#21  
Old 06-04-2021, 07:36 PM
sidewinder22's Avatar
sidewinder22 sidewinder22 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Creeping Creek DGC
Years Playing: 15
Courses Played: 246
Posts: 18,431
Niced 5,633 Times in 3,327 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cgkdisc View Post
Nope. Read 804.02 B
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-04-2021, 07:54 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 32.4
Courses Played: 727
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 13,366
Niced 3,317 Times in 1,374 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidewinder22 View Post
So in your diagram, the disc crosses the line from both directions and has not missed the mando, even though it occurred in two separate throws. Ironically, if after throwing from a to b, the player throws around the good side of the mando without crossing back over the line per the diagram, they would not have made the mando, at least the way I interpret 804.02 B.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-04-2021, 08:04 PM
sidewinder22's Avatar
sidewinder22 sidewinder22 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Creeping Creek DGC
Years Playing: 15
Courses Played: 246
Posts: 18,431
Niced 5,633 Times in 3,327 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cgkdisc View Post
So in your diagram, the disc crosses the line from both directions and has not missed the mando, even though it occurred in two separate throws. Ironically, if after throwing from a to b, the player throws around the good side of the mando without crossing back over the line per the diagram, they would not have made the mando, at least the way I interpret 804.02 B.
It's not my diagram, it's one from the PDGA Rules Q&A under regulated routes.
https://www.pdga.com/rules/official-...s#t5576n237841
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-04-2021, 08:11 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 32.4
Courses Played: 727
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 13,366
Niced 3,317 Times in 1,374 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidewinder22 View Post
It's not my diagram, it's one from the PDGA Rules Q&A under regulated routes.
https://www.pdga.com/rules/official-...s#t5576n237841
So they didn't show my possibility the player threw around the good side of the Mando after throwing from a to b and missed it as a result if they holed out from there.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-04-2021, 09:36 PM
sidewinder22's Avatar
sidewinder22 sidewinder22 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Creeping Creek DGC
Years Playing: 15
Courses Played: 246
Posts: 18,431
Niced 5,633 Times in 3,327 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cgkdisc View Post
So in your diagram, the disc crosses the line from both directions and has not missed the mando, even though it occurred in two separate throws. Ironically, if after throwing from a to b, the player throws around the good side of the mando without crossing back over the line per the diagram, they would not have made the mando, at least the way I interpret 804.02 B.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cgkdisc View Post
So they didn't show my possibility the player threw around the good side of the Mando after throwing from a to b and missed it as a result if they holed out from there.
Once the disc has "made the mando" and then crosses backward direction around the "missed mando side" it is no longer traveling from the direction of the tee or previous lie, so the rule is no longer applicable as the disc no longer meets the "if condition". So you are free to "make the mando twice" or go back the way you crossed behind like the Q&A diagram depicts. I do think your scenario should be depicted on the Q&A.

804.02 B. A throw has missed a mandatory if, from the direction of the tee previous lie, it completely crosses a mandatory line and comes to rest without coming back across the line (a throw or sequence of throws that crosses the line in both directions is considered not to have crossed the line).
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 06-04-2021, 09:50 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 32.4
Courses Played: 727
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 13,366
Niced 3,317 Times in 1,374 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidewinder22 View Post
Once the disc has "made the mando" and then crosses backward direction around the "missed mando side" it is no longer traveling from the direction of the tee or previous lie, so the rule is no longer applicable as the disc no longer meets the "if condition". So you are free to "make the mando twice" or go back the way you crossed behind like the Q&A diagram depicts. I do think your scenario should be depicted on the Q&A.

804.02 B. A throw has missed a mandatory if, from the direction of the tee previous lie, it completely crosses a mandatory line and comes to rest without coming back across the line (a throw or sequence of throws that crosses the line in both directions is considered not to have crossed the line).
I think we may see crossing the missed mando line from either direction being a penalty in the future. The missed mando plane would be like a glass pane that can be broken from either side.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06-04-2021, 10:23 PM
sidewinder22's Avatar
sidewinder22 sidewinder22 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Creeping Creek DGC
Years Playing: 15
Courses Played: 246
Posts: 18,431
Niced 5,633 Times in 3,327 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cgkdisc View Post
I think we may see crossing the missed mando line from either direction being a penalty in the future. The missed mando plane would be like a glass pane that can be broken from either side.
Seems rather harsh to penalize someone for "making the mando" and rolling back around.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 06-04-2021, 10:46 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 32.4
Courses Played: 727
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 13,366
Niced 3,317 Times in 1,374 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidewinder22 View Post
Seems rather harsh to penalize someone for "making the mando" and rolling back around.
I'd like to see different approach but that's for another thread.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 06-05-2021, 08:53 AM
ToddL ToddL is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Greenville, SC
Years Playing: 25.2
Courses Played: 157
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,369
Niced 903 Times in 401 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidewinder22 View Post
Seems rather harsh to penalize someone for "making the mando" and rolling back around.
If the point of a mando is to not have people throw through a certain area, the the rule should be written to penalize people when throwing that area, full stop, end of story, period.

The current rule is “Don’t throw through this area, well, unless you rolled backward through it first, so if you throw through it twice it’s just as good as zero times.”

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
 

  #30  
Old 06-05-2021, 10:51 AM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 47.2
Courses Played: 461
Posts: 5,903
Niced 2,856 Times in 1,319 Posts
Default

The mando rule got messed up by two things:

1. Muddling the two different concepts of: "can't throw here" versus "must throw here".

2. Trying to impose universal defaults to what a mando is.


If we could wrap our head around the idea that there are two different reasons for a mando, and resist the temptation to force all kinds of routes into one way of defining them (i.e. mando line), then the mando rules could be as short as a Haiku:

Quote:
Mando Haiku

If your disc takes a
Prohibited route, you must
go to the drop zone.

If you failed to take
any Required route, you can’t
complete the hole yet.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lost Disc Mega Thread: Post your lost disc questions and stories here. jkdisc General Disc Golf Chat 2340 07-19-2021 04:08 PM
I guess it's like a lost disc-------------- * (my lost wallet) * danhyzer Vacations & Road Trips 4 06-08-2015 09:01 AM
Lost discs leaving me feeling lost Synyster817 Bag Suggestions & Feedback 1 08-31-2011 02:00 PM
Lost disc?? Lost game... ProOffense General Disc Golf Chat 51 03-18-2011 07:31 AM
The Lost Disc That Should Not Be Lost TalbotTrojan General Disc Golf Chat 23 05-17-2009 11:37 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.