#21  
Old 06-15-2021, 04:50 PM
Rastnav Rastnav is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Durham, NC
Courses Played: 22
Posts: 758
Niced 578 Times in 293 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flatflip View Post
So he stood in the hazard and threw without a penalty. Surprising that 806.05 isn't written with regard to where your stance will be.
If you aren't getting a meter off the hazard line, there are plenty of lies where the disc is clearly out of the hazard but your stance will be in the hazard. Plus a disc can be in the exact same situation but the hazard may lie between the basket and the disc (i.e. You've just scooted into the hazard from the fairway.)

The stance doesn't help determine the position of the disc vis-a-vis the hazard.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-15-2021, 04:57 PM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 26.1
Courses Played: 127
Posts: 16,208
Niced 7,110 Times in 2,638 Posts
Default

The hazard is like landing on the wrong square in a child's board game. You get a penalty, but play from where you are.

Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-15-2021, 05:19 PM
Dingus Dingus is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Courses Played: 2
Posts: 640
Niced 553 Times in 256 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Putt for D'oh View Post
If this were a pond and he landed 3” beyond the edge of the water but a reed or few blades of grass were bent over from land and the disc were touching those blades it’s still OB right?
I don't believe so unless there is a line drawn. Which is why you should draw a line.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidSauls View Post
The hazard is like landing on the wrong square in a child's board game. You get a penalty, but play from where you are.
But not chutes and ladders.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-15-2021, 06:10 PM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 47.2
Courses Played: 461
Posts: 5,904
Niced 2,859 Times in 1,320 Posts
Default

Quote:
806.05 Hazard
Last updated: Thursday, December 31, 2020 - 16:06

B. A disc is in a hazard if its position is clearly and completely surrounded by the hazard, or by a combination of the Hazard and an Out-of-Bounds area.
Not clear? Not in Hazard.

What's so hard about that?

Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-15-2021, 07:37 PM
BogeyNoMore's Avatar
BogeyNoMore BogeyNoMore is online now
* Ace No More *
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Walled Lake, MI
Years Playing: 17.2
Courses Played: 350
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 12,194
Niced 6,910 Times in 2,821 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
Quote:
806.05 Hazard
Last updated: Thursday, December 31, 2020 - 16:06

B. A disc is in a hazard if its position is clearly and completely surrounded by the hazard, or by a combination of the Hazard and an Out-of-Bounds area.
Not clear? Not in Hazard.

What's so hard about that?
Given the current wording of the rule, this is the most logical post in this thread. The way the rule is written, the player gets the benefit of the doubt.

Niced: (2)

Last edited by BogeyNoMore; 06-15-2021 at 07:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 06-15-2021, 08:30 PM
krupicka's Avatar
krupicka krupicka is online now
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Years Playing: 20.1
Courses Played: 72
Posts: 1,464
Niced 537 Times in 269 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BogeyNoMore View Post
Given the current wording of the rule, this is the most logical post in this thread. The way the rule is written, the player gets the benefit of the doubt.
Benefit of the doubt is only if the group can't come to a majority agreement on the ruling (801.03.A). It is not an all encompassing, "maybe we should be nice guys" rule.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06-15-2021, 08:46 PM
BogeyNoMore's Avatar
BogeyNoMore BogeyNoMore is online now
* Ace No More *
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Walled Lake, MI
Years Playing: 17.2
Courses Played: 350
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 12,194
Niced 6,910 Times in 2,821 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krupicka View Post
Benefit of the doubt is only if the group can't come to a majority agreement on the ruling (801.03.A). It is not an all encompassing, "maybe we should be nice guys" rule.
Never said it was. My statement wasn't about giving anyone a break, or being nice.

When it's clearly in/out, there's no doubt.

I was simply implying that lack of clarity, is when doubt creeps in. If the card can't come to a consensus, the player gets the benefit of the doubt.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 06-15-2021, 09:10 PM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 26.1
Courses Played: 127
Posts: 16,208
Niced 7,110 Times in 2,638 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BogeyNoMore View Post
Never said it was. My statement wasn't about giving anyone a break, or being nice.

When it's clearly in/out, there's no doubt.

I was simply implying that lack of clarity, is when doubt creeps in. If the card can't come to a consensus, the player gets the benefit of the doubt.
I agree. The word "clearly" in the rule certainly seems to imply "benefit of the doubt", even if that phrase isn't used in this particular rule.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 06-15-2021, 10:12 PM
Putt for D'oh's Avatar
Putt for D'oh Putt for D'oh is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Years Playing: 6.3
Courses Played: 24
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,295
Niced 611 Times in 356 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
Not clear? Not in Hazard.

What's so hard about that?
I can appreciate that. I would normally be with the side that says we can’t tell reality from partial camera footage but im very willing to bet if a line is drawn for this same hazard during worlds (and it really fricken better be) this disc is out. Mostly based on The way Ricky is demonstrating.

As I said above about a disc in a pond. If it is in the middle of a pond and resting on a dry rock does that mean it’s in bounds? If someone wants to say that is unclear does that argument hold water?
Reply With Quote
 

  #30  
Old 06-15-2021, 11:29 PM
BogeyNoMore's Avatar
BogeyNoMore BogeyNoMore is online now
* Ace No More *
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Walled Lake, MI
Years Playing: 17.2
Courses Played: 350
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 12,194
Niced 6,910 Times in 2,821 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Putt for D'oh View Post
As I said above about a disc in a pond. If it is in the middle of a pond and resting on a dry rock does that mean it’s in bounds? If someone wants to say that is unclear does that argument hold water?
The rock doesn't define IB or OB.

Q: Is any part of the disc touching "inbounds?"
Yes? The disc is in.
No? The disc is out.

Someone else can look up the rule number and cite it, but that's the deal.

If the rock is surrounded by OB water, and the disc comes to rest on the rock, the fact that the disc isn't wet doesn't make it in IB. The only way the disc is IB is if part of the disc is IB ... rock or no rock.

If the rock is suspending the disc above the playing surface, such that if the rock were to vanish, the disc would come to rest partially IB, then the disc is IB.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nikko Wizards GripLock13 The Marketplace 4 04-10-2013 07:42 PM
nikko wizards Locke The Marketplace 6 03-27-2013 11:58 AM
Nikko RustyStrings615 General Disc Golf Chat 43 05-24-2012 11:20 AM
What is Nikko doing? Stud Muffin General Disc Golf Chat 20 09-02-2011 06:28 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.