#11  
Old 08-27-2019, 04:49 PM
IHearChains IHearChains is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Years Playing: 15.5
Courses Played: 167
Posts: 632
Niced 180 Times in 83 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidSauls View Post
For the OP's question in specific, with the closest applicable rule being a correctly-used mando, I'd think the line of play, for stance purposes, would be the closest tree marking one end of the mando as you unwind. Your stance would be on the basket side of the lie.
That's what I thought too. However the question remains, would you be you allowed to step out around the mando, as long as your off foot is no closer to the mando tree? (first pic)

Or would your off foot have to be no closer to the mando line? (second pic)

As indicated by the dotted red lines, a much different flight path could be contemplated for the next shot.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Unknown-1.jpg (49.1 KB, 44 views)
File Type: jpg Unknown.jpg (34.6 KB, 38 views)
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-27-2019, 04:56 PM
IHearChains IHearChains is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Years Playing: 15.5
Courses Played: 167
Posts: 632
Niced 180 Times in 83 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IHearChains View Post
I'm not asking whether or not the TD *should* declare such a rule, that's a separate issue.
Thanks to everyone who answered that the TD should not declare such a rule.

To clarify, this rule was declared in an unsanctioned event. The guy played his second throw to the lie indicated in the pic, and then it cost him another throw because he played it like in the 2nd pic, pitched it 5 feet so he could get an angle toward the basket.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-27-2019, 04:58 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 22
Courses Played: 151
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,888
Niced 3,838 Times in 1,583 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IHearChains View Post
That's what I thought too. However the question remains, would you be you allowed to step out around the mando, as long as your off foot is no closer to the mando tree? (first pic)

Or would your off foot have to be no closer to the mando line? (second pic)

As indicated by the dotted red lines, a much different flight path could be contemplated for the next shot.
All rules regarding stance, line of play, etc when it comes to a mandatory have always been relative to the mandatory OBJECT. Never is it ever in reference to the mandatory line. So in your extremely hypothetical, not at all in concert with the official rules of play, situation it would be the first pic not the second.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-27-2019, 11:12 PM
IHearChains IHearChains is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Years Playing: 15.5
Courses Played: 167
Posts: 632
Niced 180 Times in 83 Posts
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
All rules regarding stance, line of play, etc when it comes to a mandatory have always been relative to the mandatory OBJECT. Never is it ever in reference to the mandatory line. So in your extremely hypothetical, not at all in concert with the official rules of play, situation it would be the first pic not the second.
Not hypothetical. It was played like pic 2. I figured Id get some good feedback here, thanks everybody
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-28-2019, 12:25 AM
ToddL ToddL is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Greenville, SC
Years Playing: 23.5
Courses Played: 146
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 981
Niced 351 Times in 168 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Putt for D'oh View Post
My first thought was missed mando, declare optional relief, take the penalty stroke and move back toward the teepad as you need, to be clear of the mando... but in this case, with the mando itself as the "target" after it has been missed, I guess that would dictate the line of play and relief would be away from the mando at that point?
Yup.
804.02.D: The nearest mandatory whose mandatory line is crossed by the line between the lie and the target is considered to be the target for all rules related to marking the lie, stance, obstacles, and relief, with one exception: 806.01 Putting Area

Quote:
Originally Posted by IHearChains View Post
That's what I thought too. However the question remains, would you be you allowed to step out around the mando, as long as your off foot is no closer to the mando tree? (first pic)

Or would your off foot have to be no closer to the mando line? (second pic)

As indicated by the dotted red lines, a much different flight path could be contemplated for the next shot.
You can straddle the target as long as no supporting point is closer than the back of the disc. Picture 1 is legal (I mean, given the rest of the other stuff)


Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-03-2019, 08:56 AM
Smigles Smigles is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Switzerland
Courses Played: 9
Posts: 2,376
Niced 76 Times in 49 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by araytx View Post
BUT... in the event that the rule is somehow in play in an unsanctioned event, what would prevent the player from taking his penalty stroke and then re-throwing from the previous lie (using abandoned throw), instead of the unwind thing? It would likely be more advantageous than playing like the the OP states.
Does "unsanctioned" mean no rules apply?

If we play the mando as we want, why not just walk my disc to the basket and drop it in? Yay i had 18 aces my round...
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-03-2019, 09:03 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 22
Courses Played: 151
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,888
Niced 3,838 Times in 1,583 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smigles View Post
Does "unsanctioned" mean no rules apply?

If we play the mando as we want, why not just walk my disc to the basket and drop it in? Yay i had 18 aces my round...
Pretty sure unsanctioned simply means not PDGA sanctioned. Therefore subject to making up their own rules with no real consequence. I've played plenty of unsanctioned where it was stated in advance that "PDGA rules in effect except...." For most, the "except" usually referred to alcohol consumption during play, but I've played some where it was the mandatory rule that was altered (typically a forced unwind rather than penalty + drop zone).
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-03-2019, 09:13 AM
Smigles Smigles is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Switzerland
Courses Played: 9
Posts: 2,376
Niced 76 Times in 49 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
Pretty sure unsanctioned simply means not PDGA sanctioned. Therefore subject to making up their own rules with no real consequence. I've played plenty of unsanctioned where it was stated in advance that "PDGA rules in effect except...." For most, the "except" usually referred to alcohol consumption during play, but I've played some where it was the mandatory rule that was altered (typically a forced unwind rather than penalty + drop zone).
I played in some unsanctioned events with a Mulligan rule, once even with a happy Mulligan.

But i liked the alcohol aspect more than the Mulligan

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-03-2019, 02:22 PM
araytx araytx is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: DFW
Years Playing: 13.4
Courses Played: 212
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,213
Niced 286 Times in 170 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smigles View Post
Does "unsanctioned" mean no rules apply?

If we play the mando as we want, why not just walk my disc to the basket and drop it in? Yay i had 18 aces my round...
At an "unsanctioned" event, the TD can make up his/her own rules. So yes rules apply, just not all PDGA rules. For example when Salient had the ADGT, they did not allow the optional re-throw (now called abandoned throw) rule.

I answered the original OP as if it were in accordance with PDGA rules; if the TD had chosen to do his own thing, then he could at an unsanctioned event.
Reply With Quote
 

  #20  
Old 09-05-2019, 02:03 PM
ScottyLove ScottyLove is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC
Years Playing: 8.3
Courses Played: 221
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,290
Niced 57 Times in 32 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToddL View Post
Yup.
804.02.D: The nearest mandatory whose mandatory line is crossed by the line between the lie and the target is considered to be the target for all rules related to marking the lie, stance, obstacles, and relief, with one exception: 806.01 Putting Area



You can straddle the target as long as no supporting point is closer than the back of the disc. Picture 1 is legal (I mean, given the rest of the other stuff)

I'm not following your words I guess, but I know for a fact the right foot in this picture is a violation because it's not behind the lie with respect to line of play.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why do overhand throws turn backwards? MTEXX Technique & Strategy 42 09-29-2017 01:05 AM
Working from the hit backwards. ash81 Technique & Strategy 28 10-24-2015 04:48 PM
Backwards Course! Mike C General Disc Golf Chat 32 08-17-2012 10:59 PM
The Dark Side of not playing, a Public Service Message buzzinb General Disc Golf Chat 12 04-29-2010 07:52 PM
Plant foot backwards? sidewinder22 Technique & Strategy 14 08-07-2009 12:01 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.