#1  
Old 03-09-2019, 10:40 PM
BrotherDave's Avatar
BrotherDave BrotherDave is offline
Verified Jurkface
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Macedonian Troll Farm
Years Playing: 12.1
Courses Played: 163
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 15,056
Niced 2,226 Times in 1,043 Posts
Default Using another player to help putts

This is far-fetched and doubtful to arise but hear me out.

Say you're waiting to putt and another player has just holed out. The other player comes in to clear the basket from the side, let's say to your right, and you decide to use the moment the player is right beside the basket to rifle in a putt, knowing that if you miss right you can hit the player and maybe carom back in. Maybe because you putt hard and the baskets are prone to spit-outs so using the other guy as a backstop is insurance or maybe you've got a death putt and hitting the other guy and stopping is better than missing and flying down a hill/OB, whatever.

What's the call here?
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-09-2019, 10:48 PM
Sethamphetamine Sethamphetamine is online now
Par Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: MPLS
Posts: 165
Niced 75 Times in 52 Posts
Default

I believe there is a rule against intentionally breaking the rules. DQ.

The following actions also violate the above standard. Players who commit one or more of these violations will not receive a warning, and will be immediately disqualified by the Tournament Director:
Cheating: a willful attempt to circumvent the rules of play.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-09-2019, 10:55 PM
teemkey's Avatar
teemkey teemkey is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Courses Played: 39
Posts: 2,515
Niced 488 Times in 222 Posts
Default

Are you suggesting Kan Jam Disc Golf?

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-09-2019, 11:09 PM
BogeyNoMore's Avatar
BogeyNoMore BogeyNoMore is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Walled Lake, MI
Years Playing: 15.3
Courses Played: 307
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 9,745
Niced 2,082 Times in 1,031 Posts
Default

If a player was so quick to putt that their miss carroms off me as I'm walking away from the basket I'd give them a warning...

That if they do that again, I just might bounce one of my drivers off them... or my car off them in the parking lot.

I don't know of a specific rule being violated but strongly suspect it could at least be called as a courtesy violation.

In any event, it's damned discourteous and disrespectful on a personal level, and obviously a d!ck move in general to try and use another player's body to intentionally interfere with the movement of your disc.

Pretty sure that:
a) creating intentional interference is against the rules.
b) proving intent is an uphill battle.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-10-2019, 03:06 AM
Casey 1988 Casey 1988 is offline
Shun the frumious Bandersnatch!
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Years Playing: 16.2
Courses Played: 25
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,248
Niced 716 Times in 614 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teemkey View Post
Are you suggesting Kan Jam Disc Golf?
Using a Galvanized metal version of the Kan Jam thing with a Galvanized Steel post set in middle of the Kan Jam like tube that is missing the opening on the side could work for a harder no chain basket on a course or for a home course.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-10-2019, 06:36 AM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 24.2
Courses Played: 125
Posts: 15,034
Niced 3,155 Times in 1,420 Posts
Default

To begin with, the first rule in the Courtesy Rule section reads:

"A player must not:

Throw if the throw might injure someone or distract another player..."


Though it all seems a foolish hypothetical to me; the chances of it helping the putting player are lower than the chances of his missing by rushing to time his putt exactly right.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-10-2019, 07:17 AM
joecoin's Avatar
joecoin joecoin is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: North Central Ohio
Years Playing: 6.3
Courses Played: 67
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,235
Niced 659 Times in 320 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BogeyNoMore View Post
If a player was so quick to putt that their miss carroms off me as I'm walking away from the basket I'd give them a warning...

That if they do that again, I just might bounce one of my drivers off them... or my car off them in the parking lot.
...
Now we know what happened with Josh Anthon.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-10-2019, 08:38 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 21.7
Courses Played: 150
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,649
Niced 3,416 Times in 1,433 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidSauls View Post
To begin with, the first rule in the Courtesy Rule section reads:

"A player must not:

Throw if the throw might injure someone or distract another player..."


Though it all seems a foolish hypothetical to me; the chances of it helping the putting player are lower than the chances of his missing by rushing to time his putt exactly right.
This is the answer. It's a courtesy violation at the very least for throwing when it was not safe to do so, let alone with intent to potential hit another player. I've seen warnings be issued to players that inadvertently threw on the group in front of them. For a player to intentionally throw when another player is in range because they think hitting that player would be advantageous seems beyond the pale, even if it is a putt.

Unfortunately, it would probably take multiple instances rather than just one for it to go beyond the warning into penalties that would actually have an impact. Without a explicit admission of intent, one such incident in a round wouldn't justify TD action (e.g. disqualification).

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-11-2019, 07:04 AM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 24.2
Courses Played: 125
Posts: 15,034
Niced 3,155 Times in 1,420 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
This is the answer. It's a courtesy violation at the very least for throwing when it was not safe to do so, let alone with intent to potential hit another player. I've seen warnings be issued to players that inadvertently threw on the group in front of them. For a player to intentionally throw when another player is in range because they think hitting that player would be advantageous seems beyond the pale, even if it is a putt.

Unfortunately, it would probably take multiple instances rather than just one for it to go beyond the warning into penalties that would actually have an impact. Without a explicit admission of intent, one such incident in a round wouldn't justify TD action (e.g. disqualification).
There may be other rules that apply. I don't have mental command of the rulebook, and have to look them up; often with uncertainty over what I'm overlooking, elsewhere in the book. But the first one I read (under "Courtesy") certainly seems to fit.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 03-14-2019, 08:07 PM
BrotherDave's Avatar
BrotherDave BrotherDave is offline
Verified Jurkface
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Macedonian Troll Farm
Years Playing: 12.1
Courses Played: 163
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 15,056
Niced 2,226 Times in 1,043 Posts
Default

"Sorry man, I was so focused on my chain link that I had blinders on and didn't see you clearing the basket." That's all you'd have to say to ward off a courtesy violation.

I always think of the awkward situations where multiple guys have not quite gimmies but usually automatic putts and you never know if one guy cares if the basket is clear for his putt or likes to quick putt and you're not sure if you should rush over and clear your putt or wait for the other guy to let you know.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rage Putts von lipvig Rules Questions & Discussion 9 01-23-2017 07:52 PM
jump putts? yes or no? Inn0va Technique & Strategy 34 10-20-2010 01:15 PM
Practice putts and game putts WIGS General Disc Golf Chat 25 10-22-2009 12:02 AM
Looking for Glow Putts Duckwize The Marketplace 0 08-28-2009 01:23 AM
Help Me With My Putts runnaman Technique & Strategy 49 04-10-2009 04:30 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.