Ensor's Avatar
Dan Ensor Dan Ensor is offline
Sophomore
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Paris, MO
Years Playing: 8.9
Courses Played: 62
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,456
Niced 82 Times in 59 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoakimBL View Post
Depending on what you mean, maybe. If you mean that your 30 seconds do not start until you have decided, you are wrong, but if you mean that you use the time it takes to arrive at your lie to decide that, obviously that is your prerogative unless that you take longer than reasonable to get to your lie because of it. But obviously, sometimes you cannot do these things before you see your exact lie, and then you in theory only have your 30 seconds to decide what to do and do it. In reality, I think you get a little leeway from your card mates, if you are in a tough spot. Especially if you are not taking excessive time on all other shots. But with a strict interpretation of the rules, you have 30 seconds to tap in from under the basket, to tee off or to throw from deep in a bush with no line out.
I disagree. I feel that's asinine and detracts from the game. If you truly believe what you're saying, all those "leeway giving" card mates should be disqualified.

To have a strict interpretation, there would have to be a strict definition of "arrive at your lie", which I am not finding.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 12-10-2018, 03:54 PM
cheesethin cheesethin is online now
Par Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Courses Played: 1
Posts: 126
Niced 55 Times in 29 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Ensor View Post
I disagree. I feel that's asinine and detracts from the game. If you truly believe what you're saying, all those "leeway giving" card mates should be disqualified.

To have a strict interpretation, there would have to be a strict definition of "arrive at your lie", which I am not finding.
Possible reading comprehension failure on my part, what are you disagreeing with?

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 12-10-2018, 04:05 PM
Dan Ensor's Avatar
Dan Ensor Dan Ensor is offline
Sophomore
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Paris, MO
Years Playing: 8.9
Courses Played: 62
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,456
Niced 82 Times in 59 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheesethin View Post
Possible reading comprehension failure on my part, what are you disagreeing with?

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
His punitive definition of "arrive at your lie", or what can happen before arriving at your lie has occured. I don't see anything in the rules that says exactly what that means. In all cases of reasonable play, I've observed the 30 second clock not starting until there has been reasonable time to get the correct disc then arrive at your lie. Only non-golfing argumentativeness, sadism, or competitive advantage has ever resulted in not having time outside of the 30 seconds to choose a line/disc.

Last edited by Dan Ensor; 12-10-2018 at 04:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 12-10-2018, 05:20 PM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 44.7
Courses Played: 324
Posts: 4,426
Niced 1,167 Times in 601 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Ensor View Post
... has ever resulted in not having time outside of the 30 seconds to choose a line/disc.
Huh? Isn't that what the 30 seconds is for?
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 12-10-2018, 05:38 PM
JuanA JuanA is offline
Bogey Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Years Playing: 18.6
Courses Played: 23
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 98
Niced 79 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I was just reading through this entire thread, and it's mostly talk about the 30 second rule, but isn't this the meat and potatoes of the question:

Quote:
Originally Posted by markmcc View Post
Aside from the 30 second rule, is there an issue of fair play? Part of playing doubles is strategy. If you know that your partner shanked his drive, you might play a more conservative drive. If they're parked, you would "go for it"...
This is what I thought when I read the OP, but it seems like it got buried under a different discussion.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 12-10-2018, 05:56 PM
Dan Ensor's Avatar
Dan Ensor Dan Ensor is offline
Sophomore
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Paris, MO
Years Playing: 8.9
Courses Played: 62
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,456
Niced 82 Times in 59 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
Huh? Isn't that what the 30 seconds is for?
The people I play with and myself agree that making the shot/disc choice is part of the reasonable amount of time to arrive at your lie; therefore, preceding the 30 second clock starting.
Reply With Quote
 

  #50  
Old 12-10-2018, 06:31 PM
kerplunk's Avatar
kerplunk kerplunk is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Red Rock, TX, USA
Years Playing: 10.9
Courses Played: 42
Posts: 1,470
Niced 88 Times in 55 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JuanA View Post
I was just reading through this entire thread, and it's mostly talk about the 30 second rule, but isn't this the meat and potatoes of the question:



This is what I thought when I read the OP, but it seems like it got buried under a different discussion.
TLDR: if losing a disc on a blind shot was an issue then one spotter should be sent for the entire card. If the point was just to determine the first player's lie to help the partner choose what/how to throw it was definitely unsportsmanlike and likely illegal. I think that's the general consensus at least.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this shoe DG legal? jenb Rules Questions & Discussion 24 08-09-2016 06:15 PM
Legal or not? VINCENT25149 Rules Questions & Discussion 39 04-11-2013 11:51 AM
Is this legal? Kaikias Rules Questions & Discussion 4 03-19-2012 04:43 PM
Is this shot legal? netposer General Disc Golf Chat 72 06-20-2011 08:01 AM
Is my basket legal great white buffalo General Disc Golf Chat 10 10-06-2010 09:20 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.