#191  
Old 09-15-2020, 06:48 AM
Ryan P.'s Avatar
Ryan P. Ryan P. is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Asheboro, NC
Years Playing: 14.6
Courses Played: 62
Posts: 1,867
Niced 154 Times in 92 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigtex View Post
Hannah has no reason to be there...except you know...her husband.
I realize I'm a bit late on this, but you are flat out wrong. Hannah is one of the most insightful commentators in our sport. She shines when she is in the booth, as she is one of the few commentators who actually prepare by doing good research. She knows what she's talking about.

Did she get to that position because of her husband? I don't know. But even if that's the case, worst case scenario is that she's an extremely educated commentator who can get the insider scoop into the top-rated players mind anytime. Regardless of how she got the position, she's proven that she deserves it.
Sponsored Links

Reply With Quote
  #192  
Old 09-15-2020, 07:19 AM
biscoe biscoe is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: spotsylvania, va
Years Playing: 25.4
Courses Played: 94
Posts: 7,144
Niced 2,887 Times in 1,142 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brutalbrutus View Post
I guess i should say it saves them the hassle of doing it during lunch if they are also playing the event.
If I am playing the event I usually do them during my first round.
Reply With Quote
  #193  
Old 09-15-2020, 08:02 AM
Discette's Avatar
Discette Discette is offline
Independent Operator*
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rancho Cucamonga
Years Playing: 24.2
Courses Played: 533
Posts: 1,961
Niced 989 Times in 350 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elmexdela View Post
yeah i agree

def not something you would see in fpo
What?


Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #194  
Old 09-15-2020, 08:05 AM
CaptainAnhyzer's Avatar
CaptainAnhyzer CaptainAnhyzer is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ballston Lake, NY
Years Playing: 35.4
Courses Played: 101
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,666
Niced 601 Times in 228 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buchajs1 View Post
Wow... Dodge reversed the ruling on McBeths shot on 8 yesterday.

McBeth 2 back of Rick with 18 to play. Should be an interesting day!
Just an FYI, the PDGA rules committee was responsible for the switch. I'll let you all ponder who called them.

IMO..........Water OB is water OB, regardless of what color shading is on a picture.

Oh and a up until this point, i THOUGHT the TD had the final say.......

801.03 Appeals

When a group cannot reach a majority decision regarding a ruling, the ruling is based on the interpretation that is most beneficial to the thrower.
A player may appeal a group decision to an Official, or an Official's decision to the Director, by clearly and promptly stating that desire to the group. If an Official or the Director is readily available, the group may stand aside and allow other groups to play through while the appeal is being heard.
If an Official or Director is not readily available, the thrower may make a set of provisional throws for each additional possible outcome of the ruling, and later appeal the ruling to an Official or to the Director when practical.
If a ruling is overturned, an Official or the Director may adjust the player's score to reflect the correct interpretation of the rules. Alternatively, the Director may have the player replay one or more holes. Rulings by the Director are final.
Reply With Quote
  #195  
Old 09-15-2020, 08:19 AM
BogeyNoMore's Avatar
BogeyNoMore BogeyNoMore is offline
* Ace No More *
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Walled Lake, MI
Years Playing: 16.4
Courses Played: 331
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 11,398
Niced 4,616 Times in 2,023 Posts
Default

Nevermind.

Last edited by BogeyNoMore; 09-15-2020 at 08:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #196  
Old 09-15-2020, 08:20 AM
BogeyNoMore's Avatar
BogeyNoMore BogeyNoMore is offline
* Ace No More *
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Walled Lake, MI
Years Playing: 16.4
Courses Played: 331
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 11,398
Niced 4,616 Times in 2,023 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arisugawa View Post
To offer some context:

IIRC, at Worlds in 2016 (Emporia), he played the out-of-bounds incorrectly on Hole 8 at Jones East, learned of his mistake, and asked the TD to give him the strokes for the misplay after the round.

On the surface, at least, it appears he is man enough to take the penalty when he knows it applies, and doesn't argue exclusively to his benefit.
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmexdela View Post
yeah i agree

def not something you would see in fpo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Discette View Post
What?

