#21  
Old 08-01-2019, 04:02 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 30.7
Courses Played: 692
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 12,268
Niced 1,629 Times in 738 Posts
Default

As you pointed out, the rules try to address things as they happen. Accidentally moving a marker or picking up your disc before marking is more likely to happen earlier in the process of preparing to make your throw than later. Thus, commenting on this in the Marking a Lie seems to make more sense than Interference which is a specialty area not part of a normal throw sequence.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-01-2019, 05:41 PM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 24.4
Courses Played: 125
Posts: 15,193
Niced 3,471 Times in 1,514 Posts
Default

Maybe just some footnotes in one section, pointing towards another?

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-01-2019, 05:52 PM
Putt for D'oh's Avatar
Putt for D'oh Putt for D'oh is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Years Playing: 4.6
Courses Played: 24
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,151
Niced 497 Times in 287 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidSauls View Post
Maybe just some footnotes in one section, pointing towards another?
I think especially in this day and age more people carry a smart phone with the ability to look-up online than a regular book, foot notes could even be replaced by hyper-links.

This is especially true with something like this scenario where moving a disc during marking you could jump back and forth. interference, stance, marking a lie? Stance inside and outside the circle for one. I get why they are in different places but could use some linking.

As a general note on the rules, hyper-links need to re-direct to any relevant Q&A or clarifications as well. Plenty of rules I thought were clear and understood then the Q&A might somewhat contradict. IF one *thinks* they understand the text they aren't going to the Q&A for clarification.

I think in the scenario of, moving the disc in the process of marking the lie (flipping it then realizing that is casual and move it back), is not interference (although it may not be totally proper), marking with the mini and throwing from the proper mark.
Its not proper but I just don't see a penalty or even an official warning other than a casual reminder in the rules.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 08-01-2019, 06:31 PM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 24.4
Courses Played: 125
Posts: 15,193
Niced 3,471 Times in 1,514 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Putt for D'oh View Post
I think especially in this day and age more people carry a smart phone with the ability to look-up online than a regular book, foot notes could even be replaced by hyper-links.

.
Or, the footnotes could by hyper-linked in the digital versions.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-01-2019, 11:15 PM
Armus Patheticus Armus Patheticus is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Courses Played: 16
Posts: 155
Niced 50 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Ignoring the doctrinal interpretation of the rule, the practical answer to your question would be: almost never. Marking violations are regularly ignored since they are usually inconsequential. My first tournament was a two day A tier, played with three discs and no marker. No one said squat about my using another disc, or a stick, or nothing at all, to mark my lie. While that won't always be the case, I have continued to violate (for the sake of experiment) the marking rules ever since, and have only been warned once.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 09-01-2019, 05:53 PM
AnttiM AnttiM is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 15
Niced 5 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I sent the Rules Committee an inquiry about this, and was told that a player has not committed a marking violation until they have made a throw from the improperly marked lie:
Quote:
It would be difficult to determine when to call a marking violation if it can be called at any time before the throw. That way a player has a chance to correct the marking error. For example, if a player flipped their disc to mark the lie, I'd tell them immediately that that's not a legal marking method, have them flip it back and mark it properly. If they threw before I could say anything, then they have committed a marking violation.

Reply With Quote
 

  #27  
Old 09-02-2019, 04:23 AM
cheesethin cheesethin is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Courses Played: 16
Posts: 291
Niced 144 Times in 79 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnttiM View Post
I sent the Rules Committee an inquiry about this...
Thank you for that. I wasn't able to get the rules on their own to convince me one way or the other.

Candidate rule wording change.

Quote:
802.06
D. Throwing from a lie marked in a manner other than described above is a marking violation. A player receives a warning for the first marking violation. A player receives one penalty throw for each subsequent violation of any marking rule during the round.
Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible courtesy violation? robdeforge Rules Questions & Discussion 1 10-08-2015 01:32 PM
Major Violation? gcanter2376 General Disc Golf Chat 122 05-14-2013 09:08 PM
Violation, would you call this? BradC Rules Questions & Discussion 35 08-21-2011 05:44 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.