Go Back   Disc Golf Course Review > General Disc Golf Discussions > Rules Questions & Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #41  
Old 08-02-2019, 10:55 AM
Streets's Avatar
Streets Streets is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Years Playing: 9
Courses Played: 46
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 9,180
Niced 4,172 Times in 1,746 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jenb View Post
Because requiring minis forces players to buy something additional, and the rules committee has often been packed with disc golf equipment manufacturers or people sponsored by those manufacturers.
First b3nder posts on a HOD thread and jenb comes back for a driveby...

Sponsored Links

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 08-02-2019, 04:58 PM
araytx araytx is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: DFW
Years Playing: 13.3
Courses Played: 212
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,202
Niced 282 Times in 166 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by racer93 View Post
I did not "ignore" inconsistency at all. My line of thinking was simply to use a disc versus a mini to mark your lie. If the area behind your lie is the same regardless of size of your marker, there would be no inconsistency.

BTW, I never said I wouldn't do this in a tournament situation. My thought is that it was a bit frivolous.
Sorry, I only answer this particular set of threads as if it were a tournament situation. Playing casually or unsanctioned, you can make your own rules -- we all do it. My response was ONLY intended to be about a sanctioned PDGA event situation
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 08-02-2019, 05:51 PM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 45.5
Courses Played: 365
Posts: 4,983
Niced 1,691 Times in 831 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jenb View Post
Because requiring minis forces players to buy something additional, and the rules committee has often been packed with disc golf equipment manufacturers or people sponsored by those manufacturers.
Players BUY minis?
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 09-24-2019, 06:48 AM
Jugular Jugular is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 18
Niced 8 Times in 5 Posts
Default 803.02.D.

I may be misunderstanding but can you not take Optional Relief, take one penalty throw and move your lie back along the LOP. You may think a penalty throw is not worth the benefit of throwing the same disc but in some situations that may offer a far better shot.

803.02.D. A player may elect at any time to take optional relief by declaring their intention to the group. The lie may then be relocated by marking a new lie which is farther from the target, and is on the line of play. One penalty throw is added to the player's score.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 10-05-2019, 08:04 PM
araytx araytx is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: DFW
Years Playing: 13.3
Courses Played: 212
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,202
Niced 282 Times in 166 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jugular View Post
I may be misunderstanding but can you not take Optional Relief, take one penalty throw and move your lie back along the LOP. You may think a penalty throw is not worth the benefit of throwing the same disc but in some situations that may offer a far better shot.

803.02.D. A player may elect at any time to take optional relief by declaring their intention to the group. The lie may then be relocated by marking a new lie which is farther from the target, and is on the line of play. One penalty throw is added to the player's score.
Yes.i think so.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 10-05-2019, 10:00 PM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 45.5
Courses Played: 365
Posts: 4,983
Niced 1,691 Times in 831 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jugular View Post
I may be misunderstanding but can you not take Optional Relief, take one penalty throw and move your lie back along the LOP. You may think a penalty throw is not worth the benefit of throwing the same disc but in some situations that may offer a far better shot.

803.02.D. A player may elect at any time to take optional relief by declaring their intention to the group. The lie may then be relocated by marking a new lie which is farther from the target, and is on the line of play. One penalty throw is added to the player's score.

"Marking" means using a mini. 802.06 C "...when the lie is to be moved by rule, the player marks the lie by placing a mini marker disc in accordance with the applicable rule."

We should add "with a mini" to 803.02 D to make it more clear.

However, if you are willing to use another throw (penalty or not) to re-use that disc on the ground, why not just (legally) toss any of your other discs down and count it as a throw? While you are at it, maybe toss the second disc over to a better lie. Like somewhere around the target.
Reply With Quote
 

  #47  
Old 10-17-2019, 07:52 AM
Jugular Jugular is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 18
Niced 8 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
"Marking" means using a mini. 802.06 C "...when the lie is to be moved by rule, the player marks the lie by placing a mini marker disc in accordance with the applicable rule."

We should add "with a mini" to 803.02 D to make it more clear.

However, if you are willing to use another throw (penalty or not) to re-use that disc on the ground, why not just (legally) toss any of your other discs down and count it as a throw? While you are at it, maybe toss the second disc over to a better lie. Like somewhere around the target.

We're in a hypothetical so, yeah, maybe. It depends.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Innova Mini Skill-Shot LoPan12 Other Gear 21 04-10-2014 07:34 PM
Dont not look if you dont not want to make a deal Hoss22 The Marketplace 6 08-03-2012 05:05 PM
If you dont throw Innova dont waste your time looking, all OOP! TmCHILLfromCEDARHILL The Marketplace 15 05-16-2012 05:31 PM
What was the first disc you ever threw? sillybizz Discs 537 04-15-2011 10:37 AM
Threw disc in black hole BrotherDave General Disc Golf Chat 31 02-16-2009 01:42 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.