I'm not gonna try to get in Elmex's head, but...

I took his post to be a poke at Arisugawa's comment about being "man enough" to take a penalty when it applies.

You don't have to be male to display good sportspersonship.

Niced: (3)
Reply With Quote
  #197  
Old 09-15-2020, 08:48 AM
Keller's Avatar
Keller Keller is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Above ground
Years Playing: 7.2
Courses Played: 22
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,132
Niced 1,943 Times in 847 Posts
Default

Am I the only one who finds Maple hill kind of boring to watch?

I love watching play on wooded courses, but besides a few holes, Maple hill just seems blah to me.
Reply With Quote
  #198  
Old 09-15-2020, 08:55 AM
biscoe biscoe is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: spotsylvania, va
Years Playing: 25.4
Courses Played: 94
Posts: 7,144
Niced 2,887 Times in 1,142 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainAnhyzer View Post
Just an FYI, the PDGA rules committee was responsible for the switch. I'll let you all ponder who called them.

IMO..........Water OB is water OB, regardless of what color shading is on a picture.

Oh and a up until this point, i THOUGHT the TD had the final say.......

801.03 Appeals

When a group cannot reach a majority decision regarding a ruling, the ruling is based on the interpretation that is most beneficial to the thrower.
A player may appeal a group decision to an Official, or an Official's decision to the Director, by clearly and promptly stating that desire to the group. If an Official or the Director is readily available, the group may stand aside and allow other groups to play through while the appeal is being heard.
If an Official or Director is not readily available, the thrower may make a set of provisional throws for each additional possible outcome of the ruling, and later appeal the ruling to an Official or to the Director when practical.
If a ruling is overturned, an Official or the Director may adjust the player's score to reflect the correct interpretation of the rules. Alternatively, the Director may have the player replay one or more holes. Rulings by the Director are final.
The Rules Committee has no authority to make the switch, all they could do was inform Dodge in some way or another. It is within his authority to change his ruling though. I don't see this as a situation for the Rules Committee either way, maaaaybe the Competition Committee. It would have been very interesting to see what would happen if he told them to stick it (which imo he should have).

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #199  
Old 09-15-2020, 09:22 AM
Flick Maniac's Avatar
Flick Maniac Flick Maniac is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Jokela, Southern Finland
Posts: 2,062
Niced 935 Times in 487 Posts
Default

Some more rules talk, as it is soooo much fun:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L5L0ulOA7aY

Dibattista throws twice from #14 DZ1 even though the hole rules say go to DZ2 if OB from DZ1. I know, player can abandon throw whenever and go back to previous lie, but the TD has power to take away that option. Is writing what to do when OB from DZ1 enough, or should it be explicitly stated that, NO you cannot rethrow from here... Whole another discussion as to why someone would rethrow from DZ1...
Reply With Quote
 

  #200  
Old 09-15-2020, 09:23 AM
krupicka's Avatar
krupicka krupicka is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Years Playing: 19.3
Courses Played: 72
Posts: 1,372
Niced 404 Times in 201 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainAnhyzer View Post
Just an FYI, the PDGA rules committee was responsible for the switch. I'll let you all ponder who called them.
I am the chair of the RC. We were not contacted about this at all. This statement is false.


Last edited by krupicka; 09-15-2020 at 09:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DGPT: MVP Open at Maple Hill Aug 30-Sept 1 brutalbrutus Tournaments & Leagues 127 09-10-2019 10:17 PM
DGPT: The MVP Open at Maple Hill brutalbrutus Tournaments & Leagues 195 09-02-2018 10:47 PM
Maple Hill Open Eco81 Tournaments & Leagues 307 09-30-2015 08:56 AM
The Bridgeland Open - A Maple Hill Open Qualifier Johnny_Crunch Tournaments & Leagues 2 01-12-2015 10:24 AM
Maple Hill Open oddjob Tournaments & Leagues 255 07-11-2014 08:15 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.